Love Is In The Air…

introvert-doodles-book-valentine

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

I love Marzi’s “Introvert Doodles” cartoons, and that one really fits the bill for bookworms on Valentine’s Day, lol! I might just curl up with the love of my life before the night is over – perhaps get a bit more of An Equal Music read, for instance!

This probably won’t be a long blog, yesterday’s was pretty massive, with my 12 books for my 12 year old self theme, so this is a fairly short bookish Valentine blog. Thing is, books ARE one of the loves of my life, along with Manchester United, chocolate and music! Oh, and food. Can’t forget food! And a good cup of tea…

* nips off downstairs to make a brew *

* returns with a mug of tea and a couple of Jammie Dodgers *

Ah, sorry, yes, where were we? The loves of my life… Books, obviously, plus MUFC, chocolate, music, food, the Olympic Games – talking of which, it’s 33 years ago today since Jayne Torvill & Christopher Dean won gold at the 1984 Winter Olympics in Sarajevo, skating to Ravel’s Bolero. I have the orchestral score of that, actually. Picked it up from the second-hand book stall which came to my uni…

That isn’t even the first orchestral score or book of sheet music to be mentioned on this blog, either! To me, if it’s in book form, it can be mentioned and listed on here, so musical compositions are included! The first score to figure in these blogs was Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphony, and I was blogging about my days at school and college at the time, because I was actually following the score for that music in the library at Eccles College when I was a teenager! Well, we should give that one its proper title… Symphony No. 6 in F Major. Pastoral Symphony is merely the nickname!

Lonely Hunter 1

* blind date with a book, from last year *

Wonder if Waterstone’s had any Blind Date With a Book events again this year for Valentine’s Day? Those are a good idea for book stores. They wrap several books up, usually identically, and just put a small clue on the paper or on a tag, and you buy a mystery book and find out what it is when you get it home and unwrap it. Perhaps some clues might be easy to guess, but other books might be a complete surprise, and it’s a good way for a store to get people to buy a book they might not normally consider. For example, you might normally read romance, or perhaps historical fiction, but you open your blind date book and you’ve got science fiction…

The above one was from last year, and turned out to be The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, by Carson McCullers. Not got around to reading it yet, though.

Talking of Waterstone’s as I was, seems another lucky guy got locked in a branch of the book store chain the other day! Pretty sure I mentioned a similar incident at a branch in London a year or so ago, and this one has also happened somewhere down south, I think. Jammy bugger! Don’t know what he was moaning about – I’d love to get locked in at Waterstone’s! Overnight at the Deansgate branch, preferably! Well, if I’d remembered to bring my phone charger with me, anyway, lol! I can always kip on one of the sofas overnight!

With advance apologies for an un-asterisked expletive in the next photo, but I saw this and it made me lmao…

voldemort-valentine-ecard

Well, it amused me, but then again, I am a Potterhead, lol!

I can’t seem to find it as yet on a Google image search, but I think it was a Purple Ronnie card from donkey’s years ago, we’re talking back in the early or mid 90s, I think, during my student days, when I first became a match-going Red, but it would make a good Valentine’s Day card for fellow football fans, regardless of allegiance… it went something like this…

Football is your passion, you really give it your all…

The true romance in your life is eleven men and a ball!

I am pretty sure I had a card or postcard with that on, back in my student days, lol! Probably lurking around somewhere. In a box in the garage, or somewhere like that. Anyway, as I said earlier, I’m going to get a bit of reading in, so I shall love you and leave you for now. I did say this was just a short one tonight! Until the next blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  • Bolero – Maurice Ravel (orchestral score)
  • Symphony No 6 in F Major (Pastoral) – Ludwig van Beethoven (orchestral score)
  • The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter – Carson McCullers
Leave a comment

Filed under Blind Date With A Book, Books, Music, My Bookworm History, Olympic Games

Leave a Reply

