Chunky Monkeys

Penguin book van

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

No, I’m not actually expecting a massive delivery, but I did like that photo when I saw it on Facebook the other night, lol, so I thought I’d use it for my blog! With progress being made on Dissolution, which is currently 62% read at time of typing, lol, you can expect a bit of blogging on historical fiction and other chunky works of literature! We are talking chunky monkeys of the literary variety here, of course, as opposed to THE Chunky Monkey, who is my nephew, Reuben!

We now have Romelu Lukaku at United, but we have Paul Pogba to thank for that, rather than the Gnome (Ed Woodward), as it seems Pog is up for recruiting some of his mates, lol! We have had something of a striker swap, as Lukaku has joined us from Everton, with Wayne Rooney returning to Goodison Park after 13 goal-filled years at Old Trafford, in which he won pretty much everything! I still maintain we need more than one striker, as we let Zlatan go, too, so we’ve only got one forward in, having lost two of them. Gnome needs to pull his finger out, he can’t just expect “Agent P” to do his job for him! I personally still want us to sign Alvaro Morata. I am NOT happy that our interest in him seems to have ended. United are being stupid if that is the case!

Oh, and Michael Carrick has been named as the new United captain, as Wazza has left us. I expect this means he’ll be club captain, and will also be team captain when he plays, but, as he is almost 36 now, it certainly won’t be every game, and I guess someone like Ander Herrera might often get to wear the armband as deputy, if that is who is named as Carrick’s understudy.

Oops, before we get back to the books from the footy, I set a question a few blog entries ago, I think it was on the blog “A Red Letter Day”, and I asked about the significance of Jenny Jones winning a bronze medal for Great Britain at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi. The significance was that she was the first British Olympian to win a medal on snow! Her bronze came in the slopestyle snowboarding event, whereas all Britain’s previous medals at the Winter Olympics, including the others we won in Sochi, were won on the ice! So, if anyone was waiting for the answer to that little quiz, you have the answer now, and I apologise if it’s been bugging you for a few weeks!

Right then… BOOKS!!!

I Like Big Books And I Cannot Lie…

Book club tomorrow night. No, I’ve not read The Power, well, I have but not very much of it, lol, so we’ll just have to deal with that! Not saying I won’t keep it and read it in the future, that is a possibility, but I felt the need to try to tackle the OCs, plus I got distracted by footy and my challenge to Ed Woodward, which has caused me to start the Shardlake series by C J Sansom, hence my progress on Dissolution! Enjoying it very much, by the way, but historical fiction is a genre I do tend to enjoy! As I’ve said many times, I am a very random reader, lol, but I’ve read a fair bit of historical fiction in my time, and most books in that genre tend to be quite substantial, page-wise! There are the occasional exceptions, Girl With A Pearl Earring being one of those, as that’s pretty slim, but most historical fiction novels are serious door-stoppers, lol!

Another book added to the OC list, alongside Dissolution, is One Italian Summer, by Keris Stainton, which is a YA novel. Yes, yet another work of young adult fiction on the OC list! To be fair, though, YA books are great, and I have been making progress of late when it comes to Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. I had seen the Stainton novel in the YA section at Waterstone’s, and returned to it on Friday, started reading a bit and decided I had to have it.

I also bought A Quiet Kind of Thunder, by Sara Barnard, which interested me because one of the main characters is deaf, and there are bits of British Sign Language throughout the book, including the inside covers! I look forward to reading it and brushing up on my BSL – I actually have the CACDP Stage 1 qualification from way back in 1998 when I did the course at Eccles College – they were offering it as one of their evening classes back then. My BSL is a bit rusty as I’ve not really had sufficient dealings with deaf or hearing-impaired people since 1998 to keep it active and in my mind, but I can still remember a bit of it, including the finger-spelling alphabet.

It’s funny that I should have dug out a Veronica Henry novel from one of my book piles the other day, with a view to resuming The Beach Hut, as I actually found another of her books for 99p yesterday at a charity shop in Salford Precinct, the Age UK shop if I recall rightly, and thus How To Find Love In a Book Shop came home with me after my various activities in Salford yesterday! Having flicked through it, there are lists of recommended reading at various points in the book, so it may well give me more ideas, lol! It is a novel, it is fiction, but clearly some actual books are name-dropped in the plot!

Anyway, I got the calculator out earlier, well, I summoned up the calculator app on my iPad, and worked out that if I read the complete Shardlake series by C J Sansom, of which I am currently over half-way through the first book, Dissolution, I will have read 3,631 pages by the time I finish the sixth book, Lamentation! Wow! It’d be interesting to know how many pages I read when I read the Harry Potter series back in the noughties, but the first three books of that series are not very long, you only start getting the “chunky monkeys” when you get to Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, but you would still have read probably around two thousand or so pages at least, if you read all seven books!

So, time for me to put The Power back in my bag, even though I’ve not read much of it, lol, and have a read of some of my current OCs! I shall be finding out, tomorrow night, what’s next as far as book club reads go, but until my next blog, that’s about it for now except to say that I was over a quarter of the way through Dissolution by the time Lukaku was having his medical, and I had reached the halfway stage by the time he officially signed, so let’s see how much further I get with this series while I wait for the Gnome to make further signings! Probably best leaving that to Pogba, he seems to be doing a better job of it than Woodward, lol! I may well have started Dark Fire by the time we get news of another signing!

Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Dissolution – C. J. Sansom
  • The Power – Naomi Alderman
  • Girl With a Pearl Earring – Tracy Chevalier
  • One Italian Summer – Keris Stainton
  • Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder – Sara Barnard
  • The Beach Hut – Veronica Henry
  • How To Find Love In a Book Shop – Veronica Henry
  • Lamentation – C. J. Sansom
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J. K. Rowling
  • Dark Fire – C. J. Sansom
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Books About Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Chunky Monkeys, Facebook & Other Social Media, Football, Handbag Books, Historical Fiction, Olympic Games, Ongoing Concerns, The TBR Pile, YA Books

Leave a Reply

