Making Music

Duplicate Books row

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

I’m here again with another blog. Just when you think you’ve found all the duplicates.. I was getting ready to head for the match earlier, and found a Waterstone’s bag beside my bed, amongst my boots. I looked in the bag and thought “Here we go again!”

Inside the bag was a copy of The Bone Clocks, by David Mitchell.

I’d only gone and bought that book the other night as one of four I brought home from my book club meeting on Thursday! And now, I realised I’d already got it, and yet another book was added to the list of Duplicate Books. I could have a mini book club if anyone fancies reading the same books as me! I have ten books we could now get through together! And, quite an assortment of books it is too!

Duplicate Books 13th March 2016

I shall list them now, and at the end of this blog entry, I shall just list any other books I mention in this blog, books of which I do not own two copies, lol!

  • Attention All Shipping – Charlie Connelly
  • The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Anita and Me – Meera Syal
  • Manual of the Warrior of Light – Paulo Coelho
  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D. H. Lawrence
  • The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid – Bill Bryson
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks
  • The Year of Reading Dangerously – Andy Miller
  • The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell

So, those are the ten books. I grant you that I have read the Coelho and Connelly books, but I would be willing to read them again if anyone fancied reading each of these along with me! Some kind of mini reading club for two people, each of us armed with those ten books, working our way through them… novels, classics, non-fiction, autobiography…

Audiobook - Look Who's Back

Those books, of course, are books of which I own two physical copies. However, there are other books where I may have that book in more than one format, for example a paperback and an ebook version, and I have just bought myself my first audiobook, that being Look Who’s Back, by Timur Vermes, so I can follow it in my paperback as I listen to Julian Rhind-Tutt reading it! I am also fairly sure that’s not how everyone else does it – they have audiobooks instead of actual physical books, I expect. But I thought if I was going to try one, I should get the audio version of something I am familiar with. I guess I’m just odd, lol!

I also have some books in more than one language. I think I have already mentioned, previously, that I have both the English and French versions of Eric Cantona’s autobiography, but my foreign language books also include Charlie y la Fábrica de Chocolate, by Roald Dahl, the Spanish version of the story, and when I was in Berlin in 2012, I treated myself to Die Bücherdiebin, by Markus Zusak. I am fairly sure you can guess which book that is! Clue: It’s set in Germany in the 30s and 40s, and I gave out copies of the English version for World Book Night in 2012…

Dragon bookmark progress 12 03 2016

Eragon is nearer to being started, as progress has been made on the dragon bookmark. As you can see from the photo, I have reached the back of the dragon’s head, so not all that much more to stitch. A couple of Handbag Books have enjoyed significant progress, those being Sound Bites, by Alex Kapranos, and The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide. Kapranos is the lead singer and guitarist of the band Franz Ferdinand. However, he is also a foodie and has had cheffing experience, and Sound Bites is his book on the food side of things, food he’s prepared and cooked, and other foods he has tried while on tour around the world as a musician. Really interesting and entertaining read so far! I picked that one up on a whim at a shop called Fopp, which is in Manchester, and opposite the blood donor centre. If you know where the Tesco’s is on Market Street, go round the corner. The “vampires” are on that side, and across the pedestrianised area from the donor centre is Fopp. Cheap music, dvds and books.

Talking of vampires, I will probably be getting a letter from them soon. I’m pretty sure I’ll be due to give blood again in April, just before my birthday, as my last donation was just before Christmas, and we females can give blood every 4 months.

Me on accordion 1 12th March 2016

Another book with which I have enjoyed further progress is The Story of Music, by Howard Goodall. It was Learn To Play Day here in the UK yesterday, and thus all music shops had events on to encourage people to learn musical instruments. I had my band practice in the morning, anyway, so I had been playing my tenor horn, but when I got home from band, I dropped my horn off, and headed into town, to Forsyth’s on Deansgate. My niece had been there in the morning, having a recorder lesson, but I booked in for a lesson, and thus, at 5pm, Sophia was teaching me the accordion! I had a great time!

