An Ocean of Books…

jamrachs-menagerie

“There is no frigate like a book to take us lands away.” – Emily Dickinson

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

Well, that’s Jamrach’s Menagerie finished! At least one of the notorious Half-Read Books has now been read in its entirety! Yay! As I’ve said before in previous blogs, never mind Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, this is Joanne D-J and the Half-Read Books, lol! The Carol Birch novel is no longer half-read, though, and I don’t know why I stopped part-way through that one, as I’d been enjoying it at the time, and enjoyed it when I picked it up again and finished it off. I can only hazard a guess that a bout of Reader’s Block caused the disruption.

I’ve recently started on Chronicle of a Death Foretold, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It’s only a very slim one, so I’m a good way through it already, approaching halfway. A novella, rather than a novel, possibly even short enough to be a short story. I have read one of his before, some years ago, when I read Love In the Time of Cholera. I also have One Hundred Years of Solitude, but I’ve not read that one as yet.

With books getting finished, I’m always looking to start others, and I was having a look at the books on the landing bookshelves. I’ve got quite a few out there, including a selection of hardbacks, and it was a news event from a few years ago which has prompted me to consider The 33, by Jonathan Franklin, as a potential read to be started shortly. Cast your minds back to 2010, when I’d only just started this book blog, and go back to the October of that year, and the rescuing of the Chilean Miners, news coverage of which won several awards, and deservedly so. Actually, I should thank my friend Libby Wood, as she posted a video clip of Peter Kay, and one of his especially funny bits about Sky +, the bit about everyone either being behind or ahead of you now because of that – he mentions the Chilean Miners in that bit of his stand-up routine, and it was that which reminded me! Cheers, Libby! 😀

I should, of course, pick another of the Half-Read Books to finish off, but there are so many which need starting off in the first place! What I will say is that if I have a half-read book by one author, I won’t be starting any others by that same author until I have finished that particular book, so while Ghostwritten, for example, remains a Half-Read Book, I won’t be starting any others by David Mitchell, and I have a few of his, and only one of those has previously been read, that being Black Swan Green some years ago. With Ghostwritten also being on audiobook, I wonder which CD I was on for? I think it was 7, but I can’t be certain. My paperback copy of the book was a charity shop bargain, a price sticker on the back indicating that I shelled out a mere pound for it, rather than the £6.99 RRP.

I was right! Even after several months without following this book with the audiobook version, I was correct that I was on for the start of disc 7 of the 13 CDs.Thus we are up and running again with Ghostwritten. The other thing I won’t be doing is reading any others which I have on audiobook while I progress with this one, so Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, by Lisa See, will have to wait.

Well, I’ve followed a little more of Ghostwritten, progressed a few pages, but I guess I’d be better off resuming on another day, when I can just sit back and listen for a few hours while being read to. I think it’s that I’m not used to being read to anymore. Feels weird, even though I’ve followed Look Who’s Back, by Timur Vermes, on audiobook, and I’m now doing likewise with Ghostwritten, but I guess I need to be in the mood for this one, and I’m not really… not at the moment, and it’s a bit weirder than the Timur Vermes one – that one was funny! Sorry, Mr Mitchell, but I shall try again another day. Maybe over the weekend.

I was read to a lot when I was young. By my parents at first, obviously, but also by teachers when I was at primary school. I particularly remember Miss Burton reading to us quite a lot when I was in the second year juniors at primary school. She read us Flat Stanley, by Jeff Brown, and The Fib, by George Layton, amongst other things. I think she also read us How To Eat Fried Worms, by Thomas Rockwell! Mrs Malyn read to us, too, when we were in the top juniors, our final year before moving up to high school. She read us My Best Fiend, by Sheila Lavelle, which caused me to read it for myself, and also the sequel, The Fiend Next Door.

Anyway, I shall call it a day for now as we continue our journey on this vast ocean of books! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Jamrach’s Menagerie – Carol Birch
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – J. K. Rowling
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Love In the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • The 33 – Jonathan Franklin
  • Ghostwritten – David Mitchell
  • Black Swan Green – David Mitchell
  • Snow Flower and the Secret Fan – Lisa See
  • Look Who’s Back – Timur Vermes
  • Flat Stanley – Jeff Brown
  • The Fib and Other Stories – George Layton
  • How To Eat Fried Worms – Thomas Rockwell
  • My Best Fiend – Sheila Lavelle
  • The Fiend Next Door – Sheila Lavelle
Leave a comment

Filed under Autobiography/Biography, Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Childrens' Books, E-Books & Audiobooks, Half-Finished Books, Humour, My Bookworm History, Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

