Here Be Dragons!

Eragon cover

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

The night before book club, I’ve got up to page 50 of The Loney, yet another book choice along the lines of mystery and thriller. Previously, the book before that had been Disclaimer, by Renee Knight. I know this genre IS popular, but I did think the whole idea of our book club was to read widely across genres, to read fiction and non-fiction alike, and to read things we probably wouldn’t have considered reading otherwise. I definitely think we need a different kind of book for our next read when we meet up to discuss this one tomorrow! I wouldn’t mind a mystery so much if it were perhaps something a bit lighter. I feel our reads have been pretty dark of late. A book which has taken my eye of late is The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra, by Vaseem Khan. It’s one of the Waterstone’s Book Club books of the month for March, and has been likened to the Alexander McCall Smith books set in Africa, the series which started with The No. 1. Ladies’ Detective Agency.

I have made a list of books which I might suggest, including a couple which I would be very keen to have as our book club choice, not only because I fancy reading them, but also because I already have a copy of each of these books and it would thus mean I read a book I already have instead of adding yet another to the incredible book mountain! Therefore, The Little Paris Bookshop, by Nina George, and The Versions of Us, by Laura Barnett, are on my list of suggestions.

I’m looking through my spare specs at the moment. I had to take my actual specs to the optician’s on Monday. It was the afternoon, I was just about to settle down with a cuppa and do some cross stitch, continuing my work on another bookmark, when one of the arms came off my specs! Therefore, after I’d finished my brew, it was off to the Trafford Centre to visit the optician’s, who said it couldn’t be mended, I’d need new glasses. Mind you, I have had those since 2012, and last had an eye test in 2014, so I was due for one and booked in to return the next night as I was definitely planning on going to TC to eat on the Tuesday, so I figured I might as well get my eyes looked at while I was there.

Anyway, back to Monday, and I was a tad pissed-off to say the least. I had knackered specs which couldn’t be fixed. Not a happy bunny! Therefore, I just had to go in Waterstone’s and cheer myself up! Any excuse, eh?! Well, I was looking for, and found, some more books for my niece, some of which will be for Easter, others for her birthday, but I did treat myself to one, and thought I’d risk it for a biscuit with Eragon, by Christopher Paolini. Seemingly, he wrote it when he was a teenager, and it’s about this lad who finds what he thinks is a blue stone, but it turns out to be a dragon egg… The book is the first of four, and is thus part of a series called The Inheritance Cycle. The other three, in order, are Eldest, Brisingr, and Inheritance. Seemingly, it was originally going to be a trilogy, but Paolini announced that there would be a fourth book as the story was too complex to conclude over just three books.

dragon bookmark progress 09 03 2016

Anyway, as you have seen from some of my photos on this blog, one of my other hobbies, besides reading books, is cross-stitch, which is something I’ve done on and off for 19 years since I first gave it a try early in 1997. I don’t make just bookmarks, I do stitch other items, but it makes sense to make a lot of bookmarks as I have a lot of books! I’m particularly fond of a style of cross-stitch known as Assisi, as in the town in Italy with which St Francis is associated. In needlework, this style means that you stitch the background… Leaving certain squares unstitched, that is what forms the image or pattern. It’s a bit like the negative of a photo, if you get my drift. In the above photo, I’m stitching with a darker green floss on pale green aida, and, by missing out certain stitches in each row, a dragon starts to form!

I have decided that, when the dragon bookmark is completed, I shall be using it to keep my page in Eragon. If I enjoy that novel, I shall continue with the series. Below, you can see the partially-stitched dragon again, along with a few other bookmarks I’ve made. That iris one on the end is the most recent, I finished that the other night. Again, it’s Assisi work, with two shades of purple, but missing out certain stitches to form an oval frame and an iris. It is also the reason why I needed to visit Abakhan Fabrics when I was in town earlier – needed some more flosses, especially for the darker shade of purple in that bookmark, as I’d used up almost all my existing floss of that shade to complete that pattern!

Iris bookmark and others

partial bookmarks

In this last photo, you can see three partial bookmarks in progress, including the dragon, and two versions of the same design – a Dutch lady knitting. All three designs are being stitched Assisi style. I like the effect it has when I stitch in this style, and I love to see the design appearing as I stitch more and more rows of Xs.Maybe one of the knitter bookmarks could be used when I get around to reading The Miniaturist, by Jessie Burton? Neither that, nor Eragon, will be handbag books – Eragon, in particular, is far too chunky!

I’ve had that one for quite a while, and actually got my copy for free. It was amongst a bunch of freebies brought to our book club meeting some time ago. We had a spell where there were a few freebies knocking around, so there are a few which I acquired for nowt! The Chimes, by Anna Smaill, was another of the freebies. That one was actually an unedited proof copy, which was why it was free – it was ahead of the official publishing date for that novel. Other freebies from around that time also include Stiltsville, by Susanna Daniel, and The Night Guest, by Fiona McFarlane.

Anyway, before I head off to get on with my bookmarks, I shall bring this blog to an end for the night and let you all read it! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • The Loney – Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Disclaimer – Renee Knight
  • The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra – Vaseem Khan
  • The No. 1. Ladies’ Detective Agency – Alexander McCall Smith
  • The Little Paris Bookshop – Nina George
  • The Versions of Us – Laura Barnett
  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini
  • Eldest – Christopher Paolini
  • Brisingr – Christopher Paolini
  • Inheritance – Christopher Paolini
  • The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
  • The Chimes – Anna Smaill
  • Stiltsville – Susanna Daniel
  • The Night Guest – Fiona McFarlane
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Cross-Stitch, Free Books, YA Books

Leave a Reply

