Tuesday Night’s Alright (For Reading)

Tuesdays with Morrie finished March 2017

My Tuesdays with Morrie are complete…

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Sir Elton John, who celebrated his 70th birthday on Saturday just gone, opined in song that Saturday night was alright for fighting. I would argue that any night is alright for reading, but as I’ve been reading Mitch Albom‘s book for the past four Tuesdays, it’s as good a day as any for the title of this blog! Tuesdays With Morrie has now been read, and is yet another book off the OC list this month! Moonstone, my book club book, was finished off the other day. When I come to the March Review in a few days’ time, I will be able to look back on a VERY productive month on the book front, with several OCs finished off, a few quicker reads also read, ones which were that short they didn’t even need to go on the OC list at all, lol, and a bookmark almost completed, too!

EFL Cup bookmark so far

It’s not quite finished – I could still do with adding some sort of tassel to it, plus putting red, white and black threads through it as ribbons on the handles of the cup, but most of it was completed last night pending those final flourishes. The book behind it is a 2017 diary, and I’m keeping track of my reading in it, using it as a book diary for the year. I got that idea earlier this month, wish I’d thought of it in January, rather than March, but never mind! The bit at the back of the cup is the other handle – for some weird reason, the League Cup has three handles! Absolutely no idea why – guess it’s just one of football’s great mysteries, lol!

Anyhow, back to the books – after all, I’m going to be putting my newly-stitched League Cup winning years bookmark into service fairly shortly, and adding another book or two to the OCs, as the list is now looking a bit short! I’ve only got five books on it now, lol! Five books! I had eight books on that list only a week ago, lol, but since then The Pie at Night, Moonstone, and Tuesdays With Morrie have all been completed and added to the Goodreads Challenge 2017, thus they are no longer Ongoing Concerns! Moonstone was a bit of an odd read at times, lol, but I enjoyed it, and particularly when I discovered that the main protagonist’s birthday was the same day as mine! Obviously, this novel was set in 1918-19, so the character would be a damn sight older than me, indeed he’d be in his hundreds! There’s a bit in 1919 where he points out to the elderly lady with whom he lives that he had turned 16 on April 23rd, so he would have been born in 1903 and therefore would be exactly 70 years older than yours truly! He’d be approaching his 114th birthday shortly, as I approach my 44th birthday!

I was originally expecting to blog that I’d had to shift some of the notorious book towers, but I’ve not had to do that. I’ve been able to make other arrangements in case the gas man needs to check the heater in my room, arrangements which leave the book towers intact, unless they decide to take a tumble again, but the only time they’ve done that, thus far, was due to a Henrikh Mkhitaryan goal for Manchester United away to Leicester City in February, and United don’t play again until Saturday when we have a proper, traditional Saturday afternoon 3pm kick-off against West Bromwich Albion at Old Trafford, so I’m not expecting any falling books prior to that, lol!

Yes, you read that right. We have a proper Saturday afternoon 3pm kick-off! You may need to sit down with a stiff drink upon reading that shock news, lol!

Back again. Sorry. You won’t realise it when reading this, but I’d been watching telly, the documentary Rio Ferdinand: Being Mum and Dad on BBC1. Such a brave guy, and a class act, and it was an honour to have had him as one of our players at United from 2002 to 2014. I met him before a match in 2012 and he signed my United drawstring bag. I recall him once saying that he had initially thought he’d be with us for 3 or 4 years but he ended up staying for 12!

Back to the books, though, and we need to sort out some potentials to add to the OC list. My next book club meeting is due on 12th April, so we’re a week or two away from that just yet, and I’ve read Moonstone already, as I mentioned, so there’s no book club representation on the OCs at present. I think I’m probably going to opt for Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy, that is looking highly likely to join the Ongoing Concerns list in the very near future! I also quite like the idea of  working through the Rainbow Tower of Books, which would make Stargirl, by Jerry Spinelli the first port of call on that book cruise, so to speak! Of course, both Dumplin’ and Stargirl are YA novels, and the number of shits I give about the fact that I am almost 44 years old and I read YA books is likely to be overestimated by many people! Next bit is NSFW due to un-asterisked expletive, but I know at least some of you will appreciate the humour in this…

added a f I didn't give

I saw that one the other day on Facebook and had to save it for future use! Especially when dealing with matters of literature and failing to give a shit what any book snobs might think about a grown adult woman reading young adult novels! To be frank, my giveashitometer has been malfunctioning for donkey’s years, so the likelihood of yours truly giving any flying f**ks about the opinions of literary snobs is on a par with Leicester City’s chances of retaining the Premier League title this season. In other words, Not. Gonna. Happen.

As I’ve said countless times, I aim to ENCOURAGE reading! This is why I am so anti-snobbishness! I am against anything which puts people off and stops them from enjoying books! Reading should be entertainment. It should be fun. It should be a pleasant experience, not just a necessity which people have to do in order to get on at school or in work! Therefore I salute any Book Heroes who do their bit to encourage reading! I have a few here…

Henry Winkler for one. Yes, I know most people just think of him as The Fonz from Happy Days, but did you know he had an honorary OBE, which he was awarded for services to literacy? He received it in 2011 for helping people with dyslexia here in the UK, having been diagnosed with the reading difficulty in his adult life.

It must be hard to motivate yourself to read if you have a problem which makes reading difficult for you. It is the book-reading equivalent of me being motivated to do any form of exercise when I have a dodgy thyroid gland (under-active from birth) and a track record of having been utterly shite at PE when I was at school! So, for one dyslexic to still make the effort to read, and then to help others, that is truly deserving of his OBE. It is actually a shame that he’s not from the UK or the Commonwealth, so he isn’t really entitled to use the letters after his name, because he bloody deserves to as far as I’m concerned!

Greg Smith in Orlando, Florida, for helping a local homeless lady, Amy Joe, learn to read so she can enjoy reading and also use the skill to get on in life and improve her chances of getting a job and a roof over her head.

Sidney Keys III from St Louis, Missouri. This fine young man, all of 11 years of age, thus at elementary school (primary school as we’d call it here in the UK), has set up a club called Books N Bros to encourage his fellow young black males to read more books! He has helped to source more African-American literature for children around his age, and set up a book club to encourage more reading amongst his peers… Hope this link works…

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/book-club-for-black-boys_us_58c7f308e4b081a56def641d

So, those are some serious Book Heroes for us to applaud! We definitely need people like this, so if you know of anyone who goes out of his or her way to encourage reading, give them a mention! Perhaps in the comments of my blogs! This one is coming to an end right now, I think I’ve pretty much typed everything which needs typing at present! So, until the next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom
  • Moonstone – Sjón
  • The Pie at Night – Stuart Maconie
  • Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy
  • Stargirl – Jerry Spinelli
1 Comment

Filed under Books, Cross-Stitch, Football, Goodreads, Junior Bookworms, Literary Issues, Music, Ongoing Concerns, Television, The TBR Pile, YA Books

One response to “Tuesday Night’s Alright (For Reading)

  1. Jack Faivish

    Would you like to write for our blog tvandcity? It is a great opportunity for all writers!
    Please let me know via email jackfaivish@tvandcity.com.

Leave a Reply

