If I Could Tell You A Few Things…

books-bought-2nd-feb-2017

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Me again! Home from town, and book club, and the book on the right in the photo is the one we’ll be reading for our next meeting on 15th March – If I Could Tell You Just One Thing, by Richard Reed. Well, edited by him, as it’s a collection of pieces of advice from various famous people – politicians, actors, singers, music moguls, business leaders, etc, etc… They were all interviewed and asked for that one bit of advice that they would give anyone.

It’s a hardback, and a tad bulky, so it is actually unlikely to be a Handbag Book, and therefore rather unlikely to go to Wembley with me if my mum and I are successful in getting tickets for the League Cup Final later this month. I’d take my Kindle and a few paperbacks. I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic may well still be one of them. My sister has put in a request to read it next once I have finished reading it. We should hear on Monday whether we’ve been successful or not with regard to the cup final tickets.

Making good strides with Jamrach’s Menagerie now that I have resumed reading that one, and am now 75% of the way through it. Not much more to read, and I’ll have another one off the list. I have let Sarah know I am enjoying the Gary Kemp autobiography, I Know This Much, and she has said she’ll lend me Phil Collins‘ autobiography next, which I’m already looking forward to as I have seen it once or twice in Waterstone’s and quite fancied it. I do think he took a bit of a risk calling it Not Dead Yet, though, given how over-eager the Grim Reaper was last year in bumping off celebrities, including some serious talents of the music world such as David Bowie, Prince, and George Michael! Guess Phil decided to risk it for a biscuit on the title front, lol!

I did try to get my fellow book club members to consider a couple of books of which I’ve already got copies, but it never works, I never manage to save a bob or two! I’d tried to encourage them to go for The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, or Conspiracy, but I guess we have just read some historical fiction, so they wanted something different. I did manage to steer them away from the dystopian suggestion from Emma, though, so my mental health has been considered, which I truly appreciate!

I am not prepared to risk either current affairs or dystopian fiction. If I could tell you just one thing, it would be that I read to escape! I want books to take my mind off the shiteness of the real world, even if it’s just for an hour or so. The last thing I want is a reminder, even if it’s a fictional one, that there are a lot of arseholes out there. If it’s the sort of plot that would give those arseholes in power more bad ideas, then I would rather not read it, ta very much!

fa-cup-winners-2016-me-and-inflatable-cup

With my inflatable FA Cup after I got home from Wembley in May…

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street may well end up as a Handbag Book, though. Might even come to Wembley if I’m off to see United v Southampton on 26th February. Obviously, last year, I was going down there in May, as it was the FA Cup Final, but let’s have a look at what I was reading back then. As I recall, I finished off The Reader On The 6.27, by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent, and I also got a large chunk of A Little Life read, as I had it on my Kindle to save me taking the paperback with me – did you seriously think I’d lug a 720 page epic novel like that down to Wembley with me?! Give over!

The above photo was a former profile photo of mine on Facebook. I got the inflatable FA Cup in 2007 when we went to Villa Park for the semi-final against Watford, which we won 4-1. Sadly, we lost that year’s final to Chelsea in extra time, so I waited years for us to win the cup so I could inflate it! Obviously, we won plenty of other trophies – Premier League titles, the European Cup and the League Cup since 2007, but we hadn’t won the FA Cup since 2004 until last season under Louis van Gaal, when we beat Crystal Palace 2-1 in extra time, despite Chris “Mike” Smalling getting himself sent-off for a second yellow card by stupidly rugby-tackling a Palace player. Numpty! Ah well, it meant we did things the traditional United way, by making it hard for ourselves! We rarely do things in a straightforward manner, as most other long-standing Reds will tell you, lol!

The other book in the photo at the top of my blog is A Boy Made of Blocks, by Keith Stuart. It’s fiction, but it’s supposed to be about a boy with autism. It’s been mentioned a lot on the book groups I’m in on Facebook, and has got good reviews, so I thought I might give it a go.

Well, I’d better give some thought to getting a bit of reading done now, so I’ll finish this blog off and get it published, make a brew, and get stuck in a good book! Until the next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • If I Could Tell You Just One Thing – Richard Reed
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie – Carol Birch
  • I Know This Much: From Soho To Spandau – Gary Kemp
  • Not Dead Yet – Phil Collins
  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street – Natasha Pulley
  • Conspiracy – S. J. Parris
  • The Reader On The 6.27 – Jean-Paul Didierlaurent
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • A Boy Made of Blocks – Keith Stuart

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Arsehole Politicians, Autobiography/Biography, Books, E-Books & Audiobooks, Football, Handbag Books, Mental Health, Music

Leave a Reply

