Final Reckoning…

5-book-shortlist-feb-2017

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Been to see my dad earlier, physios are getting him walking already, they took him for a walk around the ward while we were there. I’ve lent him Round Ireland With a Fridge, although I have advised him that maybe he should leave it for a while – it is very funny, but he is very sore after his bypass, especially his ribs, so it might hurt too much if he’s laughing his head off at Tony Hawks hitch -hiking his way around Ireland, domestic appliance in tow! Plus, he has the absolutely massive Max Hastings book to be getting on with, which my sister’s partner has lent him – The Secret War. As I said the other day, seems history books are seriously chunky whether fact or fiction!

Anyway, on to the matter in hand, and that is the list of books I gave you yesterday, a selection of 15 books, pretty broad spread of reading matter across those books, and enlisted your help here on my blog, and on Facebook, so I would like to thank the following people who have made comments, either on here, on the Waterstone’s group, or on my timeline… Liz Craig, Sharon Ledger, Samantha Lidster, Darren Perks, Cornelia Jolitz, Lynda Cosgrove, Ellie Dixon-Jackson, Karen E MacKenzie, Liz Murphy, and Steve Hoar.

Between all those helpers, five different books from my list of 15 were named at least once, which means I was able to whittle things down to a shortlist of five books, those being…

  • The Pie At Night – Stuart Maconie
  • The Lady and the Unicorn – Tracy Chevalier
  • Mort – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Land of the Midnight Sun – Alexander Armstrong
  • Fishbowl – Bradley Somer

I think that’s given me a pretty decent and mixed shortlist, and one where I’d work my way through all five books, but I have to start with one of them, there has to be a winner which comes in my handbag and travels to Wembley with me tomorrow.

The only vote on this blog was for The Lady and the Unicorn.

On my Facebook timeline, the two friends who expressed a preference opted for The Pie At Night.

So, on to my group, I’d Spend All Day In Waterstone’s If I Could Get Away With It… who said what on there? There was one mention for Fishbowl, courtesy of my sister, and two mentions each for Mort, The Pie At Night, The Lady and the Unicorn, and Land of the Midnight Sun. Overall, across social media, that means that Fishbowl received one vote, Mort and Land of the Midnight Sun received two votes each, The Lady and the Unicorn received three, but the overall winner, with four different nominees, was The Pie At Night, by Stuart Maconie. There you go – the pies have it, lol!

Oops! There was also a mention, on the Waterstone’s group, for Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn, but as that only received a single vote, I will get around to it later, as I will with Fishbowl.

So, Stuart Maconie’s exploration of what the north does for fun will become a Handbag Book, and will travel down to Wembley with me tomorrow for the League Cup Final. Tracy Chevalier’s novel will become an ongoing concern the next time I finish any of my current books, and then the others I’ve mentioned on here tonight will come in to the equation sooner or later, lol!

I’m off to do a bit of reading and a bit of sorting ahead of tomorrow, so, until next time I get in touch with another blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this book blog other than the shortlisted ones…

  • Round Ireland With a Fridge – Tony Hawks
  • The Secret War – Max Hastings
  • Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist – David Levithan & Rachel Cohn

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, European Literature, Fantasy Fiction, Football, Goodreads, Handbag Books, Historical Fiction, Humour, Non-Fiction, The TBR Pile, Travel

Leave a Reply

