Not Dragon On Much Longer!

finished dragon

Good afternoon, fellow Bookworms!

The dragon has been stitched! Yes, I completed the bookmark in the early hours of this morning, and it is ready to be used in Eragon, by Christopher Paolini, as I’ve mentioned in previous blog entries. I added beads to this bookmark, and attempted a little tassel. I was going to put a bead in the dragon’s eye, but the beads seemed a bit too big for that purpose and it looked a bit silly, so I just stitched that bit in the end and thought I’d have some beads for decoration around the dragon instead, hence the tassel, and the beads in the corners of the backstitching.

finished dragon and book

I stitch a lot of bookmarks as I have a lot of books! I find most of the patterns on the internet, particularly on Pinterest, and they need not be for cross stitch itself. They might be for filet crochet, beads, or some other craft, but if it’s a grid-based design which I can easily convert to cross stitch, I will do it! My next one might be the rose bookmark – very similar to the iris one I stitched recently, which is now keeping my place in Sound Bites, by Alex Kapranos, a very enjoyable Handbag Book! The dimensions of the rose bookmark, for the oval and the corners will be exactly the same as with the iris bookmark, but the pattern of squares I miss out will be different, to form a different flower, and I will be choosing a different colour scheme for that one. Probably deep red for the central oval, and pink for the corners. I might even make a beaded tassel for that one. I have some red beads, as well as green ones. I also have a few buttons lurking around here if I need ideas for decorations…

I don’t cover up the back of my stitching, before anyone asks, but I do like to think the back of my stitching is usually quite neat, so it doesn’t really matter. If it was a mess, I’d probably be more bothered about finding some way of covering it up.

Good progress is being made with Look Who’s Back, aided and abetted by the fact that I have it on unabridged audiobook. With that in mind, I was at Eccles Library this afternoon, and have borrowed a couple of audiobooks. You get them for three weeks. I aim to put them on to my computer as I have done with the Timur Vermes one, then I can listen at leisure. I’ve borrowed Ghostwritten, by David Mitchell and The Snowman, by Jo Nesbo. Perhaps I can get those novels read with having at least part of them read to me. I might venture into audiobooks of novels I don’t have, lol, but for now, getting ones I’m at least partly familiar with seems like a good start!

I did consider one which I haven’t got, and if they still have it at the British Heart Foundation shop in Salford when I’m back in that neck of the woods on Thursday, I shall consider getting Citadel by Kate Mosse. In terms of actual books, I have had better days of bargain books from charity shops, but I did find The Martian, by Andy Weir, in the British Red Cross shop in Eccles, for a mere £1.50, so that’s not to be sniffed at!

Wonder if iTunes has audiobooks? Hmmm… must investigate…

* returns to blog from checking iTunes on her iPad… *

Yep, iTunes does indeed have audiobooks! Will have to consider the varying costs, but it’s something worth considering, although borrowing from the library and putting the discs on my laptop is probably the best option, providing the library has audiobooks I might wish to borrow! If they have any which float my boat, I’ll borrow them!

I can’t let this blog entry pass without mentioning that we have lost yet another author in the past few days, Booker Prize-winning Anita Brookner passed away on 10th March. She was 87 years old, an art historian and a novelist, and she wrote 24 novels, the best-known of which was probably Hotel Du Lac. It has been a very bad year thus far in terms of the famous people we have lost (I’m still not exactly over the losses of David Bowie and Alan Rickman back in January), and it is particularly sad that this is the fourth author whose passing I am having to mention in 2016, following the deaths of Harper Lee, Umberto Eco and Louise Rennison. May they all rest in peace.

I’m off to sort out my flosses for more bookmarks! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini
  • Sound Bites – Alex Kapranos
  • Look Who’s Back – Timur Vermes
  • Ghostwritten – David Mitchell
  • The Snowman – Jo Nesbo
  • Citadel – Kate Mosse
  • The Martian – Andy Weir
  • Hotel Du Lac – Anita Brookner
Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Books, Cross-Stitch, E-Books & Audiobooks, Food & Drink, Handbag Books, YA Books

Leave a Reply

