The Seven OCs of Rhye

Library Cushion

Cardinal! Fetch the Soft Cushions!

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Isn’t that cushion wonderful? Just right for us bookworms, eh?! As I’ve mentioned in my blogs, I’m on a placement at the moment, and I was pricing cushions and other items of soft furnishing, so I noticed the “library cushion” and thought it would be perfect for this blog! Being in that department, I also started to think of the legendary Spanish Inquisition sketch from Monty Python’s Flying Circus, lol! Doesn’t take much to get me thinking about Monty Python stuff, but being surrounded by soft cushions in need of pricing, it was just asking for it, quite frankly! Yes, I know. You weren’t expecting the Spanish Inquisition, were you?!

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!

Our chief weapon is fear! Fear and surprise. That’s two. Wait a minute, I’ll start again…

Oops! Let’s get back to books, shall we? You won’t be too surprised to learn that I’ve started on The People’s Songs, by Stuart Maconie, which I bought at Cheshire Oaks. Essentially, it’s the story of late 20th century Britain in 50 songs, and I’m already 23% of the way through it! Almost a quarter of it read already, as we head into the early 70s with its prog rock and metal…

People's Songs book

This means we now have 7 books on the Ongoing Concerns list, hence the title of tonight’s blog, a play on The Seven Seas of Rhye, by Queen! I could also have had Sailing on the Seven Seas, by OMD, from the early 90s, or even just Seven Seas, a hit in the mid 80s for Echo and the Bunnymen, but I thought we’d go with Freddie and co.

Anyway, the OCs are back up to 7, and we have more non-fiction back on the menu, as most of the others currently on the OC list are fiction, mainly YA, other than I Am Zlatan Ibrahimović, our Swedish striker’s autobiography. As I said in my last blog, I was reading some more of that after Zlatan had scored for us against Everton on Tuesday night.

(Those of a “Tractor Boy” persuasion should look away now…)

Talking of footy, our former striker, Andrew Cole, has undergone a kidney transplant, so I hope you can excuse my further football waffle as I wish him all the best for a full and speedy recovery. Although other players have since equalled the feat, he became the first player to score 5 goals in a Premier League match when he helped United annihilate Ipswich Town 9-0 on 4th March 1995 at Old Trafford. Poor Ipswich were lucky to get nil! Roy Keane opened the scoring that day, Mark Hughes contributed two goals, and our other goal which was not from Cole came from Paul Ince.

(Right, OK, it’s safe for any Ipswich Town fans to return, lol!)

Of course, we should also mention the partnership he formed with Dwight Yorke when the Trinidad & Tobago international joined us from Aston Villa in 1998, a partnership which would fire us all the way to the historic Treble in May 1999, aided and abetted by fellow strikers, Teddy Sheringham and the complete and utter LEGEND that is Ole Gunnar Solskjaer! Particularly significant moments for Cole en route to the Treble came in the semi-final second leg away to Juventus when he ensured United would be going to Barcelona for the final with our winning goal in Turin in our 3-2 victory, and he helped us clinch the first part of the Treble, with our winner against Spurs at Old Trafford on the final day of the 1998-99 Premier League campaign. He lobbed the ball over Ian Walker in the Spurs goal to give us what would be the winning goal. 2-1. Absolutely vital, as Arsenal also won that day, so it was our win which gave us the title by a point.

Alright, enough footy now. Back to the reading matter, lol!

I was looking for other Stuart Maconie books which I’ve not read, and I found Hope and Glory, which is partially-read, but I might just restart that one when I get around to it. I’m not sure whether I own a copy of Cider With Roadies or not, but I hope I do, and I hope it’s somewhere I can get my hands on it easily! May have to check my wardrobe, under Computer Corner, and in the Book Chest in the garage… At least I know which of his I have read – both of them mention pies in their title, lol!

As far as Bill Bryson is concerned, I have absolutely, DEFINITELY read Notes From a Small Island! That is for certain! I also know I have read at least one of his books where he’s back in his native USA, but I am trying to remember which one! I think it’s the one he starts with the classic line…

I came from Des Moines. Somebody had to.

This is from The Lost Continent, so therefore I have read that one. I have also read at least half of Mother Tongue, Bryson’s book on the joys and peculiarities of the English language. I have several other books of his lurking around, including Down Under, Neither Here Nor There, Made In America, and The Road To Little Dribbling, which is his return tour of the UK. And then there are two of his books on the notorious Duplicate Books List, but I’ve already mentioned those recently, lol! I shall have to do a Bill Bryson special one day…

There may yet be additions to the OC list – after all, I had eight books on there recently, and it’s currently at seven, but at least I’ve got some more non-fiction on there alongside all the YA and the chunky novels! Now I’ve got that box set by Cassandra Clare, I may well wish to start the first of those books pretty soon, see what City of Bones is like… I decided to risk it for a biscuit at The Works with that set, so I may as well see what I’ve let myself in for, lol!

For now, though, that’s about all for this blog, so until the next time I type something vaguely book-related out on this trusty laptop, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The People’s Songs – Stuart Maconie
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimović – Zlatan Ibrahimović
  • Hope and Glory – Stuart Maconie
  • Cider With Roadies – Stuart Maconie
  • Notes From a Small Island – Bill Bryson
  • The Lost Continent – Bill Bryson
  • Mother Tongue – Bill Bryson
  • Down Under – Bill Bryson
  • Neither Here Nor There – Bill Bryson
  • Made In America – Bill Bryson
  • The Road To Little Dribbling – Bill Bryson
  • City of Bones – Cassandra Clare
Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Autobiography/Biography, Books, Computer Corner, Football, Half-Finished Books, Humour, Music, Non-Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, Sports, Television, Travel, YA Books

Leave a Reply

