Really Big Knickers!

Georgia Nicolson book

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Except it’s not really a good evening when 2016 claims yet another famous person, and another author at that. As if it were not bad enough that we recently lost both Harper Lee and Umberto Eco, at least those two had a good innings. However, yesterday evening, the news broke that Louise Rennison has passed away, having reached only her mid 60s. I was at the Trafford Centre when I found out via Facebook on my iPad. As a tribute, I shall be reading the above book, Fab Confessions of Georgia Nicolson Volume 1, which is an omnibus of the first two books, Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging, and It’s OK, I’m Wearing Really Big Knickers! Hence the title of tonight’s blog. Actually, the title works in two ways. Firstly, it’s part of the title of one of her books, and, secondly, some of us would react with “Knickers!” upon hearing really bad news, so it works well here.

As you no doubt know, it is virtually impossible for me to go to Waterstone’s and only buy one book, so you will not be surprised to learn that the Louise Rennison omnibus was not my sole purchase at the Trafford Centre branch. Nor will you be too surprised to discover that my other two purchases were also YA novels. I’m on a bit of a YA bent at the mo. I’m 42 and I read YA books. Deal with it! My other purchases were Night Owls, by Jenn Bennett, and Dumplin’, by Julie Murphy. I quite like the sound of the main protagonist, Willowdean Dickson, I like the way she thinks. Her idea of having a bikini body is to put a bikini on your body! Simple!

I don’t think Dumplin’ is gonna be a handbag book, though, as it’s a hardback, and the Rennison book is two books in one, so a bit too chunky for the handbag. Night Owls is a possibility. Of the books currently being transported around in my handbag, Breakfast at Tiffany’s is my current reading matter. Shouldn’t take too long to get through that one, it’s only short, and then there are three short stories afterwards.

Got quite a busy day coming up, actually, got my pottery in the morning, an appointment in town in the afternoon, and then I will be at Waterstone’s on Deansgate in the evening, from 7pm, for an author event! I think I mentioned it a few blog entries ago… Joanna Cannon is coming in to talk about and read from her novel, The Trouble With Goats and Sheep. So, I shall certainly be leaving the store with that particular book. I will have to try and restrict myself to that book alone, but that proves impossible… Books just seem desperate for me to read them! They call out to me, saying “Go on, Joanne! You know you want to read me!” I get The Call of the Book, as my friend Gitte on Facebook calls it, and, usually, it is more than one book calling me on any given visit!

I’ve not been to an author event for a very long time. I think the last time I went to one was either for Dave Haslam or Miranda Sawyer, but I did meet an author just a few years ago as Hannah Kent came to our book club meeting when Burial Rites had just been published in hardback. For the record, the Miranda Sawyer book was Park and Ride, and the Dave Haslam book was Manchester, England – a book not just about Manchester’s music scene, but about the city’s rich history of entertainment as a whole. List Challenges was doing my head in just then – for some reason, it was having a problem with getting the image of the book cover. It didn’t seem to want the edition I actually have, so I’ve had to put it on with a different cover. Stupid damn thing!

Anyway, that’s about it for now. Only a short one this time, I’m afraid, but I’m sure longer blogs are just around the corner! Knowing me, they will be! Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • Fab Confessions of Georgia Nicolson vol. 1 – Louise Rennison
  • Night Owls – Jenn Bennett
  • Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
  • The Trouble With Goats and Sheep – Joanna Cannon
  • Burial Rites – Hannah Kent
  • Park and Ride – Miranda Sawyer
  • Manchester, England – Dave Haslam

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Books, Handbag Books, List Challenges, Literary Issues, Manc Stuff!, YA Books

Leave a Reply

