Return of the Bookworm

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Yes, I have returned! As I said in the last blog, I was about to be busy as I had family birthdays, my mum’s and my sister’s, coming up. Those have happened in the week just gone. Also, we have a new hub for our WiFi, don’t get me started on the faff it caused, though! I worked round at my sister’s for a couple of days. However, now that the eventful week is done, I am here again.

The Funko should have been mentioned in the previous blog as I got him last weekend, not yesterday, but it does mean I now have one half of the Pet Shop Boys! Yay! Got my Chris Lowe Funko from Forbidden Planet on Oldham Street in town. They still don’t know when the Neil Tennant Funkos will be in, so I will have to keep trying, I guess!

Anyway, last time I blogged, I had finished my 31st book of the year, when I came to the end of Stamping Grounds by Charlie Connelly, which I really enjoyed and it took me back to when I saw England play Liechtenstein at Old Trafford and both countries had the same tune for their national anthems!

My main current read, though, goes back to one of my other loves… 80s music, and it was something I spotted on Facebook, so I downloaded it for my Kindle. The book is 80s Kid, by Melanie Ashfield, and is a memoir of her and her twin brother growing up in the Midlands in the 80s. From what she writes, she’s my sister’s age. For those of us who grew up in the UK in the 1980s, it’s very relatable and very funny. I am currently 31% of the way through and I only downloaded it a couple of nights ago, so you know what I’m like when it comes to books about the Eighties!

Currently still Belgium 1 Portugal 0, could do with Portugal getting level. Belgium do have Romelu Lukaku who used to play for my lads, but Portugal have one former and two current United lads, Cristiano Ronaldo being our old boy and Diogo Dalot and Bruno Fernandes being the current players, hence the preference for the Portuguese.

Back to the books for now, and there was one I now want to read as I saw it on someone’s List Challenges list the other night. It’s called The Buried Book, by David Damrosch, and it’s about the loss and rediscovery of The Epic of Gilgamesh. Having read and enjoyed the Epic, I want to read more about how it was rediscovered.

Another book I saw via List Challenges, although I am only around 7% into this one, is Stillness is the Key, by Ryan Holiday. The writer might be familiar, however, as he is the writer of Ego is the Enemy, which I read back in 2018, so it will have been mentioned on these blogs at some point three years ago.

I get a lot of ideas when I go on List Challenges, lol! It is a good source of book recommendations for me.

Still 1-0 to Belgium in the footy, in case you were wondering. About 10 minutes for Portugal to try to get an equaliser. Getting very distracted! Now, as I type, just four minutes, plus Fergie Time, for Portugal to force extra time.

5 minutes of Fergie Time coming up…

Trying to focus on books, which is not easy while watching Belgium v Portugal, but I have got Toast, by Nigel Slater, not that I’m very far into that one, any more so than the Ryan Holiday book. More likely that, if I am going to get a fifth book read in June, it’ll be the ebook about the 80s. Already at 31%, there is every chance that I could get it read by Wednesday when it gets to the last day of June and time for me to do the monthly review! Most of that will probably be about my book-buying spree in Llandudno, lol!

Full-time whistle has just gone and Belgium have won 1-0, and I can get back to the books again, ha ha! Probably should get this finished off though so that I can get on with the 80s book and see if I can finish it off before the end of June. However, before I go, we shall have a look at a few books that are lying around.

We have Nothing to See Here, by Kevin Wilson, and A Very Special Year, by Thomas Montasser – that one has been around for a while, should probably be added to the “A Round Tuit” list, ha ha! Mind you, the same could probably be said of Beauty Tips from Moose Jaw, by Will Ferguson. I have just about started that one, so I may well continue it.

For now, though, I shall get this list published, so until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Stamping Grounds – Charlie Connelly
  • 80s Kid – Melanie Ashfield
  • The Buried Book – David Damrosch
  • The Epic of Gilgamesh – Unknown
  • Stillness is the Key – Ryan Holiday
  • Ego is the Enemy – Ryan Holiday
  • Toast – Nigel Slater
  • Nothing to See Here – Kevin Wilson
  • A Very Special Year – Thomas Montasser
  • Beauty Tips from Moose Jaw – Will Ferguson

Leave a comment

Filed under A Round Tuit!, Authors, Autobiography/Biography, Books, Charity Shop Bargains, E-Books & Audiobooks, Facebook & Other Social Media, Food & Drink, Football, Humour, List Challenges, Manc Stuff!, Music, Non-Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, The TBR Pile, Travel

Leave a comment