OCs Eleven

darth vader reading

Happy Star Wars Day! May the 4th be with you!

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

Finished my jury service on Tuesday, so that’s now over and done with, and I can’t be called up again until at least two years from now! I actually managed to get reading another book on my final day at Manchester Crown Court, which is how my infamous Ongoing Concerns list has now expanded to ELEVEN books! Hence OCs Eleven as today’s blog title, lol! The book which caught my eye was by Carl Honoré, and entitled In Praise of Slow, which is about how too many people are doing everything much too fast but there are movements out there formed by people with the good sense to try to slow things down a bit to a sensible pace!

Which is wise, because if you go too fast, you’re at more risk of making mistakes, and also of burning yourself out! The best speed to go at, when working, is the fastest speed you can go at while still remaining accurate! If mistakes are creeping in, you’re going much too fast! Besides which, sometimes our computers cannot keep up with us, even if we’re NOT going like the clappers, so we might as well take our time – our technology will thank us for it!

OCs Eleven 4th May 2017

OCs Eleven – the expanding list of Ongoing Concerns…

So, with that, onto the subject of the OC List, and progress is being made on as many books as possible! I had a thought while I was preparing to blog, actually it occurred to me while I was taking the above photograph for the benefit of posting a #bookstagram photo on Instagram… As I get through the current OC List and get books off the list, I am planning to get the list to 9 books, and perhaps maintain it at that. I thought nine books because then I could have 3 general fiction, 3 non-fiction and 3 young adult on the OC List and that would make for a pretty decent balanced diet in reading terms!

I’ll have some work to do to get it to that stage, though. Not only have I got eleven books on the list at present, so I need to reduce it by two, but there is only one general fiction book currently on my OC List, that being my current book club choice, The Tobacconist, by Robert Seethaler. My other books are 5 non-fiction and 5 young adult! Eek! Alright, Pet Shop Boys, Literally, is a biography, and Neither Here Nor There is, technically, an autobiography, and also travel writing, but the main thing is that they’re all factual, thus they all come under non-fiction for the purposes of my OC list.

(That’s purposes, not porpoises, lol! We have had Educational Porpoises, though – a few blog posts ago! You want the March 2017 monthly archive for that one, and scroll down a bit!)

Oh, and a couple of things I forgot to mention in the April Review, but it seemed too late to go back in and edit it once I’d remembered… Firstly, that I now have over 50 followers, although I think I did mention that during at least one blog in April before the month ended and I did my review, and secondly, that I did finish off the League Cup winning years bookmark. Not sure if I mentioned that I’d put the finishing touches to it or not, but I have. Thank you to everyone who follows this blog and puts up with my waffle!

Anyway, I was on about the non-fiction reads on my OC List, wasn’t I? I have two about music – one about my favourite duo and the other, Nul Points, about the Eurovision Song Contest, one book about chemistry, Periodic Tales, one piece of travel writing, Neither Here Nor There, and one about the benefits of not going like the clappers, In Praise of Slow. The chemistry one, examining the elements of the periodic table, was a former book club book from some years ago, and one which I had been reading and got about a third of the way through it before other books distracted me, lol! It is now being resumed, though!

On the Young Adult front, I also have five books on the OC List, three of which, as far as I’m aware, are stand-alone novels, but the other two are both the first book of six in their respective series. I have City of Bones, by Cassandra Clare, which is the first of the Mortal Instruments series, and I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You, by Ally Carter, which is the first of the Gallagher Girls series. It is also, most probably, the longest book title of anything I’m likely to read during the course of 2017, lol! I doubt we’ll have any advance on a 13 word title!

I’ll probably have to adjust the balance of the OC List before I reduce it in number. I could, however, increase the list to 12, and have four general fiction, four non-fiction and four young adult, but I don’t really want to increase the OCs, I just want to get the balance right, as Depeche Mode would put it! It could be, though, that it goes up to twelve before it comes down to nine. Just to sort the balance out before we start reducing.

I’ve currently got 11 books. 1 general fiction, 5 non-fiction and 5 YA. To get to what I want, I’d have to lose 2 non-fiction and 2 YA, but add 2 general fiction. Currently at the top of the list are two of the non-fictions, those being Pet Shop Boys, Literally, and Periodic Tales. So, I could just not replace those with like books when I finish them. That would get things down to nine books. However, the next on the list is The Tobacconist, my book club book, and I will need to finish that for my book club meeting in a fortnight’s time. I would definitely have to replace that with another general fiction just to keep some general fiction on the OCs!

Two out of the next three are young adult, so I could just replace those with general fiction, and then we would have 3 of each and 9 books in total. Nul Points, currently in the middle of those YA books, would be replaced by another work of non-fiction.

Then again, when I’ve finished reading certain books, all this could go by the wayside and I could have changed my mind about the balance of books and could have decided not to give a shit! And with that thought, which is highly likely, I think that’s about everything covered for this blog entry, so until I blog again, take care and Happy Reading! May the Fourth be with you!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • In Praise of Slow – Carl Honoré
  • The Tobacconist – Robert Seethaler
  • Pet Shop Boys, Literally – Chris Heath
  • Neither Here Nor There – Bill Bryson
  • Nul Points – Tim Moore
  • Periodic Tales – Hugh Aldersey-Williams
  • City of Bones – Cassandra Clare
  • I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You – Ally Carter
Leave a comment

Filed under Autobiography/Biography, Books, Football, Goodreads, Half-Finished Books, Music, Non-Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, Travel, YA Books

Leave a Reply

