A Large Slice of Pie…

book-selfie-march-2017

A large slice of Pie – I’m a third of the way through it already…

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Yep, that’s me having a read earlier! I’m not in costume, but my niece went in to school dressed as Verruca Salt from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, so I shall be returning to World Book Day later. I’m loving The Pie At Night! Never really any fear that I wouldn’t, though, bearing in mind I loved Pies and Prejudice when I read that one some years ago. I think my friend Sarah would like this one, especially as Stuart Maconie is from Wigan, and he mentions the legendary rugby league team quite a bit in chapter 2. Sarah is a massive Wigan fan and used to go to the rugby on a regular basis back in the day.

I was having lunch at the time I took the book selfie, although I also got a large chunk of it read while I was on trams! As I mentioned in my previous blog, I went to visit my dad while he is still in Wythenshawe Hospital. He goes home tomorrow, back to Macclesfield. I would probably have to get to town, then get a train out to Macc. Not been on a train in this country for absolutely donkey’s years! Been on trains abroad more recently than that! The last time I actually went on a train here in the UK was my last-ever school trip, in June 1989, when we went down to London to see Les Miserables! 28 years ago this summer, as I was 16 back then!

Beside the book, the other thing in my hand in the photo is my EFL Cup Final ticket! I do have actual proper bookmarks, and I have made a fair few of my own, particularly cross-stitched ones, but anything goes as far as bookmarks are concerned – match tickets, concert tickets, expired bus and tram passes, postcards, swing tickets from items of clothing… Need to work on a design for a League Cup bookmark. Will have to do it a bit differently to my FA Cup one, as we’ve won that silverware 12 times, compared to 5 times for the League Cup under its various sponsorships.

This year marked 50 years since the League Cup started, way back in 1967, although that still makes it a very young tournament in footballing terms! United didn’t even win it until the 25th anniversary in 1992 when Brian McClair’s goal won us the then Rumbelows Cup at the old Wembley against Nottingham Forest. The final was in April back then, but in subsequent years, it has been creeping forward in the footballing calendar and tends to be in late February or early March. Then it was a big wait until 2006, by which time it was the Carling Cup, and the finals were still being held at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff while Wembley was being rebuilt. We stuffed Wigan Athletic 4-0 in that one!

And then came a return to Wembley, as the new stadium was opened, which looks like a giant basket, as I may have mentioned previously, lol! United won back to back League Cups, still sponsored by Carling at the time, if I recall rightly, in 2009 against Tottenham Hotspur, and 2010 against Aston Villa. So, that’s 1992, 2006, 2009 and 2010 accounted for, and, of course, there was our 5th League Cup victory on Sunday against Southampton, thanks to Zlatan Ibrahimovic getting our winner with 3 minutes to go and sparing us the extra time! Cheers, Ibra! We returned home from Wembley in record time, lol, and I got a significant amount of Premier League Years 1992/93 read on my Kindle on the coach journey back to Old Trafford!

charlotte-verruca-salt-march-2017

Verruca Salt and a very hungry caterpillar…

As I promised above, let’s get back to World Book Day, and my niece went in to her primary school as Verruca Salt, complete with her Golden Ticket for admission to Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory! Not to be left out, even my baby nephew, Reuben, had a Very Hungry Caterpillar bib on, and it seems Charlotte was going to read the story to him after school, which I’m sure she will have done, as she loves reading to her baby brother!

As well as loving books, Charlotte is also very partial to chocolate – she’s definitely taking after her auntie! 😀 I gave her the box set of Roald Dahl books for Christmas, as I may have mentioned – I’d been waiting to give it to her for years – I actually bought it in Chorlton some time around 2011 when she was just a baby, but I thought it would do for when she was older, and that is definitely the case! One of the ones she’s mentioned is Esio Trot, which is one I’ve not yet read. It is tortoise backwards, and it is about tortoises, from what I know of the story.

wazza-kids-horrid-henrys

Even the offspring of the famous get in on the act for World Book Day, these two Horrid Henrys being Kai and Klay Rooney, two of Wayne’s sons!

As those who know me on Facebook will testify, I share a lot of book-related stuff on there! One of the things I shared earlier was a selection of heart-warming books mentioned in a post by Vaillant UK – they actually make and install boilers, lol, but they were getting in on the whole World Book Day thing. My sister commented that she had Tuesdays With Morrie, by Mitch Albom, from that list, and I replied that I also have a copy of that book. Does absolutely everybody have a copy of Tuesdays With Morrie?! Must get around to reading it some time. Maybe even some time this year. I picked up another of his recently – The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto, which appealed to me due to the musical theme.

Well, I shall get this published while it is still 2nd March, so the World Book Day thing is still relevant. Until my next blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
  • The Pie at Night – Stuart Maconie
  • Pies and Prejudice – Stuart Maconie
  • Premier League Years 1992/93 – Andrew Hyslop
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle
  • Esio Trot – Roald Dahl
  • Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom
  • The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto – Mitch Albom
Leave a comment

Filed under Childrens' Books, Football, Humour, Junior Bookworms, Non-Fiction, Travel, World Book Day

Leave a Reply

