Voyage of Discoveries

Garage finds 15th May 2017

Unlike Bono, I HAVE found what I’m looking for, lol!

Good afternoon, fellow Bookworms!

Back again with another blog for your reading pleasure, and, firstly, congratulations to Portugal who won the Eurovision Song Contest on Saturday night, the first time they have ever won it! Next year’s ESC will be in Lisbon. I have some good news and bad news on the book front, so let’s crack on with this…

The bad news, or rather, disappointing news, is that there is now a 20th book to add to the notorious Duplicate Books List, as I have found a copy of The Cellist of Sarajevo, by Steven Galloway, which I didn’t know I already owned when I bought a copy not long ago! Oops!

However, I went on the voyage to the bottom of our garage, lol, due to a tip-off from my mum that there were some plastic boxes with books in them, which might contain some that I’d been looking for. Sure enough, there it was… The God of Small Things, by Arundhati Roy! Yay! All the “missing books” I’d bemoaned on here earlier this year have now been located and retrieved! Alone in Berlin, by Hans Fallada, was also in that container, so please remind me of this if I mention in a future blog that I’m looking for it and don’t know where I put it! Also in that same box was The Radleys, by Matt Haig, but I have read that one a few years ago. Really good book.

There were two other things of interest which I fished out of those containers. One of them was my Hello Kitty diary, which I had used as a travel diary for a few years in the early noughties – first couple of excursions were the London Eye and Camden Market trip and the Amsterdam Tournament trip, both in 2002, but the diary is open at the back in the photo to reveal something from 2003 and our holiday in the USA to see United’s pre-season tour that summer…

I think I may have mentioned this before, I’ve certainly mentioned it on Facebook, but we had to fly from Heathrow on that tour as all the flights from Manchester were booked up. West Ham’s team were going on their pre-season tour that day, although I’m not sure where they were jetting off to, but that meant there were a lot of footballers milling around with us in the departure lounge and duty free areas at Heathrow Airport, and that’s when I met Jermaine Defoe and got his autograph in the back of my travel diary! Jermaine is currently at Sunderland, although I guess he’ll be leaving this summer due to their relegation. As he’s an England international, he can’t really afford to stay with a relegated side and play in the Championship if he’s going to be picked for the Three Lions. He needs to be at a Premier League club.

You will also see a cross-stitched bookmark on the photo. That is the very first cross-stitched bookmark I ever made! Way back in the early months of 1997, 20 years ago, when I first decided to give cross stitch a try! Eric Cantona was still playing for us at the time, although he retired that May. He remains my all-time favourite player. I replaced that bookmark with another in the book in which I had found it, a book about United, appropriately enough although about a more recent time than the seasons Eric played for us, so I could bring the bookmark up to my room and photograph it for the benefit of my 54 followers, plus those who read my blog via Facebook! Once I’ve published it on here, I also paste a link onto FB so my bookworm friends on Farcebook can also enjoy my waffle, lol!

Rotterdam! Rotterdam! We’re the famous Man United and we won in Rotterdam!

Talking of United, we’re on 15th May, so Happy Birthday to our former defender and deputy captain, Patrice Evra, 36 today, and Happy ECWC Anniversary, as it’s 26 years since United won the European Cup-Winners’ Cup in Rotterdam! 15th May 1991. Les Sealey, Denis Irwin, Clayton Blackmore, Steve Bruce, Mike Phelan, Gary Pallister, Bryan Robson (captain), Paul Ince, Brian McClair, Mark Hughes and Lee Sharpe. That starting eleven played the full 90 minutes. Unusual for no subs to have been used, but there you go! Sadly, Les Sealey died in 2001, but the other 10 guys are still with us.

Drink, drink, wherever you may be!

We are the drunk and disorderly!

An’ we don’t give a s**t an’ we don’t give a f**k

‘Cause we came home with the Cup-Winners’ Cup!

Oops! Sorry! While we’re on the subject of Rotterdam, Feyenoord, whose ground was the scene of our night of glory in 1991, won the Dutch title yesterday for the first time in 18 years – their previous Eredivisie title had come in the 1998-99 season, the same time United did the Treble, of course, but now they are celebrating again after clinching it at home yesterday with a 3-1 win. I don’t know if I have any Dutch bookworms amongst my followers, either on here or on Facebook, but if I do, and any of them are Feyenoord fans, congratulations on your title!

While we, and Feyenoord fans, were celebrating in 1999, that season saw the final time the European Cup-Winners’ Cup would be contested. UEFA brought it to an end that season, so the final winners, Lazio, got to keep the trophy, although there is a replica in the National Football Museum here in Manchester, along with a plaque celebrating the years it has been won by clubs here in the UK. I know I talk of Ongoing Concerns with regard to books, but the ongoing concerns with regard to continental football tournaments in Europe are the European Cup (Champions’ League) and the UEFA Cup (Europa League), the latter of which will see Manchester United play Ajax in Stockholm on 24th May – next Wednesday! Eek! It’s getting close!

Anyway, I probably ought to return to the topic of books, lol! I really need to get The Tobacconist finished as soon as possible. As much of it read by Thursday as I can, ahead of my book club. Thing is, it’s Nul Points which is still grabbing me at the moment! I’m also in the middle of stitching a couple more bookmarks! As there is no such thing as too many books, there is also such a thing as not enough bookmarks! I have been known to use a lot of things as improvised bookmarks, including postcards, expired bus and tram passes, and tickets from concerts and football matches, but I do have a fair few actual bookmarks, particularly as I stitch a lot when the mood takes me! So glad I found my Eric Cantona one, though! Wondered where that had got to! It’ll be his birthday next Wednesday when United play Ajax in Stockholm! He’ll be 51!

So, that’s about it for my news at the moment! There will be more book-related waffle fairly soon, along with side orders of music, football, crafting and other points of interest! Until then, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Cellist of Sarajevo – Steven Galloway
  • The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
  • Alone In Berlin – Hans Fallada
  • The Radleys – Matt Haig
  • The Tobacconist – Robert Seethaler
  • Nul Points – Tim Moore
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Computer Corner, Cross-Stitch, Duplicate Books List, Facebook & Other Social Media, Football, Music, Ongoing Concerns, The TBR Pile, Travel

Leave a Reply

