New Books For Old!

Oxfam shop buys 1st April 2016

Good afternoon, fellow Bookworms!

Welcome to another blog, and I know it’s been a few days since the last, but Chief Bookworm has been dealing with the results of the recent sort-out she’s been having… Obviously, you will recall the sort-out as it resulted in me adding more books to the Duplicate Books List and ending up with 17 of them on there, but what you might not know is that I was having a clear-out as well, sussing out a few of my books which I have either read and finished with or am not likely to get round to reading, and I am in the process of giving those out to various charity shops in the local area. I’ve still got a few more to take, although I have already shifted a hell of a lot of books! This does make way for new books, of course. Well, they might be old, they might be second hand, but they are new to me and to my own personal library of reading matter!

We shall go back to last Friday, 1st April, although this is no April Fool’s joke, this stuff is true. I had an appointment in town, so while I was in Manchester, I visited the Oxfam shop on Oldham Street. It is not specifically an Oxfam Bookshop, unlike the one in Chorlton near where I used to work, but the shop does have a large selection of books, and the above photo shows what I acquired there, including Eric and Hogfather, two Discworld books by Sir Terry Pratchett, which I didn’t already have, a lovely copy of The Lady and the Unicorn, by Tracy Chevalier, which I had been after since my blog entry A Book For Belgium the other week, and I also found the non-fiction one, Musical Instruments Through the Ages, by Anthony Baines, for good measure.

Saturday, I was finally able to get to that Rotary Club bookshop in Eccles, on one of the rare occasions that it is open – only about twice a month, sadly – so I got three books for a quid there, as well as taking a load of books to them. I actually saw a copy of The Lady and the Unicorn there, and, yes, it would’ve been cheaper than the Oxfam shop, but I think I got a nicer edition the day before, so I’m not too sad. Plus, I wasn’t terribly sure if that Rotary Club shop was even going to be open or not, so the fact that it was is something of a bonus.

Eccles charity shop buys 2nd April 2016

These are the ones I got from Eccles, although The Hundred-Foot Journey, by Richard C. Morais, was from the British Heart Foundation shop, not the Rotary Club bookshop. That’s where the other three were from. Three for a quid there, so I picked up Maple Leaf Rag, by Stephen Brook, Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson, and Half Blood Blues, by Esi Edugyan.

Monton charity shop buys 5th April 2016

A further shufty, at charity shops close to home, brought these four the other day. I’d been in Eccles, then been to my dentist, and I was on Monton Road, so that was my excuse. Two from the Age UK shop, and two from the St Ann’s Hospice shop… From Age UK, I picked up Tulip Fever, by Deborah Moggach, and A Season in Red, by Kirsty Needham, a non-fiction account about her life in China. From the St Ann’s Hospice shop, I picked  up White Truffles in Winter, by N. M. Kelby, and Orfeo, by Richard Powers.

On the audiobook front, I took back Ghostwritten, by David Mitchell, as that one is on my laptop and I am part-way through listening to it and following it in the paperback, but I did renew The Snowman, by Jo Nesbo, as I need to get that put on my laptop, as I do with Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, by Lisa See, but that book is due back at Eccles Library next week, so I still have a bit more time to get that on my computer. The Snowman needs 14 CDs putting on, Snow Flower only needs 9. Mind you, the biggest one which needs putting on is Citadel, by Kate Mosse. However, that is my own audiobook, I have bought that one, so I will take my time over the 21 CDs I need. Plus, I haven’t actually got that book in paperback or hardback, so there’s plenty of time yet! I quite like to have the book as well, if only for Goodreads purposes. I don’t know what page an audiobook would actually be up to if I didn’t have a physical copy, and I do like to keep track of it. I do have a copy of Snow Flower in paperback. I don’t have Citadel, but I do have a couple of others by Kate Mosse. Big chunky works of historical fiction, that author certainly doesn’t do Handbag Books, does she?! The slimmest of her works is The Winter Ghosts.

