Polishing Off The Pie

Pie at Night finished March 2017

Finished! The Pie has had its chips (and gravy), lol!

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

That’s The Pie at Night finished! 14 books on the Goodreads Challenge now, as Stuart Maconie‘s brilliant guide to what the north does for fun joins the list of books I’ve read this year! Wahey! It can now come off the list of Ongoing Concerns, although I might want to get that list down further before adding more to it. Then again, I might not! There are plenty of books round here begging to be read, lol, so it won’t be too long before new ones are added! After all, I expect others to come off the OC list pretty soon.

Unless anything drastic happens, I’m expecting this coming Tuesday to be the last of my Tuesdays With Morrie sessions! That one is certainly a very moving and poignant book, although I am not one to cry over reading matter. Doesn’t mean I don’t experience feelings when reading, I certainly do, but not what some people would describe as “ugly crying”.or “ugly sobbing”. When I was reading A Little Life last year, I wanted to hug Jude on several occasions, and wanted to punch the living daylights out of several characters in that novel who had mistreated him! Willem was my favourite from that novel.

Moonstone will still need to be a priority as it’s for book club. Mind you, it’s only short and I’m just over halfway through it at present, so that should be off the OC list fairly shortly, and I also think Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist is making good progress. It’s not that I’m not enjoying the others on the OC list, but maybe I’ve just been more in the mood for certain books rather than others.

So, with one book off the OC list, and with others soon to follow, we need to think about which fresh books or half-read books to add to the mix! Do we opt for Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy, particularly as it’s going to be made into a film? It has to be said that I’m not much of a cinema-goer anyway, so it’s not all that important to get something read before it appears at the flicks! It’s not that I don’t like films, I do, but I really have to get my arse in gear to go and see them, and it’s not really something I lose sleep over if I miss out on seeing something – I can always get it and watch it on DVD, and even then, I’ve got plenty of those I’ve not got around to watching yet!

I think it’s the matter of wondering if I really have a couple of hours to set aside for a film. A book can be picked up and put down and picked up again. Yes, I have read books in one sitting before now, but it’s been a long time since I did that with anything other than a kid’s book! I managed The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark in one go the other day, but that’s a children’s book, it had fewer than 100 pages!

Rainbow Book Tower March 2017

The Rainbow Book Tower

What I COULD do on the OC front is tackle that rainbow pile of books from pink-covered Stargirl at the top down to The Sisters Brothers whose spine serves as the “pot of gold” at the bottom! I could add the next book from that pile any time I need a new item of reading matter on the OC list. There are also some of the runners-up from the vote to become my “Wembley Book” for the EFL Cup Final last month, the vote which was won by The Pie at Night, which I have just finished. One of the runners-up on that front was The Lady and the Unicorn, by Tracy Chevalier, so that one should be given serious consideration.

If you recall my recent blog, I mentioned a book with a “mad-looking snowman” on the cover – the anonymously-penned Diary of an Oxygen Thief – well, I took the plunge and acquired it the other day, and it has become a Handbag Book, as has Headhunter, by Jade Jones, the Olympic Taekwondo Champion from 2012 and 1016. It’s from the Quick Reads series and was written after London 2012, but before Rio 2016. As it’s a very slim volume, I expect to get through that one fairly rapidly once I decide to make a start on it! I have a couple of “chunkies” on the OC list at present, so I don’t feel remotely bad about having one or two at the short end of the scale. I also managed to pick up a book in a sale the other day, but I have not yet read Eragon or Eldest, so Brisingr is a long way off being read! The fourth book of that series is Inheritance, but I don’t have a copy of that, and that’s not a major concern right now!

I am not sure if I mentioned this in previous blogs, but I recently received documentation calling me up for jury service in April, straight after Easter. My parents, and my late maternal grandparents, have done it, and if their experiences are anything to go by, I am hoping to get some epic reading done during the fortnight I expect to be fulfilling that obligation at the courts in town! Crime is not my usual genre when it comes to books, so it’s unlikely I’ll be reading anything of a legal persuasion, unless, perhaps, I choose to read Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood! That one’s in the rainbow tower, though, so if I decide to read books in order of coloured spines, there’d be three others I’d need to read before the Atwood!

Anyway, I think that’s about it for now! The pie has been eaten, but there are plenty more books on the menu, and it’s so hard to choose! I want a bit of everything on my plate, a sort of read-as-much-as-you-like buffet on the literary front, as it were! Hence the Ongoing Concerns – I can have a bit of YA, a bit of travel, some autobiography, and a couple of chunky helpings of general fiction… A food court but for books, so no matter what you’re in the mood for on the reading front, if you’ve got a few different types of books on your OC list, you can get on with whichever suits your mood at that time!

Until the next time I blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Pie at Night – Stuart Maconie
  • Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • Moonstone – Sjón
  • Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
  • Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy
  • The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark – Jill Tomlinson
  • Stargirl – Jerry Spinelli
  • The Sisters Brothers – Patrick deWitt
  • The Lady and the Unicorn – Tracy Chevalier
  • Diary of an Oxygen Thief – Anonymous
  • Headhunter – Jade Jones
  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini
  • Eldest – Christopher Paolini
  • Brisingr – Christopher Paolini
  • Inheritance – Christopher Paolini
  • Alias Grace – Margaret Atwood
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Childrens' Books, Food & Drink, Football, Handbag Books, Humour, List Challenges, Manc Stuff!, Music, Olympic Games, Ongoing Concerns, Travel, YA Books

Leave a Reply

