Books Come Tumbling Down..

tsundoku

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

This is how it was earlier… It must have been heading for quarter to five this evening, as it was getting near the end of the first half at the King Power Stadium, with my beloved United away to Leicester City… I checked the One Football app on my iPad… we were enjoying the lion’s share of possession against the Foxes, but at the time, it was 0-0 despite me having drawn one of my notorious goal diagrams on the back of an envelope, lol…

I’m on the admin team of a footy group on Facebook, and I was about to comment that United were dominating possession, but they really needed to do something with it…

And they did. I get a goal alert! Leicester City 0 Manchester United 1.

Henrikh Mkhitaryan had scored for us on 42 minutes!

Yessss….. and then… “Oh f**k!” as a pile of books falls over! Aargh! Not just one pile, but two of them, with one book even falling down the back of my radiator! Oh bugger! That is going to be an arseache to retrieve, I think, as I stand there surveying the fallen reading matter…

Another goal alert a minute later…

Zlatan Ibrahimovic doubles our lead! Leicester City 0 Manchester United 2!

My team are winning two-nil away from home against the defending champions, but I have books all over the bloody show! Plus, I’m going to have to shift a few other containers to get to the book which has fallen down the back of my radiator! So, that’s what I end up doing at half-time! At least that gave me 15 minutes to get as much of the book avalanche sorted out, and rescue The Red Tent, by Anita Diamant, before the game resumed and there was soon to be another goal alert as  Juan Mata made it 3-0 about 4 minutes into the second half!

The scoreline remained 3-0 for the rest of the match as I found a CD I was going to lend to my mum, retrieved the aforementioned novel from behind the radiator, and piled the books up again, hopefully more sturdily. There is a slight difference in my book piles compared to the Japanese definition of a tsundoku, though. That is just for unread books. My book towers are rather more complicated than that, as they are generally a mixture of books I’ve read, books I’ve partially read and the unread books as well.

After last night’s blog, I got to thinking about my books, particularly in terms of really long and really short books, and am in the process of compiling a couple of lists for future publication on List Challenges, where one is for the really long books of 500 pages or more, and the other list is for the short ones, books which have fewer than 200 pages. I might have to do another list, though, for those which have just under 500 pages, the medium-sized books, lol! Books such as An Equal Music, by Vikram Seth, which I got stuck into last night having already made considerable progress with I Know This Much, and also with Chronicle of a Death Foretold.

I have had An Equal Music for ages, picked it up from a charity shop for a quid, which is not uncommon amongst my books – indeed I also picked up The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern, for a mere pound a year or so ago, and that’s a hardback copy, too! Epic Win! I figured I should give the Seth novel a go, as I play various instruments myself and have already enjoyed various books on the theme of music. I really don’t know why it’s taken me so long to get around to it, but reading is under way now on this particular novel.

I should do a Book Bargains list on List Challenges, shouldn’t I?! All the books I know I’ve either got for free or for which I have paid very little! If I know I got a certain book for a pound or under, it would go on that list! Had a few freebies from the book club from time to time. As I mentioned in previous blogs, sometimes these are pre-publication copies, unedited proofs.

Well, I think I should get some reading done, so that I can enjoy Match of the Day in a bit – certainly going to enjoy it tonight with a 3-0 away win at Leicester, so it’s back to the books for me, and until I blog again, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Red Tent – Anita Diamant
  • An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  • I Know This Much: From Soho To Spandau – Gary Kemp
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Football, List Challenges, Music

Leave a Reply

