Stuck In The Middle With You

Part-read books May 2016

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Welcome to another blog entry from yours truly, and although I’ve not got clowns to the left of me and jokers to the right, the photo does feature a selection of the books I am part-way through reading!  I recently finished The Reader On the 6.27, which, as you may recall, I polished off on the coach on my way down to Wembley last Saturday when I was going to the FA Cup Final, and I have also recently finished off The Story of Music, and Cheer Up Love, so it is fair to say I DO get books finished off! It’s just that I have several on the go at any one time!

I need to get on with The Girl of Ink & Stars, as that’s my book club book and the meeting is on 6th June, but that’s a week tomorrow, so I do have some time to read the other two thirds of that… My main go-to books at the moment are A Little Life, which I get through in chunky instalments, lol, and Stuff I’ve Been Reading, as I love books about books, and as I think I said last time, I really like Hornby’s non-fiction stuff. The other thing is that he is 16 years older than me, which I worked out while reading his book, and he loves young adult books, so the fact that I’m 43 and enjoy a good helping of YA amongst my reading matter is perfectly OK, given that Nick Hornby likes these kind of books and he’ll be 60 next year!

Pear Shaped, by Adam Blain, is one I have de-archived from my e-books. Not sure if it is actually available as a physical book, I just had an offer on it some time ago, possibly a Kindle Daily Deal or suchlike, and it sounded like a good read, so I downloaded it. It was either free or very cheap! But I think there are more pressing concerns than progressing with that one. I really should get on with Leading, by Sir Alex Ferguson. It was a Christmas pressie from my sister, and I know both she and my mum will also want to read it. Also, given that he’s no longer our manager, I really need to finish off Martin Meijer’s biography of Louis van Gaal.

Personally, I was very sad to see Louis go, I think United’s board behaved shabbily, and should have waited at least until after the Cup Final weekend to bring an end to his time with us. I actually wanted him to stay, firstly as I thought he was doing a good job, I can see the big picture and thought he’d got a lot sorted out, even if we could’ve done with more goals. Also, I did NOT want Jose! You will not find anyone who doubts his ability to win silverware, but the trouble is that too many people are blinded by that and don’t seem to understand that there are OTHER requirements of a Manchester United manager beside trophies! Good behaviour and the continuation of our youth policy are also vital to the club! Anyone who does not understand that and thinks it’s just about silverware is NOT a proper Red as far as I’m concerned!

That includes my ex-friend, Helen, who I have now blocked on Facebook. I’d unfriended her in April over her lack of respect for me, but I was still seeing her comments on things my mum had posted, and her pro-Mourinho comments were the last straw. No point trying to talk any sense into the stupid woman, so I’ve blocked her. Maybe one day I will unblock, but she’s done my head in far too much in recent times for that ever to be likely in the near future!

As we now have Jose as our manager, I guess I shall have to read up about him. Not in any rush to do so right now, though. I’ve kind of put him on a “probationary period” to prove to me he’s suitable for the job and that he can manage not to behave like a knob! Gives me a bit of time to look into any possible biographies about Mr Mourinho, anyway. If he behaves, I might read about him, lol! Enough about him, though, let’s get back to books, shall we? After all, books don’t have oversized egos which block out the sun!

The Guest Cat has been a Handbag Book for ages, and one I read every now and then. For a short, slim book, it’s taking a while to get through. It’s not as though it’s a bad book, it’s nice enough, but I have not found it gripping enough to keep going back to very often. I mean, I can go a day or two not reading anything, let alone A Little Life, but that one DOES keep pulling me in! Hiraide’s novella doesn’t really do that. Never judge a book by its size! Some books can be slim but take forever to plod through, others can be big chunky doorstoppers, but be highly readable, and you can get through them quite quickly!

So, what after the Hornby’s finished? I am giving serious thought to Where I’m Reading From, by Tim Parks. Firstly, it’s about books, secondly, it’s by the guy who wrote A Season With Verona, which I read and loved some years ago now, so I am hoping he does a Hornby and drags football into it! I could also do with getting on with Pierluigi Collina’s autobiography, The Rules of the Game. That is on my bed right now, along with Why We Love Music, by John Powell.

Thing is, I have so many books, it’s hard to decide which ones to read next! There is no such thing as too many books, of course, but one can be very spoilt for choice as a bookworm! But there can be a logical order to reading certain books after others, and I don’t just mean when it comes to series of books, either.

When I handed my CV in at the Urmston Bookshop the other day, I had a look around and ended up purchasing The Rabbit Back Literature Society, by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen, which looked an interesting read. A book about books, it actually starts with one character questioning her own knowledge of what happens in Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. So, perhaps I should read the Dostoyevsky before I read that one? In the same way, I probably need to read Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov, before I tackle Reading Lolita in Tehran, by Azar Nafisi! However, having already read Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens, I should be able to get the references in Mister Pip, by Lloyd Jones when I get around to reading that one!

Anyway, I should probably get round to reading something right now, so I shall bring this blog entry to an end and return to Nick Hornby and his reading material! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • The Reader On the 6.27 – Jean-Paul Didierlaurent
  • The Story of Music – Howard Goodall
  • Cheer Up Love – Susan Calman
  • The Girl of Ink & Stars – Kiran Millwood Hargrave
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • Stuff I’ve Been Reading – Nick Hornby
  • Pear Shaped – Adam Blain
  • Leading – Sir Alex Ferguson
  • Louis van Gaal – Martin Meijer
  • The Guest Cat – Takashi Hiraide
  • Where I’m Reading From – Tim Parks
  • A Season With Verona – Tim Parks
  • The Rules of the Game – Pierluigi Collina
  • Why We Love Music – John Powell
  • The Rabbit Back Literature Society – Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
  • Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  • Reading Lolita in Tehran – Azar Nafisi
  • Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  • Mister Pip – Lloyd Jones

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books, E-Books & Audiobooks, Football, Half-Finished Books

One response to “Stuck In The Middle With You

  1. Jane

    I’ll be interested to see when you read it how you get on with Lolita, I started to read it and just could not get on with it at all and had to abandon it.

Leave a Reply

