Not A Book To Be Tossed Aside Lightly…

Good afternoon, Bookworms!

Book club tomorrow evening, and, as such, I have tried to return to our choice of reading, By Grand Central Station I Sat Down And Wept, to see if it has got any better. However, all this has resulted in is myself becoming even more annoyed with Elizabeth Smart than I already was from what I had read of it before today! Stephanie, one of my fellow book club members, often quotes Dorothy Parker when she dislikes a book, and I am about to do the same…

This is not a book to be tossed aside lightly… it should be thrown with some force!

Ugh! I have absolutely NO sympathy for Smart! None whatsoever! She annoys me even further with her accusations towards those who treat her as she deserves to be treated for trying to split up someone else’s marriage. She doesn’t even take the hint when she is arrested in Arizona. She dribbles on in what she thinks is poetic language – it’s just waffle and pathetic excuses for not being able to handle the fact that the bloke she hankers after is spoken for! She accuses several of being religious nutters and, while it is true there are a fair few of those in the USA, I think it’s a very unfair statement. One does NOT have to be a “Bible basher” to disapprove of Smart’s behaviour or attitude!

I have somehow managed to get to “Part 6” but I have no wish to continue. I do not see the point. I already dislike this woman immensely. She is an adulteror, trying to split up a marriage because she loves the guy and won’t accept the fact he is happily married. If people have tied the knot, be that a man and a woman, two men or two women, I would not approve of someone trying to split up that relationship. Marriages, be they straight or gay, should be admired and people should be encouraged to stick together, as Bryan Ferry once sang, and thus make it work for the rest of their lives. To me, it’s about remaining loyal. Barker himself is not exactly without fault – at some point he fathered children to Smart, but I suspect he was mithered into it by Smart! It seems very one-sided to me. She loves his poetry, so she actually forks out for him and his missus to join her in the States. This is so she can be in close proximity and try to worm her way into his affections, even though he is clearly unavailable.

As I said, in the previous blog where I expressed my dislike for what I was reading, it caused me to pencil in comments in a book for the first time since my student days! These comments, though, are about what a stupid cow I think Smart is. I don’t see any advantage to continuing with this book ahead of tomorrow’s book club meeting. I have had enough of her stupidity to last a lifetime. I can’t relate to the main character at all, I have no sympathy for her whatsoever, so I need to find other reading matter with at least one likeable main character! I shall put my pencil back in my tenor horn case and save the graphite for more positive pencillings – such as writing additional instructions or valve fingerings on my sheet music for brass band rehearsals! * returns pencil to horn case, gets out mouthpiece and starts buzzing – essentially blowing raspberries, which I am aiming at Smart in this instance for her stupidity. *

Music… I need music… I’d say I needed football, but it’s the closed season at the moment, i.e. the silly season with no footy and too many stupid rumours. Every man and his dog gets linked with a move to Old Trafford just because “journalists” have to find something to write about to keep themselves in jobs. My beloved Reds HAVE made a signing, snapping up Memphis Depay from PSV Eindhoven, but I am now waiting for any further official confirmations of signings from my club, as we really could do with a couple of quality defenders and a central midfielder. Preferably players who are not injury-prone, as we’ve had enough problems of that nature in recent seasons!

Back to books, though, and I was thinking “What should I read instead of the Smart book?” However, with having book club tomorrow night, I will be getting new reading matter anyway, so there is little point, other than to return to one of my half-read books and get on with that again. I always have several books on the go at any one time. Guess it stems from my student days when I had to have a few on the go for the various literature modules of my degree. You don’t get to read books properly as a literature student. You don’t have the time, so you have to skim through them the best you can and highlight what you consider to be the salient points, underlining in pencil and also writing things in margins. I graduated half my life ago now, back in 1994, as a 21 year old, but I still have more than one book on the go! The other half of my degree was in history, but I would often just borrow the books from the uni library for those modules. Bought one or two of the books on the reading list, but, as I said, I got by with help from the library.As it was, on the literature side, I had a lot of half-read books by the time I graduated. Never mind Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince, this was a case of Joanne Dixon-Jackson And The Half-Read Books! Anything from Aurora Leigh by Elizabeth Barrett Browning to The Magic Mountain by Thomas Mann. However, when Mum and I moved house in 2006, I had to have a clearout of my books, essentially halving my personal library of reading matter which I had acquired over the years. I had to decide what to keep and what to give away – much of it to my place of work who were having a charity book stall at the time, rather fortunately – so many of my uni books went in that clearout. I figured I probably wouldn’t get around to finishing them off and that there were other books which had come along since then which I had more urge to read, so that was that! I have built up my book collection again since the move, of course!

Got a few slim books lying around here near my computer, could try one of those. Then again, the Smart book is a slim volume, but it is doing my head in with its content and I have decided to give it up as a lost cause! What have I got round here? Couple by Japanese authors; The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami, and The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide. I also have I Think Therefore I Play by Andrea Pirlo, and The Auschwitz Violin by Maria Angels Anglada. Of course, I could also return to By The River Piedra I Sat Down & Wept by Paulo Coelho, as an alternative to the Smart book of similar name! However, I think I shall see what tomorrow’s meeting brings on the book front and bring this blog entry to an end for now.

Until next time, take care and happy reading!

Joanne.

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • By Grand Central Station I Sat Down And Wept – Elizabeth Smart
  • Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince – J.K, Rowling
  • Aurora Leigh – Elizabeth Barrett Browning
  • The Magic Mountain – Thomas Mann
  • The Strange Library – Haruki Murakami
  • The Guest Cat – Takashi Hiraide
  • I Think Therefore I Play – Andrea Pirlo
  • The Auschwitz Violin  – Maria Angels Anglada
  • By The River Piedra I Sat Down & Wept – Paulo Coelho
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Football, Music, Rants

Leave a Reply

