Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

Book Chest

Good evening, fellow Bookworms!

Please don’t get too used to this, there is not necessarily going to be a blog EVERY day! Simply that I have been engaged in a lot of book-related activity of late, so I have things to blog about, including three more for the Duplicate Books list! Yep! I must suffer bouts of bibliophiliac amnesia or something, as there are no fewer than NINE books of which I currently own two copies! Oops! I think, sometimes, I have thought that I had no idea where the original copy was so I got another to have a copy to hand, but the fact that I’ve got that many duplicated books is a bit much! I was in our garage this afternoon, looking in the book chest and having a Book Reshuffle.

Politicians have a Cabinet Reshuffle. I have a Book Reshuffle. It’s more interesting, if a little knackering at times! I have moved some books from that chest into my room, and some from my room into the chest, and found a few which I thought were duplicates. A couple of them actually weren’t, but three of them were books I already have. The latest additions to the Duplicate Books List are The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson, The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov, and Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence, bringing the aforementioned list to nine books along with the six duplicates I’d already mentioned here in the past few days.

Duplicate Books

As I blogged the other day, I was pleasantly surprised to find I was further into The Snowman by Jo Nesbo than I had thought, and I also rediscovered Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch, and I am probably about 2/3 of the way through that one. I would have to check on Goodreads, I think! I am just over halfway through Equal Rites by the late great Sir Terry Pratchett, the third of the Discworld novels. As well as reading some short books, I’m quite keen to get some others finished off, especially if I am at least halfway through them, for example Eva Luna by Isabel Allende. I found that in the book chest and I reckon I’m about 2/3 of the way through that one. Incidentally, according to Goodreads, I am actually on for page 296 of War and Peace, so almost 300 pages into that one, but, as I said previously, that book is over 1000 pages long, so almost 300 pages isn’t really that much, is it?!

I’ve also got a whole lot of other books which I plan to pass on to others one way or another, charity shops being the most likely recipients. Most of these are ex book club books, mostly the ones I didn’t really get into and barely read, although there are one or two I did read, such as The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood. I quite enjoyed that one, as I also enjoyed The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. A fascinating read, but I’m not sure I’ll need to refer to it again, so I might as well pass it on. I probably need a few blank sticky labels, though, to cover up my name and address in some of these books. I’ve not written in all of them, but I do write in a lot of them, particularly if I am enjoying them and thought I would keep them.

I have brought a couple in from the landing, as I could do with reading them due to the fact my friend Sarah has lent them to me. She has my copy of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, I have a couple of autobiographies of hers; I Know This Much: From Soho To Spandau by Gary Kemp, and Faster Than Lightning by Usain Bolt. My mum is actually borrowing a couple of my books, so Red by Gary Neville and The Dirtiest Race In History by Richard Moore are in her room. That one’s about Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the Men’s 100m final at the 1988 Olympics in Seoul. For years, I used to direct my disgust towards Ben for that, but having read the book, I changed my mind and directed my disgust towards the coaches – they were the ones convincing the athletes to cheat. The athletes were actually quite reluctant to do so, but the coaches kept at them, telling them that everyone else was taking drugs, so they would have to in order to keep up with their rivals.

Over the next few days, as I’m out and about, some books are going to be given to local¬†charity shops. As I mentioned earlier, these are some I’m either probably not going to read or have already read but am unlikely to read again. I had considered our book club, but most of these books are former book club reads, so most of my fellow members will have had copies of these anyway! However, I might offer my duplicated books to them, that is a possibility. I have given a couple of former book club choices a reprieve. I may yet still give The Bees by Laline Paull a try, as I might also do so with And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini, but I am trying to make at least a little room! I know other books will arrive in the fullness of time, and Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick is on its merry way to me as I type. I had an email earlier, from Amazon, to notify me of this fact!

So many books! I guess I should get on with The Loney, which is my current book club read, but there are so many others demanding my attention! Some are always going to be easier to read than others, and some are always going to be more my cup of tea than others. I read several books at a time anyway, and have done for years. I guess it goes back to my student days at uni. I actually HAD to read several books at the same time for different literature modules on my degree course, so I never got out of the habit even after I graduated in 1994!

Maybe it’s time for me to read some more David Mitchell? I read and enjoyed Black Swan Green some years ago now, and I have a few of his other novels to hand. I brought in Number 9 Dream from the garage earlier, so there is that one, or there is Ghostwritten, which I vaguely recall starting donkey’s years ago, so I probably ought to go for that one! I also have Cloud Atlas and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, so perhaps a bit of Mitchell is overdue in my reading diet? And some more Paulo Coelho? I have quite a lot of his books, too, and realised that I was actually halfway through Like The Flowing River some time ago, so that needs finishing!

Perhaps it would be best if I got my arse away from my laptop, made another cuppa and got some more reading done? Yes, I think that would be wise! So, until I blog again, take care and Happy Reading!

Joanne x x x

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid – Bill Bryson
  • The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D.H. Lawrence
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie – Carol Birch
  • The Snowman – Jo Nesbo
  • Equal Rites – Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Eva Luna – Isabel Allende
  • War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  • The Year of the Flood – Margaret Atwood
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling
  • I Know This Much: From Soho To Spandau – Gary Kemp
  • Faster Than Lightning: My Autobiography – Usain Bolt
  • Red: My Autobiography – Gary Neville
  • The Dirtiest Race In History: Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the 1988 Olympic 100m Final – Richard Moore
  • The Bees – Laline Paull
  • And The Mountains Echoed – Khaled Hosseini
  • Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie – Jordan Sonnenblick
  • The Loney – Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Black Swan Green – David Mitchell
  • Number9dream – David Mitchell
  • Ghostwritten – David Mitchell
  • Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
  • The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet – David Mitchell
  • Like the Flowing River – Paulo Coelho
1 Comment

Filed under Autobiography/Biography, Books, Charity Shop Bargains, Duplicate Books List, Half-Finished Books, Music, Sports, The TBR Pile

One response to “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

  1. So many books! Exciting times!

Leave a Reply

