Well, That Escalated Quickly!

book-reader-1

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Someone remind me not to do that again for a long time… last night’s blog, I mean… Schoolboy error! Listing all the books I’ve read by certain authors. It ended up with me typing out a right long list at the end of it, and that’s considering I just lumped the 7 main Harry Potter books together as the series, and I also forgot one author of whose output I had read more than one item! Can’t believe I forgot Sir Terry Pratchett! If I had remembered the three Discworld novels I have read to date, The Colour of Magic, The Light Fantastic, and Equal Rites, my list would have been even longer than it already was! Time I read another of his, actually. Perhaps I should read Mort, although I might wait as I do have The Ashes of London and I Am Zlatan Ibtahimovic to get on with right now…

It all started out because of my current reading matter for the Waterstone’s Deansgate book club, and that’s because we’d already read one of Andrew Taylor’s previous books. That led to me thinking about authors of whose works I’d read more than one! Not something to be contemplated again for quite some time! Not unless I want to be typing out a mammoth book list at the end. Which I don’t, really. I don’t mind a bit of a list, but that one was particularly long and would have been even longer if I’d remembered the Pratchett books, and if I had listed each of the seven main Harry Potter books individually. I have, of course, listed them individually on List Challenges as I’ve started this year’s “Books Mentioned on Joanne’s Bookshelf Blog” list. This will grow and grow as I mention books on here that I’ve not already mentioned this year in previous blogs and then at the end of 2017, or the start of 2018, the list will be published and you can all see if you’ve read any of the books I’ve mentioned throughout the year.

I won’t have read them all, lol! I will have read quite a few of them, of course, but there will be the partially-read books, and then the books which get mentioned but which I have not read. I’ve been doing this blog for a good few years now. Think I started in 2010. Those of you who’ve followed it for a while know that it goes off at a tangent at times. It is full of utter waffle, and I throw a lot of other matters into the mix as well as books! I go off on rants occasionally, sometimes I witter on about music or football. Or both. Then again, those are two of my other interests, and I DO read quite a lot of books about music, and a lot about football, so I am perfectly justified in bringing up these subjects in this blog, even if I do also have a football blog, In Off My Chest, also hosted by WordPress. That one’s been going since around 2011, so you have a good few years of footy waffle from me on that blog should you be at a very loose end and be bored enough to want to read any of that!

Ooh! Talking of footy and books, something’s just come up on my news feed on Facebook from the Premier League Years page… a promotion for a book on Amazon about its first season! That should be a good ‘un for me! Premier League Years 1992/93: The Story of the Inaugural Premier League Season, by Andrew Hyslop. Mind you, I already know that story pretty well. I can still remember so much of that season, even though it is now 24 years ago! Talking of which, today is the 24th anniversary of United going top of the Premier League for the very first time, after a 4-1 victory at home to Spurs. If you’re not careful, I’ll start waffling on about Eric Cantona and THAT pass to Denis Irwin for our 2nd goal in that match…

So, I have photos on List Challenges for all the books I mention, but sometimes it can be a bit of a challenge to get hold of a picture of a cover, and that’s with books which have been published. What am I supposed to do with a book of which I have a free uncorrected proof copy because the book is not actually due for publication until April? When I was at my book club meeting on Thursday, I remembered one of the huge perks of that book club… sometimes there are free books! Often ones which have not come out yet. Uncorrected proofs. A year or two ago, I ended up with a free proof copy of The Chimes by Anna Smaill before it was due for publication, and I now have a book called Skintown, by Ciaran McMenamin. Thing is, I can’t get a damn picture for it to put on List Challenges! I think I am going to have to wait until 6th April, or thereabouts, when the book IS published, and then I will be able to get an image on the internet and put it on List Challenges, then drag that particular book back to its rightful place on the list, which would be just after The Chimes.

I think I got my free hardback of The Miniaturist, by Jessie Burton, at a book club meeting, possibly even the same one at which I got The Chimes, but not necessarily. Had one or two freebies – The Night Guest, by Fiona McFarlane was another I bagsied at book club! However, I’ve not had this problem before, as I’d not joined List Challenges back then, so the fact that The Chimes fell into my hands before publication wasn’t a logistical problem on the internet. Skintown, as I said, will have to join the list as soon as it is able to and the image will be backdated on the list to where we have agreed just now. Pretty sure there’s a couple of others knocking around in my room which I picked up as freebies at book club!

I should try to get some other books read, though. Ones which have been hanging around for a long time! Perhaps the books on the Duplicate Books List. If you’re new to this blog, you might want to read some of last year’s blog entries about the number of books of which I own two copies! I’m not going into that right now, that’s for another time as there are about 17 or 18 of those buggers, so that would be a blog entry on its own, rather like last night’s.But it is also why I may have missed out on a bargain the other week because I feared I already had the book – the post-Christmas sales were on in the shops, including Waterstone’s, and I saw a hardback copy of The Sunrise, by Victoria Hislop, for £1. Seriously. I shit you not! A hardback for a quid! Unfortunately, I got cold feet and feared that I already had a copy of this book! I have a few of her books, although the only one I have actually read, to date, is The Return. That one is set in Spain, although many of her books are set in Greece, Cyprus and the Greek Islands. Oh, and, yes, she is the wife of Ian Hislop of “Have I Got News For You” fame! Just in case you were wondering!

Well, I think the books are calling me back, so I shall finish for now, and call it a night. Until the next blog entry, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • The Harry Potter series – J. K. Rowling
  • The Colour of Magic – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • The Light Fantastic – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Equal Rites – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Mort – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • The Ashes of London – Andrew Taylor
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • Premier League Years 1992/93: The Story of the Inaugural Premier League Season – Andrew Hyslop
  • The Chimes – Anna Smaill
  • Skintown – Ciaran McMenamin
  • The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
  • The Night Guest – Fiona McFarlane
  • The Sunrise – Victoria Hislop
  • The Return – Victoria Hislop
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Football, Free Books, Handbag Books, List Challenges, Music

Leave a Reply