I was in the string room having my lesson, but no strings attached with my instrument! Most instruments were actually available for lessons. I saw other people being taught while I was there, some of them having a go on clarinets, oboes and cor anglais. I would’ve been happy to try most things, really, but within reason. There’d be some practicalities to consider.

I’ve already tried an oboe years ago, when I was about 12, and found it difficult due to it being a double-reed instrument, thus that would also mean I would find the cor anglais or the bassoon tricky for the same reason. Also, I would have to bear in mind that I am a 5 foot 1 shortarse, so I was not about to attempt anything which is taller than I am. Bye bye, double bass, lol! I’d have considered a free lesson on a cello, but double basses are massive and I’m only little! I’d have had to stand on a ladder! Or a stool, at the very least! Goodall’s book is about the long history of music, but this is part of my own personal story of music! I have touched on it previously in this blog, but maybe it would be worth a separate blog entry some time. There might not be that many books mentioned in that one, but it’d give you my musical background.

I did have to do some editing on Goodreads with the Goodall book, though, as the website had claimed my edition was 368 pages long. Er, not so. Firstly, the total number of pages was more around 355, so a slight inaccuracy to start with. Secondly, and more pertinently, some of those, at the back, are simply the acknowledgements and the index! The actual number of pages for reading about the history of music is more like 336, so I edited the details on Goodreads to change the number of pages to 336. Why include the index? The actual book is finished before that point. The index pages are just for reference in case you need to know which pages mention Bach, Beethoven, or whomever!

Lots of books these days seem to have other bits at the end. It’s not just a non-fiction thing. With non-fiction, you can understand it. You need an index at the end, and acknowledgements, plus probably some footnotes and something about where you got your facts from. However, even with fiction, you might find some sort of Q & A with the author at the end, or a preview of a forthcoming book – the first chapter of their next novel, for instance. I would say, though, that the book you had been reading was finished by that point. The main novel has ended. You do NOT need to read the additional extras, therefore that needs to be reflected on Goodreads, and other such sites, that the book is finished when what you bought the book for has come to an end!

Before I get to the end of this blog entry, I should make mention of my book club, as I was there on Thursday, and we discussed our book and chose our new one, which is High-Rise by J.G. Ballard, the author perhaps best known for Empire of the Sun. As I mentioned earlier, at the start of this blog, I bought a few other books as well, bringing home The Bone Clocks, which I have since discovered is now a duplicate book, and also The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra, by Vaseem Khan, and The Edge of the World, by Michael Pye – a book about how the North Sea made us who we are.

I’ve always liked a good bit of non-fiction as much as a good story! I like my facts, especially on subject matters which interest me, and I think my niece is like that with her books, too! Ellie was telling me that Charlotte had taken to a book about butterflies, which she was continually borrowing. She might need her own copy of that, so it can go back to the school or the library! But she does like a good story, too, and one she is really after, yet another Julia Donaldson for her collection, is What The Ladybird Heard Next. She has loads of books – definitely taking after her auntie! Not biased at all, lol! She already has What The Ladybird Heard, and there’s a follow-up, and it is now out in paperback.

That really is about all for now! Maybe the dragon bookmark might be finished next time? Who knows? Maybe someone will take me up on my duplicate books offer! Stranger things have happened! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry other than the duplicate books:

  • Look Who’s Back – Timur Vermes
  • Charlie y la Fábrica de Chocolate – Roald Dahl
  • Die Bücherdiebin – Markus Zusak
  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini
  • Sound Bites: Eating On Tour With Franz Ferdinand – Alex Kapranos
  • The Guest Cat – Takashi Hiraide
  • The Story of Music – Howard Goodall
  • High-Rise – J. G. Ballard
  • Empire of the Sun – J. G. Ballard
  • The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra – Vaseem Khan
  • The Edge of the World: How the North Sea Made Us Who We Are – Michael Pye
  • What The Ladybird Heard – Julia Donaldson
  • What The Ladybird Heard Next – Julia Donaldson

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Childrens' Books, Cross-Stitch, Duplicate Books List, European Literature, Goodreads, Junior Bookworms, Music, My Bookworm History, Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

