May Review: Books, Eurovision, Pet Shop Boys and more…

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Are we really at the end of May already?! Well, we will be tomorrow, but I am off to the Trafford Centre after work, hence I need to do the monthly review tonight!

I have finished four books this month, there could possibly be a fifth finish, but that depends on how much reading I get done tonight and tomorrow, otherwise it will certainly be an early finish for June’s books. I will come on to this book later, but let’s rewind and have a shufty at what I have polished off on the reading front during May…

You know I’m a sucker for a bad pun, hence the above joke!

Anyway, wordplay notwithstanding, on with the show, and the first finish for May was The Little Book of Eurovision, by Alexandra Parsons, which was apt as it was the Eurovision Song Contest on 14th May. Ukraine won, giving them something to celebrate, but the UK came second and we heard the magic words “Royaume-Uni douze points” quite a few times, much to my amazement!

Prince, by Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara, was my second finish for the month, and a book I read while I was in the Trafford Centre. It’s one of those Little People, Big Dreams books.

I had my hair done on the day of the Eurovision Song Contest, a perm, so there was also that. I was reading Windswept & Interesting, by Sir Billy Connolly, at the time, although I have since finished that one, making it my 3rd book for the month. Mum is borrowing it now.

Sadly, we had a couple of notable losses from the music world, especially for those of us who love synthesizer music. First was Vangelis, the Greek keyboard whizz who brought us soundtracks such as “Chariots of Fire” and “1492 Conquest of Paradise” as well as teaming up with Jon Anderson for pop hits like “I’ll Find My Way Home”.

Then, on Thursday just gone, 26th May, came the news that Andy Fletcher, founder member of Depeche Mode, had died at the young age of just 60. For those of us with an 80s childhood, synth was everywhere, DM made a telling contribution to the soundtrack with which I grew up!

Rest in Peace, Vangelis and Fletch – many thanks for the music!

Talking of music of the synthesizer variety, Friday 20th May saw the long-awaited Pet Shop Boys concert at the Manchester Arena! Was originally meant to have been in 2020, of course, but two years later, the time finally came for Sarah and I to go and see Neil and Chris once again!

It was the Dreamworld Tour, their greatest hits, so it was essentially two hours of absolute bangers! We were singing along like nobody’s business and it is a wonder I didn’t lose my voice!

Before their final song, as the gig was taking place at the Arena two days before the 5th anniversary of the bomb, they dedicated it to the 22 we lost that night in 2017.

Either a printer or a photocopier – in my line of work, I have dealt with a fair few dodgy photocopiers in my time, including one, when I worked in Chorlton, which we named Bob in honour of Bob Marley because it was always jammin’!

Anyway, I still have a fourth book finish to tell you about, don’t I?! That book was Question Time, by Mark Mason, and it was a very enjoyable journey around Britain’s quizzes, be they pub quizzes or professional ones on TV and radio. I enjoy a good quiz or two myself, being quite a nerdy person, lol, so it was right up my street.

Looking for something else to read once that one was finished, my Kindle recommended a book called To Hull and Back, by Tom Chesshyre, and that is the one which is currently 75% read, so it shouldn’t take too much longer to finish off.

To Hull and Back is about holidays in unsung parts of Britain – Tom takes weekend breaks in unlikely tourist destinations, and one of them was right here in my neck of the woods, Salford!

Actually, while in Salford, Tom visits the Working Class Movement Library, and while there is given a guided tour by volunteer, Veronica Trick – I am going to have to see if she is still there, as that was the name of my class teacher when I was in top infants at Monton Green Primary School! I can’t think there are many people around with that name, so surely it is my former teacher he met?!

Before I finish for now, a bit of a mention for some recent purchases. Good Pop Bad Pop, by Jarvis Cocker was bought at the weekend, but I had mentioned that one last time, I think. I also bought The King and I: Hanging Out in Manchester with Eric Cantona, by Claude Boli, as King Eric is my all-time favourite player. Many regular followers will already know that.

I also bought Footnotes, by Peter Fiennes, which is described as a journey round Britain in the company of great writers, so it sounded like it would be my cup of tea.

That is probably about all for now. Got one of those busy times coming up fairly soon, but as there is a big bank holiday this week for the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee, I aim to get a blog done on the Thursday or Friday. Until then, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Little Book of Eurovision – Alexandra Parsons
  • Prince – Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara
  • Windswept & Interesting – Sir Billy Connolly
  • Question Time – Mark Mason
  • To Hull and Back – Tom Chesshyre
  • Good Pop Bad Pop – Jarvis Cocker
  • The King and I – Claude Boli
  • Footnotes – Peter Fiennes

Leave a comment

Filed under Autobiography/Biography, Books, E-Books & Audiobooks, Eurovision Song Contest, Half-Finished Books, Humour, Manc Stuff!, Month in Review, Music, Non-Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, Radio, Television, Travel

Leave a comment