It’s The Fort That Counts…

Book Fort

Good afternoon, fellow Bookworms!

What do you do if you’re running a charity book shop and too many people donate copies of the same book? If you’re the Oxfam Bookstore in Swansea, South Wales, you build a fort out of them! The above photo is the fort which the staff built at their store after being inundated with copies of Fifty Shades of Grey, by E. L. James! That is quite incredible, I’m sure you’ll agree! I am most impressed! So, if you live in Swansea and have books to donate to charity shops, please do so, but no more Fifty Shades, ta very much! They have plenty already!

Anyway, the other pressing issue of the day is that THREE more books have been added to the Duplicate Books list! Yep, over the past couple of days, it has come to light that there are more books of which I own two copies! We had already reached double figures, but as I was looking for other books, I discovered three more duplicates. Sadly, I didn’t even find A Tall Man in a Low Land, by Harry Pearson, which I mentioned yesterday with regards to books about Belgium. I think I must have given it away when I moved house in 2006. I could always look for another copy or get it on my Kindle, I suppose.

The books I DID find, amongst others in my room, were duplicate copies of The Joy Luck Club, by Amy Tan, The Periodic Table, by Primo Levi, and The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas, by John Boyne.

Duplicate Books 23rd March 2016.jpg

So, these are all 13 of the Duplicate Books! Quite an assortment, really, isn’t it?! I have said, though, that I’m a random reader! Anyone fancy a read-a-long with me? Me and one other person could have a set each of the thirteen books and read them at the same time, discussing each one. I have read a couple of them already, Attention All Shipping, and Manual of the Warrior of Light, and I half-read The Joy Luck Club at university, but I would be willing to re-read them for a reading challenge if anyone else was up for it!

As well as the one person reading all 13 of these, anyone else who had any of those books could read along with us at the same time, as I would be blogging about it and give warning of what was being read next… So, say you had Anita And Me, and wanted to read it when we were reading it, that would be fine! The full Duplicate Books List now looks like this…

  • Attention All Shipping – Charlie Connelly
  • Manual of the Warrior of Light – Paulo Coelho
  • Anita and Me – Meera Syal
  • The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
  • The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan
  • The Year of Reading Dangerously – Andy Miller
  • The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell
  • The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid – Bill Bryson
  • The Boy In the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D. H. Lawrence
  • The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks
  • The Periodic Table – Primo Levi

An eclectic selection if ever there was one, so I’m pretty sure that would make a good mix and a varied reading list should anyone wish to take me up on the offer of reading them along with me!

As I said earlier, I didn’t manage to find that book about Belgium, and I have the feeling I gave it away when I moved house. Just before I moved, we were having a charity book sale where I worked at the time, so I donated loads of books to that, therefore I expect the Harry Pearson book was one of them.However, I have found my copy of Neither Here Nor There, by Bill Bryson, which is his account of his travels throughout Europe, so that will probably include at least a bit of Belgium, and should be a good laugh, as Bryson’s travel books are!

Also, I have bookmarks I am working on, at least one, anyway, so I would like to get it finished. Therefore, that’s about all for the time being! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry, other than the Duplicate Books:

  • Fifty Shades of Grey – E. L. James
  • A Tall Man in a Low Land – Harry Pearson
  • Neither Here Nor There: Travels in Europe – Bill Bryson
Leave a comment

Filed under Adult Fiction, Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Duplicate Books List, Travel

Leave a Reply

