World Book Night 2012 – Part 1…

Good evening, Bookworms! Back again with another blog, and this time mostly looking ahead to next year’s World Book Night. Following on from the success of this year’s event, WBN will be taking place again in 2012, only this time on 23rd April – International Day of the Book and also, as many people know, my birthday! I have registered for WBN 2012 and hope to be involved in giving out books in April next year, particularly if any of my huge favourites make the Top 25 which will be distributed to Book Givers! Personally, I’m hoping The Book Thief is amongst the Top 25 this time. This list below might not necessarily be my final top 10, but I have had a think and listed 10 books I particularly love. So, in no particular order, my shortlist is as follows….

  • Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
  • Fever Pitch – Nick Hornby
  • The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
  • Under The Frog – Tibor Fischer
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  • The Radleys – Matt Haig
  • Macbeth – William Shakespeare
  • The Return – Victoria Hislop
  • The Good Soldier Svejk – Jaroslav Hasek
  • Veronika Decides To Die – Paulo Coelho

Over a few blogs, I intend to go into a bit more detail about these books. I will start by saying that several of them are on the list because they’ve made me laugh. In fact, that is an understatement. Some of these books have had me falling about laughing, including on buses and, in the case of Fever Pitch, while wombling around Sunderland University on an open day for my sister back in 94! (I was already at uni in Bolton, and in fact due to graduate later that year – it was my sister’s turn to go looking round places of higher education!). It was Under The Frog that caused some odd looks in my direction on buses while I was reading it, as did the Czech classic, The Good Soldier Svejk.  Those two books were amongst several works of Central European (mostly Czech) literature recommended to me by my Facebook friend, David Hunt, so if he’s ever reading this blog at any time in the future, I’m sure he’ll be pleased to learn that my top ten included a couple of his reading recommendations!

One review of Notes From A Small Island said the book “should not be read in public for fear of emitting loud snorts” – but I say what the hell, just read it, and read it in public. If anyone gives you a funny look because  you’re falling about laughing, they’re just jealous that you’re enjoying a bloody good book and they’re not! Under The Frog caused me to emit loud snorts, too! Usually on buses, travelling to and from work!

While we’re still on the books which made me laugh, I can’t possibly forget the sci-fi humour classic, The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by the late great Douglas Adams. I don’t want frightening visions of the future, especially as there’s often far too much crap going on in the world in the present day, so if I’m going to read any science fiction, as far as I’m concerned it ought to be funny! Marvin the Paranoid Android is the best character. Wonder if he’s still got a pain in all the diodes down his left hand side? I suspect he probably has!

Finally, on the particularly humourous entries in my top ten, we have The Radleys by Matt Haig. A fairly recent book, in fact published just this year, it centres around a family of abstaining vampires living in middle-class suburban England who had been doing fairly well at blending in, albeit to the detriment of their health, until their daughter gets harrassed by a lad after a party who won’t take no for an answer… until she bites him… and then all hell breaks loose and their parents have A LOT of explaining to do! Apparently, this book is on the Channel 4 TV Book Club 2011 Summer Reads list! I hope I’ve not already missed the show where this book is up for discussion!

Anyway, this is all for now. I have not mentioned all the books listed, but that leaves you with more to come! In the meantime, if you have any questions or comments, please feel free to make them known!

Happy Reading! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

