Scope For a Bargain!

Scope shop in Eccles

The Scope shop in Eccles

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

Welcome to yet another blog entry, and the reason there is a photo of one of the many charity shops in Eccles, is because yours truly is now the proud owner of the complete Shardlake series by C. J. Sansom, due to the fact that she acquired Sovereign at this very shop (see photo) earlier today for the princely sum of 50p! Epic Win!

I had had an appointment in Eccles, so after that, and a bit of lunch at Greggs’, lol, I did the rounds of most of the charity shops in the precinct. Within the precinct, there are several of these. Mustard Tree, Salvation Army, Charities 2gether In Salford, British Red Cross, and British Heart Foundation. However, I had already done the rounds of the precinct on Monday, and when you’re after something specific, and it’s not there, you might be thinking it’s not your day, and it’s time to get the bus…

Shardlake Series complete. Now I just need to read them…

But then I remembered that there is ANOTHER charity shop in Eccles, but this one’s rather at the far end of the town, bit out on a limb compared to the others, and that is the Scope shop, so off I trundled to pay it a visit and browse the shelves for books… And there it was… Sovereign! The book I was after. Book 3 of the series, but the one which I still needed in order to complete the set. It’s one of those shops which offers 3 books for £1, but if you just want one book, it’s 50p. So, the grand sum of fifty pence was handed over at the counter, and I headed for the bus home a happy little bookworm!

The one matter where I am NOT happy is the current transfer window situation where Ed Woodward, aka the Gnome, is making about as much progress as an asthmatic ant with some particularly heavy shopping, to quote from Blackadder Goes Forth! Yes, we do have ONE player, a central defender, Victor Lindelof, but we really ought to have more by now, as United head off on their pre-season tour on Sunday!

Thus, I am so pissed-off with the lack of progress made by the Gnome thus far that I am actually siding with Jose, and you KNOW my feelings on him! We’re talking about a bloke I have disliked since 2004, the night Porto knocked us out of Europe, and never wanted as our manager, a guy whose ego blocks out the sun, lol, but in the past day or two I have started to look at photos of a particularly pissed-off Mourinho and think “Yeah, Jose, me too, chuck!”

I’m starting to wonder if I should start some big chunky book, or a book series, and see how far into it I am when the damn Gnome actually signs a player for Manchester United?! Maybe if I actually start Dissolution, the first book of the Shardlake series, we can track my progress compared to Woodward’s in the transfer market… see which page I’m on by the time any player jets over for a medical, and then which page I’m on when the guy actually puts pen to paper and officially become a MUFC player?!

And one of those players had better be Alvaro Morata, or there’ll be trouble, Gnome! Got that?! You make damn sure he joins us, and that you get a few others off Jose’s shopping list as well, you lazy little shit! You’ve had that bloody list since May, and you’ve signed ONE player so far! This is no time for you to be sitting on your arse watching the rugby, the Tour de France, Wimbledon, or any other sporting event… it’s time for you to get off your arse and sign some damn football players!!! Get on it like a bonnet, Woodward!

Right, back to books, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl has now taken over at the top of the Ongoing Concerns list! I am now 57% of the way through the YA novel by Jesse Andrews, thus it moves marginally ahead of Periodic Tales, which is on 56% at present! I really need to watch “Withnail & I”, which is referenced in Me and Earl… I am pretty sure I recorded and kept it on my Sky+ box, so I shall have to have a shufty.

* returns from shufty *

RIP Barry Norman.

Yes, Withnail & I is on my Sky+ box. Getting round to watching films, though, is not my strong point. (I make about as much progress with getting around to watching films as the Gnome makes with getting round to signing players in the transfer market, lol!)

Its not that I dislike films, but it’s a feeling of needing to put aside a big chunk of time to watch one! The average film is, I reckon, around 2-3 hours long and, while I can pause it, if I am going to watch a film, I would rather do it all in one and not be interrupted by anything. The other thing is that films usually have to be funny or have good soundtracks, or preferably both, for them to appeal to me. I would be a useless film critic, lol! The late Barry Norman, who passed away last week at the age of 83, wouldn’t have needed to worry about competition from me for his job presenting the film programme on the Beeb, which Jonathan Ross took over in the late 90s. Always did like the “Film” theme music, though!

I have a week to go until my next book club meeting, next Wednesday, and I have read a little bit more of The Power, by Naomi Alderman, but I am still not at the 10% stage yet, and still not decided whether I wish to progress and try to get it finished… As it says on a badge which I once had as a profile picture on Facebook…

The trouble with reading books is that I get distracted. By other books.

I’m sure, as fellow bookworms, many of you have the same issue! I really fancy getting stuck into a series or a really big chunky monkey of a book! Something really substantial. Actually, as I said earlier in this blog, I could do that challenge… Me vs Ed Woodward… Shardlake vs the Gnome… How much of the series can I get through while waiting for that lazy tosser to sign some more players for Manchester United this summer?!

Shardlake vs The Gnome – let’s do this!

Still got a few incomplete series knocking around, and have now kinda added to that by acquiring a couple more books in the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. I had already snapped up Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief the other week, and have now added the second and third books, Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters, and Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse. The fourth book is Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth, but I don’t have a copy of that as yet.

Anyway, I think that’s about it for now, that’s my book news up to date as far as I can tell, so I am off to have a good read and hope that the Gnome gets off his arse and actually signs someone! Usually, I would hate to be distracted while reading, but I would happily allow it if it meant that my club had a new signing, or at least a player coming over for a medical! That would be an improvement on the current situation where there is bugger all happening! So, until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Sovereign – C. J. Sansom
  • Dissolution – C. J. Sansom
  • Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews
  • Periodic Tales – Hugh Aldersey-Williams
  • The Power – Naomi Alderman
  • Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan
  • Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters – Rick Riordan
  • Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse – Rick Riordan
  • Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan
Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Football, Historical Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, Sports, YA Books

Leave a Reply

