A Solid Bass…

bass-amp-and-books-feb-2017

Amping up my reading: books on top of my bass amp…

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

I have been thinking that maybe I should do some themed blogs, and the idea behind this one is to take a particular pile of books and see what we have in that pile, and whether I have read them yet or not… My book piles are very random, although a lot of them which are resting on my bass amp are hardbacks. Even when I’m not attempting to play my bass, the amp serves as a useful surface for storing a tower of reading matter, lol, so let’s see what’s what…

Starting at the bottom, we have Accordion Crimes, by E. Annie Proulx. A charity shop book, I think it was from the Oxfam shop in town, not yet read, but bought on the grounds that it had a musical theme. Above that, we have another charity shop bargain in The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern. A true bargain that one, a mere pound at the British Heart Foundation shop on Salford Precinct, if I remember rightly! Read a tiny bit of it, but really need to give it a good go sometime.

Above those two books, I have two partially-read autobiographies. Anger Is An Energy, by John Lydon, and Leading, by Sir Alex Ferguson, both of which I really need to get on with, lol!

The Trouble With Goats and Sheep, by Joanna Cannon, is above those two. I bought that one last year when I met her at a book event at Waterstone’s on Deansgate, so that’s a signed copy. Again, partially-read, and need to get on with it. Story of my life with a lot of my books, lmao!

Now we actually come to a couple of books which I HAVE read! Couple of autobiographies. When Breath Becomes Air, by Paul Kalanithi, which was the best non-fiction book I read last year. Fascinating and very moving. The other is The Rules of The Game, by Pierluigi Collina, the former referee, a fascinating insight into being a football official and how he got into reffing. One of the few referees I’ve ever liked! Of course, as I’m a die-hard Red, I remember him best for refereeing the European Cup Final at the Nou Camp on 26th May 1999 – the best night of my life!

Above Collina’s autobiography is The Essex Serpent, by Sarah Perry. As yet unread. Really nice cover, though. Just above that book are two more unread novels, signed copies by Jessie Burton now, as I met her last year – did a few author events last year. I already had a hardback copy of The Miniaturist, her first novel, which I think I bagsied as a freebie at a previous book club meeting a few years ago, but last year she brought out her second book, The Muse, so I got a ticket and went to the event, bought that book, and had both books signed, as I’d brought The Miniaturist with me.

Faster Than Lightning, by Usain Bolt, is next up. This is one of two autobiographies which I will be returning to my friend Sarah very shortly. I read this one towards the end of last year. Really good read.

The White Queen, by Philippa Gregory, is next. I think I got that from a church fair for 50p if I’m not mistaken, so should be regarded in the same way as the charity shop bargains. Not read it yet. Nice cover, though. There are a couple more hardbacks to come, but we have a few paperbacks up next…

World Without End, by Ken Follett starts the paperback part of the stack. A nice chunky one upon which you can balance more books! Won’t be reading that for a while, as it’s the second of two books, and they’re both epics, even by historical fiction standards of chunkiness, so it’ll be some time before I get around to that!

A few half-read books up next, which I’d put on the bass amp pile to make them more noticeable to me. There’s Only Two David Beckhams, by John O’Farrell, A Street Cat Named Bob, by James Bowen, Catch 22, by Joseph Heller, and White Line Fever, by Lemmy, which is rather apt, really, as the late Motorhead frontman was a bassist as well as a singer.

Jamrach’s Menagerie, by Carol Birch, is up next, and I have recently finished that one, so that’s one book off the half-read books list!

Then we have Ghostwritten, by David Mitchell, and Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, by Louis de Bernieres, which are still half-read books. Did try to continue with the Mitchell the other night, but it was a case of wrong book and/or wrong time, as it just wasn’t doing anything for me listening to the audiobook. Perhaps another time, I will pick it up again and it will be the right time for it.

And, finally, back to a couple of hardbacks, both autobiographies. Twin Ambitions, by the recently-knighted Sir Mo Farah, which was a charity shop bargain. It did set me back three quid, a bit pricey for a charity shop book, but for a hardback, that’s still fairly decent, and on the very top of the pile, just like his song “True” in 1983, is Gary Kemp of Spandau Ballet fame, with his autobiography, I Know This Much, which is the other book Sarah lent me, so I am getting that one read and will be returning it to her very soon.

So, there you have it… a pile of 22 books, and quite a mixture amongst them. A mixture of fact and fiction, hardback and paperback, a mixture of genres, and of subject matters, and a mix of the read, partially-read and unread! Of the non-fiction, we have books from 3 musicians, two athletes, a former football manager, a former referee, a sadly-deceased former surgeon, and a homeless guy with a cat! Yeah, quite a collection, and pretty diverse, I would say! Even amongst the musicians we have heavy rock, punk and pop, and the athletes on the list cover the two extremes of distance, as we have Usain Bolt, the sprinter, and Sir Mo Farah, the long-distance runner! We have an ex-manager and an ex-referee representing football in that pile of books, plus John O’Farrell’s work of comic fiction which name-checks a former footballer in its title, although it implies there’s two of him.

So, I think that brings our list of books on the bass amp to a close. I’m just glad it wasn’t those books which saw fit to fall over at the weekend when Henrikh Mkhitaryan scored our opening goal at Leicester! That would have caused a large thud, as most of the Bass Amp Book Pile are hardbacks! Until my next blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Accordion Crimes – E. Annie Proulx
  • The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
  • Anger Is An Energy – John Lydon
  • Leading – Sir Alex Ferguson
  • The Trouble With Goats and Sheep – Joanna Cannon
  • When Breath Becomes Air – Paul Kalanithi
  • The Rules of The Game – Pierluigi Collina
  • The Essex Serpent – Sarah Perry
  • The Muse – Jessie Burton
  • The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
  • Faster Than Lightning – Usain Bolt
  • The White Queen – Philippa Gregory
  • World Without End – Ken Follett
  • There’s Only Two David Beckhams – John O’Farrell
  • A Street Cat Named Bob – James Bowen
  • Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  • White Line Fever – Lemmy
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie – Carol Birch
  • Ghostwritten  – David Mitchell
  • Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis de Bernieres
  • Twin Ambitions – Sir Mo Farah
  • I Know This Much: From Soho To Spandau – Gary Kemp
Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Autobiography/Biography, Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Football, Free Books, Half-Finished Books, Historical Fiction, Music, My Bookworm History, Non-Fiction, Sports, The TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

