Blind Date With A Book (Or Two!)

Books 2

Good afternoon, fellow Bookworms!

Long time no blog, I know, but I am back again! As this is my first blog of 2016, even though we’re now well into February, let me wish you all a Happy New Year. We have just had Chinese New Year, of course, so I also wish all fellow Bookworms a Happy and Prosperous Year of the Monkey! Kung Hei Fat Choi! ūüôā

Anyway, enough monkey business, lol, let’s get down to the nitty gritty and start mentioning our best friends… books! Anyone else on List Challenges?! If so, aren’t they addictive? I’d done a few on and off via Facebook, both in the book category and the travel category, and I think it must have been some time towards the end of 2015 when I found myself signing up to List Challenges and doing them on a nightly basis, practically! I’ve created a fair few lists of my own now, some travel ones and some book ones, and that brings me neatly onto this blog, as I have recently published a list of all the books I have ever mentioned on these very blogs! I decided that I would list every book I’d mentioned from when I started in August 2010 right up to last summer, June 2015, when I previously blogged on reading matter.

Bearing in mind that I firmly believe in listing any series as individual books, i.e. all 7 Harry Potter¬†books, 7 Chronicles of Narnia, 3 Lord of the Rings, etc, the full list of books mentioned from 2010 to 2015 ran to 207 different books! Of those books, I have personally read 95 of them in full, and half-read another 30 of them, meaning I have read at least a bit of 125 different books, 60% of my list. My¬†percentage of fully-read books is 46%. Mentioning them on this blog means I shall have to start off my next blog book challenge with all those books again, but I don’t care! I will list things as I go in future, then any previously unmentioned books can be added to the list, and I will publish the list either every year or every 2 years, depending on how many times I have blogged and how long the list is getting. We’re well under way as it is – with those three series of books, that’s 17 books in total already!

Anyway, I was in Waterstone’s yesterday. No surprises there, I hear you say, as I’m frequently in Waterstone’s, hence my TBR pile grows ever longer! Went a bit mad on the book-buying front, including a few which have intrigued me when I saw them on List Challenges book lists, such as Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes, and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, the latter of which was mentioned in a list of David Bowie’s favourite reads, as well as featuring on quite a few other lists, so it seems quite popular. The late great Starman loved a good read, and in all the tributes to him since he passed away last month, mention was made of the fact that he would take around 400 or so books on tour with him! Bookshops have not been slow to get their tributes on the shelves with books about Bowie highlighted in the Music section, and I recently bought Paul Trynka’s Starman, which claims to be the definitive biography.

Back to yesterday’s purchases, though, and the photo at the top of this blog… Amongst the books I bought in my mad spree were these two wrapped in brown paper and string. With Valentine’s Day coming up this Sunday, the¬†idea is to have a Blind Date With A Book, so I have taken a chance on a couple of them. Therefore, I don’t know what these two books are yet. They will be listed once I have unwrapped them. For now, they remain mysterious books! This is what it says on the tags…

“A chilling look at the havoc a teenage girl can create. Stylish, sultry and amoral.”

“This is the novel I have given as a gift the most. It is sad and uplifting and about all the ways in which humans try to communicate and love.”

I can see a little through the brown paper of the book with the first clue, so I feel I know what that one is, I think it might be Bonjour Tristesse by Francoise Sagan, but I can’t make out the second one, so that really is a blind date with a book!

“He never went out without a book under his arm, and he often came back with two.”

– Victor Hugo.

Sounds like my kind of man, the fella being described there by Victor Hugo! Very wise not to go anywhere without at least one book. You might need it if you get stuck in a traffic jam. I have often found this to be an issue when on a bus home, particularly of late as there are some road closures in parts of Eccles having a knock-on effect around the area. I also find that as soon as the bus is nearing Monton, traffic seems to grind to a halt, or at least the very slow crawl of a particularly arthritic tortoise! Therefore it’s a good job I have a few books in my handbag! I have found that if they are slim books, I can get two or three in there as well as my wallet and other essentials. Currently in my handbag, you will find The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide, Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk (oops, I’ve already broken the first rule, lol), and An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, which is causing me much amusement! I had already read The Fault In Our Stars by the same author, and decided on this one as my next read of his, a wise choice really, as I’d finished My Heart And Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. I enjoyed that one very much, but needed a lighter subject matter after reading it, so Colin’s tale of being dumped by 19 girls all named Katherine was the ideal solution!

It means that even if I don’t take my big bag with me, and only have my handbag, I have at least some choice of reading matter should I need it! I guess I could also take my Kindle with me, providing me with hundreds of books on the go! I tend to take that when I’m on my travels a bit further afield than going in to Manchester or Salford, though! Holidays overseas, where I need a suitcase and there are weight limits to consider when packing for one’s jollies!

http://www.listchallenges.com/books-mentioned-in-the-joannes-bookshelf-book-blog

That is the link for the book list challenge relating to my previous five years of blogging on here! I hope it works when I publish this. If you are new to my blogs, welcome to Joanne’s Bookshelf, glad you have found this site and feel free to read through my old blogs to give yourself an idea of what I’m like and what I read! It’s pretty varied, I’d say. All sorts of books take my fancy, although you won’t find much chick-lit on here, and not really that many books in the way of crime writing or thrillers, either, unless I’ve had to read them for the book club I belong to. I read fiction and non-fiction, I like books which make me laugh, also books about music or football usually go down well with me. I don’t really care for having the living shit scared out of me, so you won’t find much horror on here, and I’m a very blokey kind of woman, hence the lack of “chick lit” with the possible exception of Bridget Jones’s Diary, lol! I read a fair bit of YA, and quite enjoy it. I find it to have quite a lot of substance to it in many cases.

I always end each blog entry with a list of books I’ve mentioned during the course of that entry. From now on, any book not previously mentioned will also be added to the list on List Challenges, and the full list will be published when I determine that there have been plenty of books mentioned and we need to put it out there and see who’s read these books I’ve been waffling on about! I have finished my waffle for now, so, until next time, Happy Reading! Feel free to leave any (constructive) comments and book recommendations. If you are a spammer, though, you can do one!

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • The Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling
  • The Lord of the Rings trilogy – J.R.R. Tolkein
  • The Chronicles of Narnia series – C.S. Lewis
  • Stargirl – Jerry Spinelli
  • Flowers For Algernon – Daniel Keyes
  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz
  • David Bowie:Starman: The Definitive Biography – Paul Trynka
  • Bonjour Tristesse – Francoise Sagan (Mysterious¬†Book 1, I think)
  • Mysterious Book 2 (not opened it yet)*
  • The Guest Cat – Takashi Hiraide
  • Fight Club – Chuck Palahniuk
  • An Abundance of Katherines – John Green
  • The Fault In Our Stars – John Green
  • My Heart And Other Black Holes – Jasmine Warga
  • Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding

* Mysterious Book 2 will be listed on List Challenges once I know what the hell it is, lol!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blind Date With A Book, Books, Fantasy Fiction, Handbag Books, List Challenges, Mental Health, Music, The TBR Pile, YA Books

Leave a Reply

