The Not-So-Secret Blog of a Borassic Bookworm, Aged 44 1/4!

Hendrik Groen

And here’s one I bought earlier…

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

Epic Win at book club earlier! I have actually managed to persuade those present at book club to opt for a book of which I already own a copy! Yay! The paperback edition of The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 Years Old, is out, and available on a buy one get one half price deal at Waterstone’s. I’ve had the hardback for a while now, it’s been on my TBR pile, so I thought I’d put a copy of the paperback on the table and suggest it for our next book, my other choice being Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman, which was a hardback, but on offer at half price, and it looked interesting, so I presented those choices.

There were only four of us there tonight, and the others didn’t have any book suggestions. They liked both of mine, but we went with the Dutch pensioner, rather than the office worker. I might eventually get that other book. In fact, I probably will, knowing me, at some point or other… It will end up in here, in hardback or paperback, and on my notorious TBR list! Trying to be good and resist the Call of the Book at the moment, but these items of reading matter will end up here sooner or later, no doubt!

Whether I will ever get around to reading them, though, is entirely another matter! I already have a TBR pile which would take years to read through even if I had all the time in the world for the rest of my life! In fact, I still wouldn’t get around to reading all of the books I own! Crafters tend to know this as SABLE – Stash Acquired Beyond Life Expectancy, and the same can be said for bookworms and their book collections!

Onto the other books now, and some slight inaccuracies in the previous blog. Dissolution is on for 61% as far as Goodreads is concerned, and the entire Shardlake series would involve reading 3,626 pages of plot over the course of the 6 books. Anyway, Dissolution is now at the top of the OC List, having overtaken Me and Earl and the Dying Girl slightly. That’s on for 57% and Periodic Tales is on 56%, so it’s quite close at the top at the moment. What I could do with is a new wipe board, or at least a new marker pen for it. I will have to see if they have any more at The Range. I was on my work placement when I bought that one and I was often put on the arts & crafts and stationery section, so I got to see those magnetic wipe boards frequently and just had to buy one!

One Italian Summer has also shot up on the list, past the other YA novels apart from Me and Earl. If I can get both of those polished off, I can make a start on A Quiet Kind of Thunder, and maybe also sort out some of the other Young Adult books on the OC List. Maybe return to The Upside of Unrequited. After all, I’d still like to find out how mermaids pee, lol!

Might take some books off the OC list, return them to the general TBR pile as half-read books, and resume them some other time. I have clearly lost interest, progress has not been made for ages, so I can drop them off the list, they are hardly ongoing concerns when I’ve not really been arsed with them for ages, and we can have a very trimmed-down OC List. It doesn’t mean they’re doomed, though. After all, I resumed Jamrach’s Menagerie after several years of not being read, and the same goes for Pet Shop Boys, Literally!

From part-read books on to other literary issues now…

Recently, I blogged about how books which are said to change your life never seem to have that effect on me. See my June 2017 archive for that particular blog if you wish to revisit the issue. One of the other issues with literature, which has been raised on the book groups and pages of Facebook lately, is the matter of books which cause you to cry. I’m not talking about quiet crying or the shedding of a few tears, though. I’m talking about “ugly sobbing” over a book. Again, something which I don’t ever recall doing!

In all my years as a bookworm, which is most of my life as I was reading before I started school, I don’t think I have ever ugly cried over a book. Certainly, books have made me emotional. I have wanted to slap certain characters (hence I have a Literary Slap List), I’ve wanted to punch some of them, such as those who abused Jude in A Little Life, and I’ve wanted to transfigure Dolores Umbridge into something to suit what a nasty bitch she is! Actually, I’ve wanted to send her to Azkaban and let the Dementors sort her out! Don’t bloody start me on that awful woman! As a Potterhead, I dislike Umbridge so much that I even prefer Lord Voldemort to her! At least you know where you stand with Voldy! He’s always evil. He never pretends to be nice!

So, I have wanted to slap, punch, hug, and send some characters behind bars! I have also leaked some tears, there have been occasional waterworks, but only quiet ones! No ugly, messy sobbing here! No “it’s a good job I don’t wear mascara” moments! The ugly crying doesn’t happen for me any more than the “life-changing” books happen for me! I do bear in mind other peoples’ warnings, I do have tissues handy. However, so far, nothing has made me blub that much while reading a book that I’ve actually needed them. I think the closest I’ve come, and even that was just quiet tears, was when I was reading This Way for the Gas, Ladies and Gentlemen, by Tadeusz Borowski, a collection of short stories which I read some years ago thanks to a recommendation by David Hunt on Facebook.

I don’t know why this is the case. I don’t know why I don’t ugly cry any more than I know why life-changing books don’t change my life, lol, but there it is! I’ve been a bookworm for over 40 years, which is almost all my life given that I’m 44, lol, but books don’t change my life and they don’t make me ugly sob either! I love books. I find them moving at times, informative and educational at other times, but I guess I just don’t have those extreme reactions which make me bawl my eyes out or experience something life-changing after reading a certain book!

I think that’s probably about all for now, which is more than enough, lol, so until the next blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 Years Old – Hendrik Groen
  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine – Gail Honeyman
  • Dissolution – C. J. Sansom
  • Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews
  • Periodic Tales – Hugh Aldersey-Williams
  • One Italian Summer – Keris Stainton
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder – Sara Barnard
  • The Upside of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie – Carol Birch
  • Pet Shop Boys, Literally – Chris Heath
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • This Way For the Gas, Ladies and Gentlemen – Tadeusz Borowski
Leave a comment

Filed under Autobiography/Biography, Books, Facebook & Other Social Media, Goodreads, Half-Finished Books, Ongoing Concerns, The TBR Pile, YA Books

Leave a Reply

