The History Book On The Shelf…

abba-very-best-of

“The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself…” – Waterloo.

Good afternoon, fellow Bookworms!

Or, should that be… God eftermiddag, andra bokmalar!

Had to look that one up, mind! I’ve studied French, German and Spanish in my time, plus I know a fair bit of Italian (a lot of musical terms are in Italian), bits and bobs of other languages, and a bit of British Sign Language, but I’m not all that familiar with Swedish!

Anyway, it seems that the Cheeto-faced, ferret-wearing shitgibbon thinks there was some sort of incident in Sweden the other day, and pretty much the whole of Sweden has tweeted to say this is nonsense, and that absolutely nowt has happened! I think the real reason that Washington Wiggy thinks something has happened in Sweden is because his tiny little brain, or what passes for one, cannot handle the fact that Swedes believe in treating EVERYONE decently, not just rich white (or should that be orange) blokes!

Anyway, as they have been on the receiving end of some of President Fart’s bullshit, it’s time to show our support for our Swedish chums by getting some Abba on and reading books by Swedes! Well, I’m halfway through I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, so that certainly counts! I also have The Very Best of Abba, as shown above. As it’s a book of sheet music, it counts on this blog!

swede-reads

A few of my Swede reads, and sheet music for Abba.

I wish I knew where the hell A Man Called Ove has got to! I know I have that bloody book, somewhere, but I can’t seem to find it right now! Anyway, if we’re going to read the Swedes, Fredrik Backman is just one author we can call upon.

If it’s crime you’re after, which is not really what I’m usually after, but if this is your cup of tea, there’s the Millennium Trilogy by the late Stieg Larsson, comprising of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest. There’s also Camilla Lackberg if it’s crime fiction you’re after, although I can’t name any of her books offhand. Crime’s not my genre, so I know of the author, but not of her books. Doesn’t stop any of you from doing your research and checking some out, though! Apparently, her first novel was The Ice Princess, first published in 2003 in Swedish, translated into English in 2008. So, there’s one of her books for you!

As I tend more towards humour, and I can’t put my hands on A Man Called Ove right now, I do have a few others in which I could consider on the Swede Reads front, including a couple by Jonas Jonasson, who does seem to go in for quite long titles, particularly with his debut novel, The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. I also have Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All, by the same author. I don’t have The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, but that’s another of his.

In a similar vein to Jonasson’s debut novel about pensioners behaving badly, lol, I also have The Little Old Lady Who Broke All The Rules, by Catharina Ingleman-Sundberg. Apparently, there’s a sequel, The Little Old Lady Who Struck Lucky Again!

swedish-chef-vurt-da-furk

I know! We’re just as baffled as you are, mate…

So, that’s quite a bit of Swedish fiction for you to be getting on with while we wait for the Mango Mussolini’s next gaffe when he spouts some more “alternative facts” (or “utter bollocks”, as a bunch of big fat fibs is usually known round here) about some other country where people have the nerve to treat their fellow human beings in a decent manner! I mean, fancy that! People treating each other decently, no matter what, and not just if they’re some rich white fella… no wonder the Tango-tinted tosser can’t get his badly-bewigged head around that concept!

Then again, with a bit of luck, he might be impeached soon enough. Or sectioned under the mental health act, or whatever the equivalent is on the other side of the Atlantic… Let’s face it, he is certainly not in touch with reality! Not entirely sure that Mr Fart and the real world have ever been formally introduced!

Let’s all keep our fingers crossed that he is stopped before he either insults, or at least baffles, some other unfortunate nation! In the meantime, we stand with our Swedish friends, and we’re digging the Dancing Queen, lol!

I’m off to watch highlights of Zlatan, our Swedish hero, scoring our winner against Blackburn Rovers in the FA Cup 5th round yesterday! Until the next blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Trevlig läsning! (Happy reading in Swedish)

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • The Very Best of Abba – Benny Andersson & Bjorn Ulvaeus (sheet music)
  • A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire – Stieg Larsson
  • The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest – Stieg Larsson
  • The Ice Princess – Camilla Lackberg
  • The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson
  • Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All – Jonas Jonasson
  • The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden – Jonas Jonasson
  • The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules – Catharina Ingleman-Sundberg
  • The Little Old Lady Who Struck Lucky Again! – Catharina Ingleman-Sundberg
Leave a comment

Filed under Arsehole Politicians, Authors, Autobiography/Biography, Books, European Literature, Football, Foreign Languages, Music

Leave a Reply

