Where I’m Reading From…

book-reader-1

Good evening, fellow Bookworms, and here is the news…

I finished reading I Know This Much, Gary Kemp‘s autobiography, this evening, so I will be able to return both that book and Faster Than Lightning, by Usain Bolt, to my friend Sarah when she comes here next Sunday for the Pet Shop Boys gig at the Arena in town. Absolutely loved both books, so ta very much, Sarah, and I’m looking forward to reading Not Dead Yet, by Phil Collins!

(As I mentioned in a recent blog, I have seen that one a few times on display at Waterstone’s and really fancied it, so I was very excited when she said she’d lend me that one next!)

Finishing Kemp’s book means I now have 8 books on my Goodreads Challenge for 2017. 22 to go to my initial total of 30. Doing alright so far, but then again I could say the same about last year’s challenge until I read A Little Life, lol! It all went a bit Pete Tong after that! Certainly as far as fiction was concerned, anyway, even if I did get a few items of non-fiction read after I’d finished Hanya Yanagihara‘s epic novel!

I’ve started dipping in to If I Could Tell You Just One Thing, compiled by Richard Reed, and it is the sort of book to dip in and out of, as it’s just full of bits of advice from countless people, some of whom I’ve certainly heard about, although there are a few I don’t have a clue about! OK, I’m hardly far into it, but I do like Stephen Fry’s advice about ignoring all life-coach advice as it’s all snake oil without exception! I’ve often felt that way myself. Self-help books might help a lot of other people, but I find them to be a crock of ableist shite! I am certain that the writers of those books ASSume that all their readers are 100% perfectly fit and able-bodied, because they do NOT take any sort of disability into account, either visible or invisible!

I think someone with a hidden condition would have to write something, then perhaps many of us could relate to the experience, especially if the writer expresses how frustrating and tiresome the whole experience is! If he or she wrote about how pissed-off they were with the over-high expectations others have of you because you look “normal”, and the accusations they hurl at you – accusations of making things up, not trying hard enough, not wanting to do whatever it is they were suggesting – and the way they make you feel as though it might be a good idea to get a copy of your medical records and highlight the parts which mention your disability and the effects it has on you and giving out copies to the disbelieving arseholes to shut them up! You shouldn’t have to feel like you need to present proof, but what else can you do when arseholes won’t believe you? Sick to death of not being believed! Especially about this matter.

I am not remotely sorry for this rant. I am beyond pissed-off with this sort of crap! Not my bloody fault my stupid body considers a lot of physical activities to be “unreasonable requests” is it?! Do you think I chose to be like this? To have a gland that doesn’t bloody work? I would LOVE to be able to do the same stuff as many other people, but no matter how hard I tried, and I DID bloody try throughout my childhood, MY STUPID BODY DID NOT WANT TO KNOW! Got that?! So the likes of Helen Adams, and all the other thoughtless, insensitive, tactless arseholes I’ve had to put up with in my life, can take their accusations and they can shove them up their f***in’ arses. Sideways!

Perhaps they should keep their gobs shut and their thoughts to themselves from now on? Before I end this rant, just a quick thought for these idiots to ponder on… the thyroid gland can stop working at any time in a person’s life, so there’s always the possibility that others could end up with at least a taste of some of the crap I’ve had to put up with in my life just because one tiny gland in my neck has never seen fit to work since I was a baby…

* ends rant and returns to books *

List Challenges have done it again, damn them! I was looking at someone’s list and checking books off, and I came across one called Don’t Know Much About History, which is a non-fiction book about the history of the USA by Kenneth C Davis, and I started singing “Wonderful World” by Sam Cooke!

Don’t know much about history, don’t know much biology…

Don’t know much about a science book, don’t know much about the French I took…

But I do know that I love you, and I know that if you love me too

What a wonderful world this would be!

Stop it, List Challenges, you keep giving me book titles which remind me of songs! You’ll regret this, lol! I’ve already had “True” by Spandau Ballet on my brain for the past few weeks. Anyway, I do know a fair bit about history, as half my degree was in the subject, the other half was in literature as I’ve probably mentioned in previous blogs, and I know some of the French I took, as I did study it to A Level! OK, I went right off French at A Level, having loved it when I was doing my GCSEs, but I did appreciate French once again in November 1992 when United signed a certain bushy-eyebrowed French centre-forward from Leeds for a bargain £1.2m! Ooh aah…

I wasn’t that fussed about the biology, or any science, really, though! Well, I liked certain aspects of it, like making lightbulbs light up in physics, but I was only ever average at science subjects and didn’t really want to have to take any for my exams, didn’t see the point as I wasn’t going to use physics, chemistry or biology after I’d left school. Dad was the scientist in our family, and worked for a chemical firm until his retirement in 2010.

You may recall, a blog entry or two ago, the mention of a book promoted on Facebook by the Premier League Years page – well, the other day, they were promoting it again as the Kindle version was on offer for free! Yep! Premier League Years 1992/93: The Story of the Inaugural Premier League Season, by Andrew Hyslop, was available for absolutely nowt! So, you won’t be surprised to learn that I have downloaded it on my Kindle, and that it is in serious consideration for being read on my way to Wembley when I go to the League Cup Final later this month!

The ongoing concerns are still I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, An Equal Music, and The Saffron Trail, but now I’ve finished Kemp’s book, my thoughts turn to either starting a new book or returning to another partially-read one. There are always several books on the go, which dates back to my student days when this was necessary for my literature modules. Pretty sure that, before I went to uni, I read one book at a time, but that has not happened since the early 90s, lol! Probably 1991, before I started university that autumn! If I read anything else at the same time as books, it would probably only have been magazines back then, most likely Smash Hits during my teens, or copies of Literally, the regular publication of the Pet Shop Boys’ fan club, which was sent out 3 times a year, I think.

After a bit of thought on the title front, I’ve settled for Where I’m Reading From for the title of today’s blog, but it is also a book by Tim Parks, which is hanging around somewhere in this room, and I could always start that one. I do like books about books, as you may have noticed, lol! He also wrote the excellent A Season With Verona, which I read some years ago now and loved. Then again, it was about football, and also a travel book about Italy at the same time, so that’s probably why I loved it so much!

Well, I shall go and have a look at the Tim Parks book, and perhaps a few other options, and I shall finish this for now. Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this book blog…

  • I Know This Much – Gary Kemp
  • Faster Than Lightning – Usain Bolt
  • Not Dead Yet – Phil Collins
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • If I Could Tell You Just One Thing – Richard Reed
  • Don’t Know Much About History – Kenneth C. Davis
  • Premier League Years 1992/93 – Andrew Hyslop
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  • The Saffron Trail – Rosanna Ley
  • Where I’m Reading From – Tim Parks
  • A Season With Verona – Tim Parks
Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Autobiography/Biography, Books, E-Books & Audiobooks, Football, Foreign Languages, Goodreads, List Challenges, Music, Rants

Leave a Reply

