To Cut A Long Story Short…

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Back again with the 80s music, as I am halfway through Gary Kemp‘s autobiography now, in my attempt to get it read in time to give back to Sarah in a fortnight when she comes to my neck of the woods for the Pet Shop Boys gig at the Manchester Arena. 51% of I Know This Much has now been read, according to Goodreads, with two weeks to go. I’m making it a priority book at the moment.

Over 50% of Chronicle of a Death Foretold has also been read, that statistic standing at 59% at present. Should soon get that one finished, too, as it’s only a short book.

Some of you, particularly if you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, might notice that my book blogs have a few categories now. Silly me only just realised that I could give my blogs other topics! All I’d been doing had been changing from Uncategorised to Books with each book blog, not thinking to add any more categories, so I’m going back through old blogs at the moment, giving them more categories. Thing is, my blogs go back to August 2010, and I’ve published rather a lot of entries on Joanne’s Bookshelf, so it’s a bit of a long process, and I’ve got as far back as adding categories for blogs dating back to 2012. Just 2010 and 2011 yet to do, and then they should all be done and I can just do what I’m doing now, and adding the categories as I type a new blog entry.

Looking back 5 years, at my blogs of early 2012, we were celebrating a special Charles Dickens anniversary, the 200th anniversary of his birth on 7th February 1812. In my blogs at that time, I was talking about reading some more Dickens, but, sadly, I didn’t actually get around to it, so I have still only read A Christmas Carol and Great Expectations. I had written titles of some other novels of his on bits of paper and shoved them in some spare receptacle – a money box, I think – and drawn out Our Mutual Friend, but I didn’t get around to reading it. 2012 was, however, a pretty stressful time for me with my work situation that year, and also the passing of my maternal grandad, so it was NOT the best of years for books as I suffered a large bout of Reader’s Block.

I have a few Dickens novels on my Kindle, including Our Mutual Friend, but if there’s one work of his I KNOW I have got, it’s A Tale of Two Cities, as this book is one of the SEVENTEEN books on the notorious Duplicate Books List! I assure you I WILL go through that list again some time soon, but it needs a blog entry of its own with that many books to list!

Beginning to contemplate tacking one of the truly epic novels which are dotted around in the book storage area that is my room. I’ve got some seriously chunky books in my collection, and I don’t just mean War and Peace, although that is obviously one of them, lol! The only concern is that I might be risking an epic Book Hangover again, which is what I experienced last summer after I’d finished A Little Life! But that need not be a major issue. If I do have a book hangover on the fiction front, I can always stick to non-fiction for a bit until I’m ready to deal with non-factual stuff again, which is what happened last year. Thus, I am giving some thought to starting The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett. It’s a big ‘un! Seriously chunky helping of historical fiction, even by the usual chunky standards of that genre! I also have the sequel, World Without End, but first things first, eh?!

However, I’ve got those S. J. Parris books, Treachery and Conspiracy, so I could always build up to the Follett epics. There’s also some Edward Rutherfurd epics hanging around – quite a few of those to choose from, in fact! I did read The Forest years ago for book club, but I’ve got quite a few of his others in, and none of them are slim. I was looking at Sarum the other day and boy is that an epic! I think the Ken Follett books are actually shorter!

I’d mention the C. J. Sansom novels, but they’re in my Book Chest, so I don’t actually know which ones I own offhand, I’d have to look in the garage and that is NOT happening at this time of night, ta very much! All I know is that I own two or three of his, and they’re chunky, too, as are those of Kate Mosse, but I know where those are, as they’re here in my room. I have Labyrinth, Sepulchre and Citadel, so that’s three more chunky buggers! Another thing to consider is whether a book is a stand-alone novel, or if it’s part of a series and thus there’s a set order in which it makes sense to read the books. I think the Sansom books have a certain order, not sure about Mosse’s novels.

There aren’t many works of historical fiction which fit the Spandau Ballet song criteria of cutting a long story short! You HAVE to like big books if you wish to consider reading this genre!

new-krispy-kreme-mug-feb-2017

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” – C. S. Lewis.

OK, I guess you must all like big blogs if you’re willing to put up with my waffle on a regular basis, lol, as I know I go on a bit (a slight understatement), but there’s long blogs, and then there’s long books!

The photo shows my new mug – the fact that I’m rather partial to a doughnut or two (or three, or four, lol) has paid off, and I got an email recently, informing me that I could claim a free mug, so I claimed it the other day when I was in town. You can see some of my woodwork and wood-turning items behind the mug, including my bookworm! I made that last year, which I might have mentioned at the time. I know I’ve mentioned my cross stitch before now, especially the bookmarks I’ve stitched, but it’s another of my hand-crafted items which is book-related, so I thought it should be mentioned.

Well, that’s probably about all for now, but I’ve waffled on considerably, and brought a lot of big books to your attention this evening. I probably should have called this blog “I like big books and I cannot lie”, lol! If any of my blogs ever encourage you to read any of the books I mention, please let me know! I’m quite happy to receive constructive comments from my regular followers. It’s the spammers I can’t be doing with, but they’re not that common on here! Anyway, until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • I Know This Much: From Soho to Spandau – Gary Kemp
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  • Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  • Our Mutual Friend – Charles Dickens
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett
  • World Without End – Ken Follett
  • Treachery – S. J. Parris
  • Conspiracy – S. J. Parris
  • The Forest – Edward Rutherfurd
  • Sarum – Edward Rutherfurd
  • Labyrinth – Kate Mosse
  • Sepulchre – Kate Mosse
  • Citadel – Kate Mosse

 

1 Comment

Filed under Authors, Autobiography/Biography, Books, Duplicate Books List, E-Books & Audiobooks, Food & Drink, Goodreads, Historical Fiction, Music

One response to “To Cut A Long Story Short…

  1. Pingback: To Cut A Long Story Short… — Joanne’s Bookshelf – ShayDbooks

Leave a Reply

