Book Reshuffles and a Medical Mystery

Book pile March 2017

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

That is just part of one of my book piles! Not necessarily the same books which came tumbling down a week or two ago when Henrikh Mkhitaryan scored against Leicester City, though, lol! I have book reshuffles. Politicians have cabinet reshuffles, I have book reshuffles! They serve several purposes. Part of it is to move books I’ve already read to less obvious places because it probably doesn’t matter if they’re out of sight. The other part is to shuffle unread or partially-read books up or down the pecking order.

The workings of my daft little brain go something like this…

Am I likely to want to read this book in the near future once I’ve finished with one of my Ongoing Concerns? Yes/No.

If yes, move the book up to near the top of a pile in a prominent place so that it receives frequent attention from yours truly.

If no, move the book down, or put it in a pile behind another pile so it isn’t obvious.

The other reason for book reshuffles is the often vain hope that some books which I’ve not been able to find turn up while I’m busy sorting other books out! Throughout my life, whenever I’ve been looking for anything, I’ve usually found the previous thing I’d been looking for!

Anyway, I’ve had a book reshuffle, and some of my YA novels have risen to the surface of the Book Pile. This does not include Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, as that has become a Handbag Book and an Ongoing Concern. As Finding Audrey is also an Ongoing Concern, that means there are two YA novels in my current reads “inbox”. Yes, I’m 43, will be 44 next month, yes I read YA novels. I cordially invite people to deal with it as zero f**ks are given! Do one, book snobs!

That brings me on to my next bit, as there’s this book which appeals to me very much, although I don’t own a copy as yet. It is called The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k, by Sarah Knight, a book which talks of setting a “f**k budget” so you can work out how many f**ks you can actually afford to give about anything or anyone! Sounds like a brilliant idea, although I already know not to bother giving an airborne copulation about certain things and certain people – a certain infamous family of z-list attention-whores springs to mind… one of whom is married to an arrogant arsehole of a “rapper” who is deliberately-ignorant and thinks not reading books is something to be proud of. He is completely wrong, of course!

Alongside the two YA novels, we have the two chunkies in our Ongoing Concerns, those being An Equal Music and The Saffron Trail. I am just over halfway through both of those, as I also am with I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic. Even though I only started The Pie At Night when I was on my way to Wembley for the EFL Cup Final just over a week ago, I am a third of the way through that one already. I got quite a lot of that read on Thursday when I was out and about, particularly as I was going to Wythenshawe Hospital to see my dad. He is home now, he came home on Saturday evening, so he is back in Macclesfield.

When I say chunkies, I’m talking of substantially large books, 400 pages or more, although the two chunkies I’ve currently got in my literary inbox are not as big as others I’ve read in my time! I mean, they’re still slim compared to A Little Life, which I read last  year, lol! That one was 720 pages! A really good read, I enjoyed it enormously, even if I did want to punch certain characters’ lights out for what they did to Jude in that novel, and even if I did end up with an epic Book Hangover after I’d finished reading it!

A Little Life was probably my favourite fiction read of 2016, but I’d say my favourite non-fiction was When Breath Becomes Air, by Paul Kalanithi, and I am now trying to enlist help on Facebook again, but in order to try and figure out the title and author of a book I saw on FB the other day, and all I can remember is that it was by a heart surgeon and it was about his job. I think the subtitle had something to do with life and death on the operating table, but I can’t remember the title or author! Aargh! I want to read a book and can’t remember enough details about it! Not just because I enjoyed Kalanithi’s book last year, but also because this book is by a heart surgeon, and my dad has just had a double heart bypass operation, of course, so it is hugely relevant!

*  tries Goodreads, putting in what sounds like the subtitle… *

Ah, thank you, Goodreads! Seems it’s called Fragile Lives: A Heart Surgeon’s Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table, by Stephen Westaby. I will have to give it some serious consideration. But, as with the book about not giving a f**k, I don’t own a copy as yet, so that’s one for the future, really. Back to books I actually own…

I mentioned Tuesdays With Morrie in my previous blog, and tomorrow is Tuesday, so perhaps I should have it as my Tuesday book, lol! I don’t read certain books on set days, though, I just read what I like when I’m in the mood for it, which is why I have several books on the go at any one time! That started in my student days, in my case, and I never got back to reading one book at a time even after I graduated from university in 1994. However, it seems my niece, Charlotte, has already chosen the multiple book option, and she’s only six and a half and in Year 2 at primary school! Junior Bookworm has started early!

Anyway, with the medical mystery solved, I think that’s about all for now. Until the next time I blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
  • Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella
  • The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k – Sarah Knight
  • An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  • The Saffron Trail – Rosanna Ley
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • The Pie At Night – Stuart Maconie
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • When Breath Becomes Air – Paul Kalanithi
  • Fragile Lives: A Heart Surgeon’s Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table – Stephen Westaby
  • Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom
Leave a comment

Filed under Autobiography/Biography, Books, Facebook & Other Social Media, Goodreads, Junior Bookworms, Literary Issues, Non-Fiction, Ongoing Concerns, Rants, The TBR Pile, Travel, YA Books

Leave a Reply

