January Review

An Abby Wright illustration of a women reading a book outside in the snow

Good afternoon, Bookworms!

Bit of a look back on this last month, as my Goodreads Challenge for 2017 got off to a pretty good start. I have read 5 books already this year, finishing two of them off yesterday evening! I started the month, and the year, by finishing off an e-book on my Kindle, the very funny Pear Shaped, by Adam Blain, and was delighted to learn that he had actually overcome his brain cancer and is at least in remission, or has possibly had the all-clear, but I think you have to have gone 5 years without cancer coming back before you get that.

The theme of finishing off stuff I’d already started continued when I finished off the YA novel In Bloom, by Matthew Crow. Fiction this time, but once again dealing with cancer, although – spoiler alert – one of the main characters is sadly unable to fight it off.

Then came a couple of fresh books, the entirety of which I read in 2017. Rob Jovanovic‘s biography of George Michael was the first to be finished as it was slimmer than The Ashes of London, by Andrew Taylor! I’d been looking for a book about George Michael since he passed away on Christmas Day, and managed to find one, so I bought it and read it. The Andrew Taylor novel was my book club book for the month, which we decided upon at our meeting on 5th January. A typically chunky piece of historical fiction set at the time of the Great Fire of London in 1666, it was a pretty enjoyable read, and it’s not the first time we’ve had an Andrew Taylor novel for our book club choice. A few years ago now, we read The Anatomy of Ghosts, which I also enjoyed. I must look out for his other novels, as he’s clearly an author whose works I’ve liked so far.

I finished off the Taylor novel yesterday, in good time for my book club meeting tomorrow, and also finished off Why We Love Music, by John Powell, so I’ve got five books on my Goodreads Challenge. We’re off to a good start, but I’m not counting any chickens, because you never know if a book is going to affect you as much as A Little Life did last summer!

Obviously, the Taylor book’s gonna have to go in my bag for tomorrow so I can take it to book club with me before we choose our next book, but I’ve put a few other slim books in my purple Kipling bag in the hope they’re going to serve as Handbag Books and I’m going to get through them when I’m out and about. I already have I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic in my handbag, but our Swedish centre-forward has been joined by Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan, Chronicle of a Death Foretold, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Hideous Kinky, by Esther Freud. I picked that one up the other day in a charity shop for 50p. It’s set in Morocco, so another book to bring back memories of Marrakech, along with The Saffron Trail, which is one of my ongoing concerns at present.

Oh, and while I was out shopping earlier, Conspiracy, by S. J. Parris, gave me the “Call of the Book” – clearly didn’t want to remain on the shelf at Asda in Swinton, so decided it was going to become part of my shopping, lol! I actually have one of her other novels, Treachery, which I picked up for free last year – it was a World Book Night book, and the Chapter One bookshop and cafe in town had a few of that year’s WBN books so readers could claim one for free. The fella let me have an extra one as WBN is on 23rd April – my birthday, so Last Bus To Coffeeville, by J. Paul Henderson, also came home with me that day!

Anyway, this blog is a review of January, really, so that’s about it for now, it brings things up to date on the book front. Back to the usual blogs with their regular waffle next time, lol! Until the next blog, though, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Pear Shaped – Adam Blain
  • In Bloom  – Matthew Crow
  • George Michael: The Biography – Rob Jovanovic
  • The Ashes of London – Andrew Taylor
  • The Anatomy of Ghosts – Andrew Taylor
  • Why We Love Music – John Powell
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Hideous Kinky – Esther Freud
  • The Saffron Trail – Rosanna Ley
  • Conspiracy – S. J. Parris
  • Treachery – S. J. Parris
  • Last Bus To Coffeeville – J. Paul Henderson 
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Historical Fiction, Month in Review

Leave a Reply

