Stuff I’ve Been Reading

Natural Born Bookworm!

I Read Therefore I Am!

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Yet another book finished, ladies and gentlemen! Stuff I’ve Been Reading, by Nick Hornby, has now become, rather appropriately, stuff I’ve been reading! I have just finished that one off this evening, and am now just over half-way through The Girl of Ink & Stars, so sufficient progress has been made on the book club book, ready for 6th June, next Monday.

With the recent weather, and the fact it’s 40 years ago this year, I was tempted to start something set in 1976, and I may still do that before the year’s out, but I’ll be blunt with you all – I feel more football-related reading coming on. There are a few books of that nature I could do with getting on with, and it’s set to be a fairly interesting summer. We’ve just won a cup, our first silverware for 3 years (first since Fergie retired) and it’s the first time since 2004 that we’ve won the FA Cup, ending a particularly long wait for it to return to our trophy cabinet! I was using my cup final ticket as a bookmark for the Hornby book. I think he’d appreciate that, even if he does support a rival team, as he tried to sneak footy into his regular columns in the Believer magazine!

New manager, new players expected, European Championships ahead… and an excuse for me to read about footy. As I said in my previous blog, Jose is on a probationary period as far as I’m concerned. I shall give him a chance, and if he does prove himself to be right for the job of managing the club I love (by which I mean behaving himself and playing the youngsters, as well as winning trophies), I shall read about him! So, I might eventually need a good biography about Mr Mourinho, but not just yet! That can wait!

Not sure if it was last year or earlier this year, but I bought I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, although I’m not sure where it is lurking right now. I have a feeling I may have put it in the book chest. We still had LvG as our boss at the time and the likelihood of Zlatan joining us when he and Louis had had “previous”, as the saying goes, was pretty remote. Probably why I shoved it in the book chest when I had that sort out in recent months, I guess I felt there was no way he’d be coming, so the likelihood of me needing to get the lowdown on the guy was considerably reduced! I do like to do background reading on players, and I don’t just mean via Google and Wikipedia!

However, it is now being mentioned on an almost daily basis that he may well be joining on a free transfer this summer, his contract up at PSG. He’s 34, so there is always a concern about acquiring a player so close to retirement age, but if he’s available for nowt, we might as well give him a go. Zlatan never stays anywhere for long, he’s had more clubs than Rory McIlroy, lol, but given his age, he probably won’t have many more clubs before he hangs his boots up, so it wouldn’t matter if we got him and he was only with us for a couple of years. As long as he can stay fit, and he has a few tricks up his sleeve to split open opposition defences, that’d be the main thing!

Most rumours never happen, of course, 99% of them are utter bullshit invented to sell papers, and I’ve blogged about that countless times on my footy blog, In Off My Chest, but when certain ones just won’t go away, and seem to become more plausible, there is always the chance the press might actually get one right! They do get one right every now and again, lol! They hit the bloody jackpot in 2012, correctly going to print about United signing Shinji Kagawa and Robin van Persie! Not saying they’ll be that accurate ever again, but sometimes they get lucky, and maybe they’ll be right about Zlatan this summer.

Anyway, back to books, and after my previous blog, I went downstairs to swap some books over for a couple which were on shelves in the living room. As I had mentioned this book, Crime and Punishment was brought upstairs, but I also brought Gould’s Book of Fish, by Richard Flanagan, up to my room as well. The latter is a book I have had for absolutely ages, about a convict sentenced to a penal colony on Van Dieman’s Land (Tasmania, as we know it now) and ordered to paint a book of fish. I guess it must have caught my eye years ago. It has £2.99 pencilled inside it, I guess I may have got it from a charity shop, possibly Oxfam, quite a while ago. Perhaps I should finally get around to reading it and seeing if it’s any good! It’s in my room now, anyway, so close at hand should I wish to give it a read!

Does seem rather a link between both books which I brought up, both are on the theme of crime and its consequence, although it was purely coincidence! I HAD gone downstairs simply to bring the Dostoyevsky novel up, due to it being mentioned in The Rabbit Back Literature Society, but while I was downstairs, Gould’s Book of Fish also caught my eye, as if to say “When are you going to get round to reading me, Joanne?” – books can be so impatient at times, lol! Actually, there are probably quite a few, which, if they could talk, would be making demands on my time and moaning that I’ve had them in my possession for donkey’s years and have never got round to reading even a page of them yet!

Yes, I know, I called this blog entry Stuff I’ve Been Reading, but, as always, my blogs are just as much about stuff I’ve not been reading, or stuff I’ve only partially read! That’s normal with this blog. I need more non-fiction to replace the Hornby, and will probably need more YA soon, after I’ve finished my current book club book. As I said at the start, I’m halfway through that one now, and it’s only short, so the need for more YA will crop up very shortly! There are lots of YA books hanging around in here, waiting for me to read them, so I have quite a choice! Perhaps Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist will be on my reading list at last? There’s a music theme to that one, which is what attracted it to me.

Anyway, to find out what stuff I end up reading next, further progress made with A Little Life, and what gets finished off next, you will have to wait for my next blog! Until that time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • Stuff I’ve Been Reading – Nick Hornby
  • The Girl of Ink & Stars – Kiran Millwood Hargrave
  • I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Gould’s Book of Fish – Richard Flanagan
  • The Rabbit Back Literature Society – Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
  • Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, British Weather, Football, Half-Finished Books, The TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

