All Rise!

People's Songs finished 21 April 2017

Off the OC List – Another Stuart Maconie book finished!

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

Once again, I was not needed in court, but I will be on Monday! Woo hoo! I phoned up after 6pm on Friday evening (it’s now the early minutes of Saturday morning here in the UK as I type), and all of us who started our jury service this last week are required to attend on Monday at 10:30am. Fine by me, and I shall pack a chunky book or two! Today’s court-themed blog title is thanks to the 2001 hit by Blue. Apologies to my sister for the previous one (Love In The First Degree) after she got that particular Bananarama song stuck in her head, lol!

This is the song in question for tonight’s title, for those unfamiliar with it…

Possibly The Saffron Trail or City of Bones as one of the books. Both of those are chunky, and I could aim to get a fair bit of either of those read. They’re at opposite ends of the OC scale… I’m over half-way through The Saffron Trail, by Rosanna Ley, but it’s kinda stalled at 55% for a while and needs “reviving” really. On the other hand, I only recently started City of Bones, by Cassandra Clare, but it seems quite a way behind on only 12%. One book I really should get on with, though, is The Tobacconist, by Robert Seethaler, as that’s my book club book at the moment.

The People’s Songs is now off the OC list and onto the Goodreads Challenge, though! My second Stuart Maconie book of this year, the third of his which I have read in total, was finished on Friday evening, taking my Goodreads Challenge to 20/30 – two thirds of my current target met before my birthday! Woo hoo! I think Maconie is one of my favourite non-fiction writers, along with Bill Bryson. He writes about stuff I like reading about, in other words music and travel, and he’s a fellow northerner – from Wigan, so not a million miles away from my neck of the woods! Been to Wigan a few times, as I’ve probably mentioned in previous blogs, lol!

Anyway, with another book off the OC list, time to add one to it, but which book to add? I have got a book in my handbag right now and I’m deliberating on I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You, by Ally Carter, but that would just add to all the YA on the OC list already. I could add that as well as another non-YA book, I suppose, and take the OC list up to a top ten… I love YA, as you know, but I’ve been a bit concerned that my OC list is imbalanced. Should I care, though?! I mean, should I truly care, or should I stop giving a shit and chill about the balance of books on my OC list?

Theoretically, as I’ve finished The People’s Songs, another non-fiction needs to go on there. Currently, I have Pet Shop Boys, Literally, by Chris Heath, and Nul Points, by Tim Moore, as my non-fiction helpings. The Saffron Trail and The Tobacconist are general fiction, but then I have FOUR young adult books!

But should I take a book or two OFF the list? I mean, if I’ve not read one of them for a while, is it really an ongoing concern? Do I just drop it from the OC list and just regard it as one of my half-read books and pick it up again some other time in the hope my interest in it will be revived? Finding Audrey, for example. This book has been untouched on my OC list, remaining at 29% for as long as I’ve had an OC list, really, and keeps getting overtaken by other books, so should I just put it on the back burner for now and drop it from the OC list, or should I pick it back up and try to get back into it? I WAS enjoying it, but then other books just came along and took my attention away from it.

The “Prodigal Books” which were missing, but recently found again, probably should join the OC list soon, as a celebration of them being relocated! As you will recall, four out of the five missing books happened to be in part of my wardrobe. I still don’t have a Scooby what happened to The God of Small Things, though! I guess it’s just AWOL. Maybe it’ll turn up when I’m looking for something else, which is the way of things around here!

Talking of looking for something else, we return to the conundrum of the OC List (as opposed to the Conundrum which is the last round on the long-running Channel 4 quiz show, Countdown, where the contestants have to guess the 9-letter anagram) – perhaps we could have some more non-fiction and I’ve got a couple of chunky books here of the history variety – I’m thinking about when I’m back at Manchester Crown Court next week for my second week of jury service… hence the chunkies! I’ve got A History of Modern Britain, by Andrew Marr, and 1000 Years of Annoying the French, by Stephen Clarke, and that one has been on the bookshelf outside my room, on the landing, for seemingly donkey’s years – at least since my mum actually bought and assembled that particular set of bookshelves! You may well know Stephen Clarke best for the “Merde” series of novels, which started with A Year In the Merde.

Of those two, I’m leaning towards the thousand years of annoying the French, but perhaps it’s time for a bit of Bill Bryson. Stuart Maconie might have just come off the OC list, but there are several books here by one of my other favourites of the non-fiction world and they need reading! On the landing, along with the Stephen Clarke book about annoying our continental neighbours, lol, are a couple of Bryson hardbacks – A Short History of Nearly Everything, and At Home, so I could always opt for one of those, or go with one of the paperbacks lurking around in here. So spoilt for choice and that’s just one author! If I come to a decision, I shall let you know!

In the meantime, it’s time I got this saved and published, so until the next blog brings you further details of my jury service book marathon, lol, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Saffron Trail – Rosanna Ley
  • City of Bones – Cassandra Clare
  • The Tobacconist – Robert Seethaler
  • The People’s Songs – Stuart Maconie
  • I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You – Ally Carter
  • Pet Shop Boys, Literally – Chris Heath
  • Nul Points – Tim Moore
  • Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella
  • The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
  • A History of Modern Britain – Andrew Marr
  • 1000 Years of Annoying the French – Stephen Clarke
  • A Year In the Merde – Stephen Clarke
  • A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson
  • At Home – Bill Bryson
Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Books, Goodreads, Handbag Books, Humour, Music, Non-Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, Television, The TBR Pile, Travel, YA Books

Leave a Reply

