What The Dickens Should I Read Next?!

Good evening, Bookworms!

It was the best of blogs, it was the worst of blogs! Actually, it’s probably neither, but I hope it’s entertaining and book-related enough, even when I go on one of my rants, as I did last night! However, I do have a clearer purpose to my blogging activity this evening – I have come to request recommendations, as I have already asked on my Waterstone’s group on Facebook, for which Charles Dickens book I should read to celebrate the fact that tomorrow, 7th February 2012, marks 200 years since the author was born! Any recommendations made to me on here and on Facebook will be put into a hat or other suitable vessel and one will be drawn out, unless there is an overwhelming majority recommending one particular novel or another.

I have read some Dickens previously. I have read A Christmas Carol more than once (besides having seen many adaptations of the novella for television every Christmas since I was a fairly young child) and not long ago, about a year or so ago, I read Great Expectations. Not quite sure how that came about really, although it was probably something to do with a wall comment or a discussion on my Facebook group “I’d spend all day in Waterstone’s if I could get away with it!” and I think I’d said that I’d only ever read A Christmas Carol at the time. Not entirely sure which of my FB friends recommended Great Expectations, but I have a feeling it may have been David Hunt. My sister Ellie may also have recommended it as I know she read it at school and enjoyed it. So far, this time, I have received two replies to my current Dickens-related wall post on my book group, with Lizzie Harvey recommending A Tale Of Two Cities and Helen Adams opting for Oliver Twist. Those two are therefore the front-runners, but if any of you amongst my blog readers wish to comment and add your personal Dickens favourites, you are most welcome. In fact, I advise you do so! As they say during wedding ceremonies, speak now or forever hold your peace!

I was actually considering reading David Copperfield. Any thoughts for or against this choice?

Well, that concludes the votes of the Swedish jury! Oops! Sorry! That’s the Eurovision Song Contest! I’ll try again…

Well, that’s just about all we have time for this evening and all that remains is for me to wish you a good night and don’t forget to switch off your sets! Television closedown mode, there, but you may as well turn off your sets anyway as there’s a right load of rubbish on the box these days, isn’t there?! Don’t start me on that or I’ll be off on one like I was last night! I’ll be back, as Arnie would say, with the results of the Joanne’s Bookshelf Dickens Anniversary Book Vote, but until such time I wish you goodnight! Take care & Happy Reading!

Don’t forget to put the cat out (if you have one)

Books mentioned in this blog entry:

  • A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  • Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  • A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  • David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
1 Comment

Filed under Authors, Books, Television

One response to “What The Dickens Should I Read Next?!

  1. David Copperfield is supposedly the most autobiographical and Mr. and Mrs. McCauley are hilarious.

Leave a Reply

