Come Blow Your Horn!

charity shop books 23 feb 2016

Hello again, fellow Bookworms!

Another day, another blog, another shedload of books from the charity shops of Eccles! The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas, by John Boyne, joins the ever-growing list of books in the “I’m Pretty Sure I Already Have This, But Haven’t A Scooby Where It Is” list! I DO know that I have the Lord of The Rings trilogy, and I am pretty certain I know where it is lurking. However, my copy of Tolkein’s fantasy classic is an all-in-one version, so it is one huge book! Beautifully illustrated, but not something I’d want to be lugging about, even if I retrieved it from where I believe it to be! Therefore, it made some sense, to me, to have individual books of the three parts.

The Young Hornblower Omnibus, by C.S. Forester is actually three books in one. Technically, I’m a hornblower – I play tenor horn in a brass band, and actually need to lug my horn in to Forsyth’s to have the pearly inset put back in the third valve – damn thing came out on Saturday at band practice! It is a decorative thing on the top of the valve, where you put your finger, so the fact that it came off did not mean the horn was broken or unplayable, but I’ve only had that horn around a month, and they should therefore put the piece back on the valve for me. Back to the book, though, and the whole series has 12 books. I think this is the first three in one book. My previous experience of this author was in my 3rd year at high school, and I have to admit I didn’t really get into The Gun. Maybe, if I found a copy now, in my 40s, I might gain more from it than I felt I did back at high school. I enjoyed most of the stuff I had to read at school, but there was the occasional book which didn’t fizz on me. Elidor, by Alan Garner, was another at the time. Might try that again some time.

Actually, I’ve just found this Wikipedia entry about Hornblower omnibus editions…

The first three novels written, The Happy Return, A Ship of the Line, and Flying Colours were collected as Captain Horatio Hornblower (1939) by Little Brown in the US. Both a single-volume edition and a three-volume edition (in a slip case) were published.

Mr. Midshipman Hornblower, Lieutenant Hornblower, and Hornblower and the Atropos were compiled in one book, variously titled Hornblower’s Early Years, Horatio Hornblower Goes to Sea, or The Young Hornblower. Hornblower and the Atropos was replaced by Hornblower and the Hotspur in later UK editions of The Young Hornblower.

Hornblower and the Atropos, The Happy Return, and A Ship of the Line were compiled into one omnibus edition, called Captain Hornblower.

Flying Colours, The Commodore, Lord Hornblower, and Hornblower in the West Indies were presented as a third omnibus edition called Admiral Hornblower to fill out the series.

Commodore Hornblower, Lord Hornblower, and Hornblower in the West Indies were also compiled into one book, called The Indomitable Hornblower.

Four “Cadet Editions” were released by Little Brown and later by Michael Joseph, each collecting two Hornblower novels and edited for younger readers: Hornblower Goes to Sea(1953, 1954), from Mr. Midshipman Hornblower and Lieutenant Hornblower; Hornblower Takes Command (1953, 1954), from Hornblower and The Atropos and Beat To Quarters; Hornblower in Captivity (1939, 1955), from A Ship of the Line and Flying Colours; and Hornblower’s Triumph (1946, 1955), from Commodore Hornblower and Lord Hornblower.

The short stories The Hand of Destiny, Hornblower’s Charitable Offering, Hornblower and His Majesty plus other Hornblower material not previously published in book-form was collected in Hornblower One More Time (Jul 4, 1976) though only 350 copies were printed.[11]

So, it would appear that I have a later UK edition of The Young Hornblower, which comprises Mr Midshipman Hornblower, Lieutenant Hornblower, and Hornblower and the “Hotspur”. Indeed, the front of the book boasts about it being a major new ITV series, Hornblower, and this edition came out in 1998, the film and TV tie-in edition. I don’t actually have the first three books in the series, just three from the series, or so it seems.

I actually went in the charity shops of Eccles and Salford to see if any had a copy of The Name of The Rose, by Umberto Eco, but I didn’t find a copy. I’m in town later, so I might try the charity shops in Manchester. I know there’s an Oxfam shop on Oldham Street, and I’m pretty sure there’s some charity shop or other along Deansgate. I know it’s not a charity shop, but I’m wondering if there’s a branch of The Works in the Arndale? They have cheap books! Usually cheap copies of the classics – stuff like Dickens, Austen, the Bronte sisters, etc…

What I might also be looking for, although this will be in Waterstone’s, will be kids’ books about learning French. The junior bookworm, my niece, Charlotte, is learning French at her primary school, in after-school classes! I didn’t learn French until I was at high school, but I had learned German at Charlotte’s age because I’d lived in Switzerland for 6 months, thanks to my dad’s job, and I picked it up over there! I was too young for school when I lived in Basel, but you pick it up soon enough when all the signs and the packaging are in other languages! When I was learning French, as well as the textbook I had from school, I also had The First Thousand Words In French (Amery, Folliot and Cartwright), an Usborne book with plenty of vocabulary, and a hidden duck on each double page! The textbook we had at school, certainly in my first 3 years at high school, was French For Today by P. J. Downes and E. A. Griffith. Anyway, that’s enough about French, unless you actually WANT me to start wittering on about Eric Cantona! Any mention of anything remotely French generally leads to mention of King Eric in our house, lol!

That’s quite enough for now, anyway, even though I’ve not mentioned that many books. I don’t always have a long list. There have been occasional blog entries, since I started writing these things in 2010, which only name one or two books, but most of my blogs mention an eclectic selection of reading matter! The fact that I’ve even mentioned French textbooks from my school days should come as no surprise to regular readers. If a book has been published that I have had cause to read, it is quite likely to crop up on here, along with the half-read books, the books I want to read, and a few others I’ve heard about as well! Until the next blog, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne
  • The Lord of The Rings trilogy – J. R. R. Tolkein
  • The Young Hornblower Omnibus – C. S. Forester
  • The Gun – C. S. Forester
  • Elidor – Alan Garner
  • The Name of The Rose – Umberto Eco
  • The First Thousand Words In French – Amery, Folliot & Cartwright
  • French For Today – P. J. Downes & E. A. Griffith
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Childrens' Books, Duplicate Books List, Foreign Languages, Music, My Bookworm History

Leave a Reply