Obviously, even with offloading old books of mine, I’ve brought new ones in and I am always in need of bookmarks! Yeah, I use anything, and it’s not uncommon for me to shove used bus or tram passes into my reading matter, but I really enjoy making my own bookmarks, particularly as it gives me the excuse to do some more cross-stitch! These are a couple I finished off the other day! Two floral ones stitched onto coloured aida. Both the patterns were for filet crochet, but I convert such things to cross stitch! I often have a few ongoing, and started one yesterday which will have dogs on it. I don’t have a particular book in mind for it, though, nor do I have a particular book in mind for either of those two in the photos.

Book club tomorrow night. Not that I’ve read much of High Rise, but I will be attending. Maybe some time soon, we’ll choose one which will really grab me again, and not cause me to be distracted by other books instead. It’s not that they’re bad books, but some of the choices have not been my cup of tea, or, even if they did interest me a little, they didn’t hold my interest enough to stick with them. Also, in recent years, I’ve struggled with bouts of reader’s block. I’d say, in the past four years, I’ve had some real issues with reading. In the more distant past, even if I’d had a bout of depression, I would still read a fair bit. It was one of the only things I could actually be arsed to do when I was depressed.

However, since 2012, there have been times when I didn’t even feel like reading. I have read quite a bit since the end of last year, but those bouts of reader’s block may have accounted for a lot of hardly-read books amongst my Book Club books. A lot of those of which I only read a tiny bit were amongst those I have given to the charity shops in my recent sort-outs. A couple of books helped get me reading again towards the end of last year, neither of them were Book Club choices, mind! I enjoyed both The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein, and Why the Dutch Are Different, by Ben Coates.

I need a good read to get me over my recent stress, caused by a former friend of mine, whose whole attitude towards me had been driving me nuts for some time, and it reached the last straw on Friday when she commented LOL to a serious post I had shared on Facebook. I felt that summed up her whole lack of respect for my feelings, and I unfriended her. In one way, I am relieved, but I do feel very disappointed that it came to this. I had tried dropping hints, and had done so on FB, in private messages, and via this blog a few entries ago when I went off on a bit of a rant, so I have given her lots of clues, lots of chances, but she has failed to take the hint with any one of them. I will still see her at band, but I can’t see how we can be friends unless she can somehow learn to accept me as I am. It’s either that, or just leave me alone. I am NOT Eliza Dolittle, this is NOT Pygmalion! I am NOT here on earth as a part of some stupid bet or game, for someone to try to change me into something I’m not! Anyone who thinks I am can take a long walk off a short cliff!

So, I shall now return to my books, or my bookmarks, and leave you to enjoy the blog! Take care, and, until next time, Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • Eric – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Hogfather – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • The Lady and the Unicorn – Tracy Chevalier
  • Musical Instruments Through the Ages – Anthony Baines
  • The Hundred-Foot Journey – Richard C. Morais
  • Maple Leaf Rag – Stephen Brook
  • Life After Life – Kate Atkinson
  • Half Blood Blues – Esi Edugyan
  • Tulip Fever – Deborah Moggach
  • A Season in Red – Kirsty Needham
  • White Truffles in Winter – N. M. Kelby
  • Orfeo – Richard Powers
  • Ghostwritten – David Mitchell
  • The Snowman – Jo Nesbo
  • Snow Flower and the Secret Fan – Lisa See
  • Citadel  – Kate Mosse
  • The Winter Ghosts – Kate Mosse
  • High Rise – J. G. Ballard
  • The Art of Racing in the Rain – Garth Stein
  • Why the Dutch are Different – Ben Coates
  • Pygmalion – George Bernard Shaw
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Cross-Stitch, E-Books & Audiobooks, Historical Fiction, Humour, Mental Health, Music, My Bookworm History, Non-Fiction, Rants, Reader's Block

Leave a Reply

