All The Books We Cannot See

Ongoing Concerns 8th March 2017

The Ongoing Concerns – NOT missing books, obviously, lol!

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Don’t you just know it?! You do a blog, claiming that four of your books have gone walkies, and then, after you’ve published it, you’re checking off books on someone else’s list on List Challenges, and you remember there’s ANOTHER book you can’t bloody find! Typical! All The Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr, needs to be added to the infamous Missing Books List, which therefore takes our total to 5 at the moment and gives us the title for tonight’s blog!

  • The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
  • The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje
  • A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
  • Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher
  • All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

Oh, and this week is apparently British Pie Week – you learn something new every day, lol! I had a pie for my evening meal tonight, and in keeping with British Pie Week, I got a bit more of The Pie At Night read when I was out and about in town earlier, and intend to continue with it later, and probably at least for the rest of this week now I know how apt the title is! The other Ongoing Concerns can wait! Zlatan can bloody wait until after his next goal for us, lol! I love him, but he’s been a tad disappointing these past couple of matches, and he’s got a 3 match ban coming up domestically, although he’s still eligible in the Europa League even while he sits out FA Cup and Premier League matches. So, if he scores against Rostov next week in the 2nd leg, I shall get a bit more of I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic read! Plus, my sister has put in a request to read it after I’ve read it. Pull your socks up, Ibra, and give us a goal next Thursday, my Swedish chum!

I may have some missing books, but I noticed a few earlier, down the side of my bed, which I’d forgotten about, lol! I have found the illustrated edition of A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness, plus two books about the Olympic Games! Woo hoo! I don’t just read about Manchester United when it comes to books about sport, lol! The Olympics are a huge love of mine and have been since February 1984, when Torvill & Dean won gold for Great Britain in the ice dance at the Winter Olympics in Sarajevo. I have found The First London Olympics 1908, by Rebecca Jenkins, and The Games: A Global History of the Olympics, by David Goldblatt. A turn-up for the books, quite literally, lol! I am pretty chuffed, and it makes up at least a little for my Missing Books problem with certain other titles I own…

It’s all swings and roundabouts around here! You mislay some books, you find others…

Pretty sure some of the missing books will make a miraculous reappearance some time when I am looking for something else – maybe other books, maybe even something which has nothing to do with literature… As I said last night, though, it’s not as though I’ve not got any books on the go right now, is it?! I have seven Ongoing Concerns, so even though I would love to find the missing reading matter, it will have to wait a while to be read anyway!

I have got my copy of Round Ireland With a Fridge back, my dad had finished reading it when he was still in hospital, and I have recently lent my mum The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer. I’d read that one some years ago now for book club and really enjoyed it. Mum and I had been enjoying the recent BBC2 series Back In Time For Dinner, and I thought she’d like the book as she enjoyed that series. As for any other books of mine out on loan, I think there’s only Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, but I know that’s with my friend Sarah in Preston and has been for ages! Perhaps I should stop being such an utter Muggle and cast a summoning charm on it, lol?! Accio libro!

I, for my part, am going to have to ask my niece if I can borrow Esio Trot. I have read a few Roald Dahl books when I was a kid, as I’ve mentioned in previous blogs, but there are still quite a lot of his books I’ve not read, and I would quite like to read that one! I’ve read quite a lot of Charlotte’s books, actually! Some because I had a read when I was buying them for her, and others because I was round at my sister’s and Charlotte was showing me her books and recommending them to me! She is most definitely taking after me as a bookworm, she has been for years, even when she was still very much a baby! A couple of particular favourites of mine from the Junior Bookworm’s library are Hairy Maclary From Donaldson’s Dairy, by Lynley Dodd,  and The Day The Crayons Quit, by Drew Daywalt. My niece has some seriously awesome books!

Anyway, I feel the need, the need for tea! So, I shall head off to put the kettle on and make a brew, and get a bit more of The Pie At Night read! Until the next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr
  • The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
  • The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje
  • A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
  • Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher
  • The Pie At Night – Stuart Maconie
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
  • The First London Olympics 1908 – Rebecca Jenkins
  • The Games: A Global History of the Olympics – David Goldblatt
  • Round Ireland With a Fridge – Tony Hawks
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J. K. Rowling
  • Esio Trot – Roald Dahl
  • Hairy Maclary From Donaldson’s Dairy – Lynley Dodd
  • The Day The Crayons Quit – Drew Daywalt
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Childrens' Books, Computer Corner, Food & Drink, Football, Junior Bookworms, List Challenges, Literary Issues, My Bookworm History, Non-Fiction, Olympic Games, Ongoing Concerns, Sports, Television, The TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

