Bookblog 30th August 2010 – The Usual Literary Suspects

The Usual Literary Suspects…

 

Hello, Bookworms! I’m here again with another blog, largely on account of the amount of charity-shop book purchasing I do. I have recently discovered that there are four books of which I own two copies each! Oops! And I think I know how this oversight came about. I had simply forgotten that I already owned said books and saw a copy in a charity shop and bought it. An exploration under my computer desk a couple of nights ago brought to light this duplicate book situation. The books in question are as follows…

 

The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett

Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder

I Capture The Castle – Dodie Smith

The No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency – Alexander McCall Smith

 

Anyway, from regular book shopping in charity shops, you come to notice that there are certain books which are nearly always to be found on the shelves alongside whichever other books might be on there and available for about 99p each. Amongst the romances, the chick-lit, the occasional classics, travel writing and thrillers, there do seem to be certain books that seem to be on the shelf in every single charity shop you enter, and I can think of three such books that I constantly see, and they are as follows…

 

The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown

The House At Riverton – Kate Moreton

A Child Called It – Dave Pelzer

 

Seriously! Check it out for yourselves! Pop along to your local Age UK, RSPCA, Oxfam, British Red Cross or any other charity shop and have a good shufty at their stock of books and I bet that at least two of the above three books will be there! Another frequent staple of the Charity Shop Bookshelves is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, as is the first book of Sir Terry Pratchett’s hilarious Discworld fantasy series, The Colour of Magic. There may well be a David Mitchell novel there too, probably either Cloud Atlas or Ghostwritten, plus a whole host of chick lit, some crime novels and a few classics – bit of Charles Dickens or Jane Austen, for example.

 

In the meantime, the Around The World In 80 Books preparations continue and I’ve just realised, to my joy, that I have a book about Krakatoa that I’ve yet to read, which adds Indonesia to the list and means I get to read at least one book about volcanoes during the challenge. I’ve also given some thought to changing Russia’s representative. I was going to get on with War And Peace, but I think Football Dynamo by Marc Bennetts or even Destination Moscow by Justin Blundell, an account of Manchester United’s European Cup Final campaign and eventual triumph at the Luzhniki Stadium in 2008, would be better. For a start, it’d be much shorter than Tolstoy’s epic and, furthermore, it would be an excuse to read about football! Not that I need an excuse, of course, but it would provide me with one!

In the meantime, I think it’s back to the beach hut! No, I don’t have a beach hut and don’t live near the seaside anyway, but I have started reading The Beach Hut by Veronica Henry. Should get Guernica finished off,really. Been reading that one for a while. However, it’s my bookclub at Waterstone’s tomorrow night, so I will then get to discover what we are reading next and thus which book will be coming to Egypt with me on my jollies!

 

Books mentioned:

The Pillars Of The Earth – Ken Follett

Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder

I Capture The Castle – Dodie Smith

The No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency – Alexander McCall Smith

A Child Called It – Dave Pelzer

The House At Riverton – Kate Moreton

The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown

The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho

The Colour Of Magic – Terry Pratchett

Ghostwritten – David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

Krakatoa: The Day The World Exploded – Simon Winchester

War And Peace – Leo Tolstoy

Football Dynamo – Marc Bennetts

Destination Moscow – Justin Blundell

The Beach Hut – Veronica Henry

Guernica – Dave Boling

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

