My Family and Other Bookworms

Family Photo March 2017

Ellie, me, Auntie Andrea with Reuben, Charlotte on Mum’s knee, and Auntie Jenny…

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

That photo was taken this afternoon after we’d got back from lunch. My aunties are two of Dad’s sisters, and they’ve been over to see him and also keep an eye on him, lol, and make sure he actually starts taking advice about his health and looking after himself! But they also came to meet up with the rest of us and have some lunch at Vintage Ambiance here in Monton, which was lovely! My aunties are bookworms, particularly Jenny, although she’s had a bit of a problem and needs to contact lost property because she left her Kindle on the plane! I hope she can get it back!

Reading to Reuben 2017

That’s not my tractor! Its engine is too bumpy…

Reuben was treated to some reading time while we were out, Ellie reading to him from That’s Not My Tractor, from the Usborne series of touchy-feely books for babies. Charlotte had quite a few of those books when she was a baby, and she is a right bookworm, so I hope her little brother will also have a love of reading. He certainly seemed to enjoy being read to by his mummy at Vintage Ambiance. I, for my part, borrowed Esio Trot, and have already read it! It’s a very quick read, actually, which is quite ironic given that it’s about tortoises, lol!

I’ve now got 12 books on the Goodreads Challenge for 2017. OK, I admit the last two were children’s books, but all books count! When your niece is a bookworm, you get to read her books as well as your own! It’s research – you need  to know what sort of stuff she’s into on the book front, so I make no bones about having some kids’ books on my Goodreads Challenge and therefore on my List Challenges lists! If family members are reading books, there’s every chance I will blog about it, no matter how young they are!

As well as making swift work of Esio Trot, there’s more progress on the Ongoing Concerns front from the past night or two. I’m over halfway through The Pie At Night now, 53% of it completed according to Goodreads, putting it level with I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic at the moment, and An Equal Music is now up to 68%, so I have 4 out of 7 books on the OC list which are over halfway on the reading front, the other being The Saffron Trail – that’s at 55% if my memory serves me well. This coming Tuesday will see a return to Tuesdays With Morrie as the main focus, see how much more progress I make on that. I am just over a quarter of the way through it already having only had one Tuesday session with it, so I hope to make more good progress in the week ahead.

Rainbow Book Tower March 2017

Reading Rainbow: Selection of books in one of my TBR piles…

What can I say about the above? I was bored, I saw a photo on Facebook of some books arranged in a rainbow, and decided to have another reshuffle of my book piles, lol! Actually, most of those were already in that particular pile, the only one I added was Prince, by Matt Thorne, as it had a purple spine and I needed that for my rainbow tower! The Sisters Brothers, by Patrick deWitt, is just underneath as the “pot of gold” at the end of the rainbow due to it having a gold spine! Technically speaking, The Sisters Brothers is a partially-read book, and also on my notorious Duplicate Books List, but all the other titles in that photo are definitely unread as yet!

Sisters Brothers

Great cover, isn’t it?! Funnily enough, my very good FB friend, Liz Craig, has borrowed The Sisters Brothers from her local library and is loving it thus far, and she said it was the cover which caught her eye. It is, I think, one of the best book covers I’ve seen in recent times, although another excellent one is that of Look Who’s Back, by Timur Vermes, which I read and enjoyed last year, and would definitely recommend!

Let’s have a look at some of the other books on that rainbow tower of reading matter… China Mieville gets two entries, as does Vanessa Greene. Technically speaking, so does Stephen King, as one of his books is lurking at the bottom of the photo under the “pot of gold” so we should include 11/22/63 as well as The Green Mile, which is definitely in the rainbow! The City and The City, and Un Lun Dun give Mieville his two entries in the book rainbow, while Greene‘s books are both on the theme of cuppas, with The Vintage Teacup Club, and The Seafront Tea Rooms appearing in this literary spectrum! Actually, mention of those books makes me want a cuppa, so if you don’t mind, I’ll just nip down and get a brew! Won’t be long…

* goes downstairs to put kettle on, returns with mug of tea… *

Right, back again! Sorry about that, but I made myself thirsty mentioning books about tea! That’s given me an idea for a themed blog, though, so stay tuned for that in the coming days!

Back to our reading rainbow and YA is well-represented in this colourful tower of books. At the top, with pink and red spines, we see Stargirl, by Jerry Spinelli, and Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, by Becky Albertalli. Then we have a couple amongst the yellow-spined books, with Boy Meets Boy, by David Levithan, and Eleanor & Park, by the aptly-named Rainbow Rowell – only right and fair that we had at least one book by Rainbow Rowell in a rainbow of books! Then, in the blue corner, as it were, we have Wonder, by R. J. Palacio, and Paper Towns by John Green. Those are NOT my only YA novels, either, there’s quite a bit more where that came from knocking around in my room for when I’ve finished a few more of my Ongoing Concerns, lol! There’s a couple of YA novels on the OC list as it is!

As I’ve said before, I’m in my 40s, I read YA books, and a flying shit is not given!

* flicks the Vs at any book snobs *

Anyway, back to our reading rainbow… There are three books outstanding we have not yet mentioned to complete our literary spectrum, and the first of those is Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood, with the fetching orange spine. I think I bought that one not long after I’d read the brilliant Burial Rites, by Hannah Kent,  so probably about 4 years ago now. Just below that one is Capital, by John Lanchester, and the one remaining book, with a blue spine, is English Passengers, by Matthew Kneale, one of those books I seem to have had for absolutely donkey’s years and really must get around to reading some time!

And that concludes the votes of the Swedish jury, as they used to say during the Eurovision Song Contest, lol! In other words, we’ve mentioned a considerable amount of books tonight! Lengthy reading list coming up! Therefore, I’ll bring this to a close for tonight, so until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • That’s Not My Tractor – Fiona Watt & Rachel Wells (Usborne series)
  • Esio Trot – Roald Dahl
  • The Pie At Night – Stuart Maconie
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  • The Saffron Trail – Rosanna Ley
  • Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom
  • Prince – Matt Thorne
  • The Sisters Brothers – Patrick deWitt
  • Look Who’s Back – Timur Vermes
  • 11/22/63 – Stephen King
  • The Green Mile – Stephen King
  • The City and The City – China Mieville
  • Un Lun Dun – China Mieville
  • The Vintage Teacup Club – Vanessa Greene
  • The Seafront Tea Rooms – Vanessa Greene
  • Stargirl  – Jerry Spinelli
  • Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli
  • Boy Meets Boy – David Levithan
  • Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell
  • Wonder – R. J. Palacio
  • Paper Towns – John Green
  • Alias Grace – Margaret Atwood
  • Burial Rites – Hannah Kent
  • Capital – John Lanchester
  • English Passengers – Matthew Kneale
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Childrens' Books, Duplicate Books List, Facebook & Other Social Media, Goodreads, Half-Finished Books, Junior Bookworms, My Bookworm History, Ongoing Concerns, The TBR Pile, YA Books

Leave a Reply

