The Charles Dickens Birthday Book Blog!

7th February 2012 - 200th anniversary of the birth of Charles Dickens

The Charles Dickens Birthday Book Blog!

 Good Evening, Bookworms!

And a very happy what-would-be 200th birthday to Charles John Huffam Dickens, born 7th February 1812 in Portsmouth. Regular blog readers will know that I posted a blog last night on this matter to try to get votes for favourite Dickens novels. I also did likewise via Facebook and Twitter, and had responses from some of my friends, particularly on FB. Hence, this evening, the names of nine Dickens novels were written out by yours truly on slips of paper and folded up. They were then put into my snowman teapot! Don’t worry – the teapot was dry inside – haven’t brewed up in it for quite a while, which is a bit of a shame, but at least it didn’t make the papers soggy! I was going to draw out the slip of paper myself, but then decided, in the interests of neutrality, that I’d ask my mum if she’d like to do it! Mum duly obliged and picked out a slip of green paper from the teapot, unfolded it, and thus, drawn by Mrs Jean Dixon-Jackson, the winner of the Joanne’s Bookshelf Dickens Draw is…. Our Mutual Friend.

I have now acquired, not quite free but very cheaply, an electronic version of said novel for reading on my Kindle. I would like to thank all my friends who named their favourite Dickens novels and thus earned those books a place in the draw. Gitte Hannus and Claire Howarth both recommended Our Mutual Friend, although a couple of other novels got more than one mention too – Oliver Twist and A Tale of Two Cities were recommended by more than one friend. They will not be ruled out as future reading matter, but let’s see how I get acquainted with Our Mutual Friend as the Dickens 200th Anniversary read! 😀

On a Dickens-related note, and regarding one of his works that I HAVE previously read, I would be interested to know if anyone can tell me exactly how many film and television adaptations of A Christmas Carol have been made by now! I reckon it must be in double figures by now. This Christmas just gone (2011), I watched two different adaptations of it on tv, both on Christmas Eve (which, of course, is the most appropriate day to show it)! Surely that has to be one of his best-known and best-loved works of fiction, and one whose chief protagonist, Scrooge, has entered into popular culture to describe anyone miserly and tight-fisted with their money! (Now, why am I thinking about politicians here? I can’t possibly imagine! lol!)

Anyway, now I’ve done the draw and announced the result, it’s time I settled down in a nice cosy bed and started reading Our Mutual Friend on my Kindle. Until next time, take care and Happy Reading!

Books mentioned in this blog entry…

  • Our Mutual Friend – Charles Dickens
  • Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

Leave a comment

Filed under Arsehole Politicians, Authors, Books, E-Books & Audiobooks, Literary Issues, My Bookworm History, Television

Leave a Reply

